Dr. Anorexia: Or how I learned to stop worrying and love my body

“In light of my avowed feminism, which I continue to feel strongly about to this day, how was I allowing myself to define my value, or in this case, the lack thereof, by the men I had loved not feeling anything in return?”

“A human being is not a share on the stock market – you are not suddenly worth more if more people want you, or less if nobody does.”

abohemiansrhapsody

One of those things is still integral to my life. The other has not been for nearly two years now, which is an extremely positive change.

Writing about my experience is an extremely difficult thing, and reconciling my own beliefs with the way I behaved was even more difficult. How does someone who strongly believes nobody should be defined by others by any metrics, and especially the metrics society chooses to define us by – which are often external – judge themselves by them?

I grew up being called ‘ugly’, ‘hideous’, ‘unattractive’, especially to boys at an age when that was somehow all-important, an essential part of being a true girl, woman, whatever it was. It taught me several things. First, as I was becoming a teenager, and then a young woman, I believed strongly that I was ugly, and at the time, it mattered.

It mattered that nobody looked…

View original post 1,827 more words

2 thoughts on “Dr. Anorexia: Or how I learned to stop worrying and love my body

  1. Thank you for sharing your demons ! Very few people share the demons which they constantly fight,sometimes through out the life ! Its only from misery,hard fight of others can we have true perspective of our own life !
    Anorexia is rapidly rising in India ,its another disease we have imported from West !

    Like

Leave a Reply

