What is this big problem with Bra Strap Showing?

Sharing an email. 

And it’s not just bra strap showing, it’s also not using the word bra, or period or vagina.

What is this big problem with Bra Strap Showing… Some Lady or other will point out and some will also with confidence tug my dress to position …Yeh Chakkar kya hai… And even those women with the 2×2 see-thru rubia, through which full bra is anyways visible..

Yeh chakkar kya hai🙄 Is it a sin to wear a bra or not to wear …? yeh chakkar kya hai…koi to batao… I don’t wear at home while I breastfeed or simply like that.

I definitely wear while running or walking as i get hurt or at risk of tearing some muscle while running..

I dry them specifically in Sunlight so that I do not get some skin infection. But this seems like everyones business including those whose Vip ki chaddi hanging on the outermost dandi on the balcony also flying in skies many times …

yeh chakkar kya hai…koi to batao…

Related Posts:

This Shame belongs to Who?

TO CALL A SPADE A S****

Romanticizing innocence ignorance, chastity and related taboos for women.

“Sometimes it seems like every single thing I do has the potential to be something ‘provocative’.”

132 thoughts on “What is this big problem with Bra Strap Showing?

  1. I guess it’s a general taboo for underwear to show. Even the low-waist jeans (for men and women) got flak for underwear showing. That said, I don’t personally think it’s a big deal, particularly for bra straps. I found it most liberating when it became a trend to display them in various hues. The trend may have passed but I still can’t be bothered if mine are showing or not.

    Like

    • Eventually, it’s all relative and depends on how comfortable an individual is with what she (or he) is wearing in public, so long as they are not breaking any laws. A recent example was a woman in New York city who insisted on being topless in public. When a restaurant turned her out she returned with the cops as in New York city it is legal for a woman to be topless. That said, sometimes you need to take context into consideration. If you are presenting at a formal dinner or teaching a kindergarten class, sometimes you may need to overlook comfort and wear something that is appropriate for the audience (but then again it’s up to the individual to decide if he/she wants to go that route).

      Like

      • “she returned with the cops as in New York city it is legal for a woman to be topless” Love it! More and more, I’m for diversity of expression, even stuff that startles me initially. I may conform due to my own reasons, but I am supportive of those who don’t.

        Like

      • That’s Moira johnston right? They arrested her but she showed them that it is legal in NY to do that. I think she does it to create awareness about the right to be topless &for feminism.

        Like

  2. Hahaha, this happened to me once. Except the woman didn’t even say ‘bra’ or ‘strap,’ but said ‘slip’ as if that was the appropriate word to use. My response was ‘so what?’ I found the whole thing so funny because she pulled me aside and whispered ‘hey, your slip is showing.’

    Like

  3. Woman’s body is either sacred or profane never just a body.it is sexual or the mother goddess the person inside that body is of no value for patriarchy.
    I snap at old women telling my 4 yeras old that strappy dresses are bad why don’t they teach their sons that staring at a woman’s breasts is rude .

    Like

    • Everytime I travel in train, I see middle-aged men change into their night clothes right in the berth cubicle with a hint of embarrassment of being in front of women. Most of them sleep without their shirts on showing their biiig bellies and man-boobs.. So many times I’ve just stood near the door for hours to avoid the revolting sight..
      But they can’t deal with the fact that we all wear a bra and spaghettis?? Not even a 4 year old???

      Please tell me its legal to push these men off the train.😦

      Like

        • That’s what I’m saying. Though I don’t like it, I don’t go condemning them. I just go stand somewhere else. Aren’t they supposed to do the same?

          Like

  4. This happens to me all the time. Sometimes, you can tug a shirt this way or that, you can wear a tank top underneath it, or do anything else, but if it’s not the strap that’s showing, it’s the annoying outline of your bra that people take issue with.

    Here’s the other thing too. The only time my mother or grandmother have ever had a problem with my bra strap showing is when I am in Western clothes (which is all the time because I don’t live in India). Whenever I point out to them that I can see their bras plain as day underneath the blouses of their saris, they always wave aside my observation with, “That’s something completely different.”

    (Translation: “Shut up, I’m older than you, I’m always right, even when I’m wrong.”)

    Like

    • Thats what 2×2 rubia blouse we can always see their Bra , and once I told my MIL after she positioned my slip , I was suddenly and rudely shaken by her, She said what to do with an “innocent face” , it like that only and its ok , blouses come like that only..
      Hello …! so what it is same with me too…

      Like

    • The other annoying thing – and it might be in the Western world only – is the fetish with VSP – Visible Panty Line. Apparently having a panty line showing under your trousers is a fashion don’t – no one will point it out to you of course, but I get quite fed up of tv fashionistas/media who go on like the world will end if they see your panty line. Can’t tolerate the peeking bra-strap/panty line? Simple – close your eyes.

      Like

      • So a lot of ladies wear thongs. But they dont realize that I can still see that shes wearing a thong coz I see a line on her waist when she wears tight dresses and then it disappears. Who cares? You see my VPL I see your VTL.

        Like

  5. Meh, I think the bra showing style & the bum cleavage showing with the low waisted jeans is tacky – but that’s a matter of taste.
    I get scolded by my Indian in laws for showing too much décolletage (boob cleavage) while they ponce about with their midriff, navel, & backsides showing in their saris.
    I’ve seen quite a few middle aged & elderly Indian women with a ratty white bra strap or band showing under their choli – how come no one scolds them?

    Like

  6. my ex used to have a BIG issue with this…he would make a huge row and blame me for ‘not taking care’ and fight like crazy…i did not get what the big fuss was about but he said it was because he knew how guys are and he did not like my straps to be “there for all world to see and think vulgar thoughts”…

    Like

  7. The truth remains patriarchy (men and women in positions of power in the system) try to CONTROL women and impose their notions of right and wrong. They are aware of the sexual perversions and crimes but instead of sensitising the perpetrators they want the “PREY” to stay safe.

    Like

  8. Undergarments represents our privacy and generally showing them off shows rude or uncouth. It is like if we cannot take care of our inner private, rather than flaunt it, why flaunt it? Lolz..Also, I seriously hate male chaddis hanging from balcony…such a pathetic sight. there are better things in world to see than someone’s inner garments which often are most worn of cloths esp in Indian diaspora (bahar chamka lo, andar fata purana).

    BTW, flaunting a bra is not a very recommended thing for females unless it is done in good taste. Not that I am suppressing women’s desire to get liberated but not this way, it doesn’t look very lady like😉

    Like

    • I liked the bahar chamka lo, andar fata purana , but ” it doesn’t look very lady like ” what does that mean , This is a simple thing of practical use so that we do not hurt our pectoral muscles …What is the definition of lady like ???

      Like

        • It seems more like “lady like” applies to whomever is willing to follow your arbitrary rules for how to dress, where to dry their clothes and other irrelevancies.

          In other words, the claim that someone is “unladylike” is wielded as a weapon to shame women who dare to go out into the world, exactly as they themselves please, and to dry their clothes wherever it’s most practical.

          Like

        • I know to carry myself in a “Taat ki bori ” (Jute Gunny Bag) also and thats not a lady dress , So a women who doesnt carry her dress in the lady like definition like yours she is not lady like she becomes “what-like” then options: Man-like ,
          Girl-like ,
          Boy-like ,
          Alien-like ,
          Unlady-like(I do not know what that means , if u chose this explain this) ,
          Animal Like ,
          Non-Maharani-Like ,
          Paagal-like ,
          Junglee-Like ,
          Fashionless-like ,
          Mast-Like ,
          1million-Facebook-Likes ,
          Batamiz-like …

          …………Arey Bhai kaunsa Like..

          Arey Bhai kehna kya chahte ho..
          http://pagalworld.com/filedownload/8246/68657/arey%20bhai%20kehna%20kya%20chahte%20ho%20Desi%20Emotion.html

          Like

    • ” it doesn’t look very lady like”

      I’m a lady. I come with two X chromosomes. I seem to have the appropriate parts required. So I would wager that I look pretty “lady like” irrespective of what is being shown on my body, bra straps or no, tasteful or not.😉

      Like

        • No, I think I took it the right way. Even if I wore my bra outside my dress, that still doesn’t call into question how ladylike I am (it calls into question my fashion sense, but oh well). The only qualifier that needs to exist for being lady like is if you can answer “yes” to the question of being a lady to start with. What you wear and what you do isn’t something that should even be considered for the label.

          Like

    • What is good taste or lady like? I find overtly chamki glittery shiny over the top salwaar kameez which people wear for weddings in poor taste also.

      And why would everyone weat andra fata purana? SOme people andar bhi chamkate hain😉

      Like

    • What or who is a ‘lady’? Who decides what is ladylike? Why? What exactly do you consider “flaunting”? Will drying it in the sun come under ‘flaunting’?
      And what is ‘good’ taste?

      Like

      • I have 2 X chromosome , thats it I am lady like in whatever I do , I am a female … I am no TomBoy ( well I never got that concept , what the hell is TomBoy), I do things my way I am a Lady in all my acts , living , handling things , eating , wearing everything .. even if there are some deformity or not I am a lady ….. Is there are LADY named benchmark where I have to be “like” her/it ??

        Like

      • To me, a lady is one who wears her bra like a bra, inside her dress and not on top of it. For top purposes, there’s something called bikini. They are beautifully designed fabric and should be given their due credit🙂 No?

        Would you support those women in office who deliberately show off their straps something else?

        and flaunting doesn’t mean drying in sun. Drying in sun means drying in sun!

        Like

        • I agree. I find the bra strap peeking out odd just because it does not look tasteful and reduces the effort taken otherwise in dressing up well. It diminishes the ‘well groomed’ look. There’s a reason it’s called an ‘undergarment’ – it’s meant to be worn ‘inside’ an outer garment.
          Similarly men not buttoning up their shirts properly in a formal environment, wearing ill fitting (too tight or too loose) pants also falls in the similar category.
          I have a whole bunch of pet peeves regarding the ‘well groomed’ look for both men and women – I guess this is not the platform for it.
          So rather that viewing the ‘bra strap peek’ in a sexist manner, I think it is helpful to look at it from a ‘grooming’ perspective.

          Like

        • “Would you support those women in office who deliberately show off their straps something else?”

          Why not? Who are they harming exactly, by making their bra into a fashion statement that fits their own personal desires? Just because a shirt is a shirt doesn’t mean you have to wear it like one. That’s what fashion is, an expression of your creativity and your own personal statement. If a person chooses to wear their bra straps in a manner which makes them happy, instead of a bikini or otherwise, I would support them wholeheartedly. I probably wouldn’t wear it that way, and I would probably make fun of them in a good natured way, but I would never try to actively tear down someone’s right to expression just because I don’t like it or agree with it.

          Like

        • For top purposes, there is lingerie too, not only plain bras. They are also beautifully designed in lace and other pretty fabrics. Do you think they are made for hiding?

          Like

    • Surely, each woman has the right to decide this for herself ?

      It’s an odd complaint to say that a bra-strap is not lady like. If there’s any garment that *is* typical of women then it is a bra.

      Like

        • “For me it is bad taste”

          Then you don’t do it.🙂 Quite simple really, if you feel like it’s bad taste, you personally don’t have to wear your bra strap half falling from your shoulders. But don’t judge others who choose to wear it that way. And don’t judge the people whose bra straps have a life of their own and just like to behave that way. Either way, it’s really really not your place to be judging them.

          Like

        • I agree. In an office environment, a certain dress code and decorum needs to be maintained. By women as well as men.
          I actually do not mind at all, in those rarest of moments when my bra strap shows sideways near my neck and someone points it out. I am thankful to that person.

          Like

        • But people don’t generally “correct” others for bad taste. If I wear a shirt and a pair of trousers where the colors HORRIBLY crash with eachother, nobody will say a beep about it to me. So why should women who let their bra-strap show be “corrected” ?

          Like

    • I am womdering,if there is a term ‘lady like’, why isn’t there a similar term for the guys ? Nobody bothers a man when his banyan strap shows around his neck beside his shirt collar saying its not ‘manly like’.WHY?

      Like

    • er. It’s not the Victorian era anymore so the term ‘lady like’ is obsolete.

      And where are we supposed to dry our underwear anyway? I don’t own a dryer in India and I’m sure as hell not drying anything in the house when I have three huge outdoor spaces where I can dry my clothes. If that bothers you so much, maybe you can stop looking at other people’s balconies.

      Like

        • aww man, I didn’t mean to come across as too aggressive! I meant that in regards to your male chaddis from the balcony comment (chaddis = underwear right?).

          I’m genuinely curious about how underwear in the balcony can be so jarring in a place where there’s heaps of garbage/ peeing men/ flea bitten mangy stray animals including wild pigs/starving, begging kids everywhere.

          Like

      • Regarding the whole”it is not your place to judge them”: I disagree. I definitely would judge someone who deliberately showed off their bra in a formal environment, the same way I would judge someone whose boxers were able to be seen. It is a formal environment and you are supposed to dress appropriately. In a casual environment you can wear what you want, but I still dislike visible bra straps. It’s not a conscious thing:first impressions do count for a lot, and it’s important to be well groomed.

        Like

  9. “Your bra strap is showing,” you say.
    Children begin to scream.
    Tears are streaming down my face.
    My parents disown me and sell me to a shady, mustachioed man for three goats.
    No one can ever know I wear a bra.

    Like

  10. Absolutely. I have been meaning to write about a couple experiences of mine which had me bristling. Your undergarments have to be hidden even when drying. What the hell sort of world do we live in I don’t know. People are not ashamed of throwing rubbish everywhere, spitting, urinating on walls, lying, cheating, bribing, killing, raping, molesting. But a piece of cloth drying on the line outside is supposed to bring shame for being seen by others.

    Like

  11. I remember an article from Goonj website , where Huge money (in India) goes towards womens health basic issue of proper sanitary hygiene with simple piece of cloth could solve more than half the womens issue and this goonj fellow has been awarded for this finding and taking up with WHO. I am sure many women get UTI due to their Undergarment – specifically panties not been dried properly and Many people get nipple itching due to improperly dried bras , just because our whole body is associated with shame …Oh but how come it is so desirable … by all Indian men if it is associated with shame and impurity during periods …?????? BS

    Like

    • So why not we all go chop off everything “shameful” so the world does not have to deal with us shameful beings! Wonder how they would like that!! Very soon the world would not have to deal with itself!!!

      Like

  12. There is no problem but have you forgotten according to conservative cultures women are not sexual and should remain asexual not to “provoke men”

    Here, whenever women wear thin/slightly pale coloured transparent shirts, they wear black or bright pink bra just to show off the contrast and no slips inside. You can see all the details on their bra. Still people do not keep on staring at them. So, people can stop saying men are getting provoked by that and cannot control themselves.

    Though I have noticed that some conservative girls still hide their bras while drying – that includes chinese and Indians. There will mostly be some bra hanging in my room around my place and I don’t really care if someone were to come in. But I really find it annoying when people tell me not to hang it here and there when I am at somebody else’s place because it should not be seen.

    Like

  13. I love designer bras…specially those delicate lacy ones….They come with nice colorful straps….It would be such a shame if its kept hidden all the time😀

    Like

    • me too love designer UGs . dream line collection from Victoria secret in florescent colors is what I flaunt under by whites nowadays :):) I used to love thong straps also few years ago , I think I have grown out of them now . Whatever we wear as long as its clean and tidy , Its in good taste for me , but i don’t judge people as some cannot afford water and detergent in our country to wash clothes every day , some are grateful that they have a bra .

      sometimes my bra straps show just because I wear bras and its just a garment that can slip out . sometimes I wear clothes that show them . Big deal !!

      I try not to wear colorful stuff at office or religious places but if at all a stray strap sneaks out , I won’t panic , turn red with shame and wish to die but calmly put it back in place.

      Do we really have that much time to think , discuss and even go to a person and tell them to put a bra strap in place ?? there is nothing better to do !! sigh ppl have all the time🙂

      Like

  14. I actually think it’s quite tacky for underwear of any kind to be visible, whether the underwear in question is a bra, or a panty, or a pair of boxers. I certainly wouldn’t want my bra straps to be seen, but then I do know girls who wear brightly coloured bras with tank tops to show them off, and they seem very untroubled, so to each their own I guess.

    Like

  15. Much before the bra strap became famous for causing much embarassment, it was the ‘shadow plane’.Does anybody remember it? I dont know whether I am spelling it right or not.When you wore a frock and stood near a light source, your thighs would become visible.We were all of 10 years when it became ‘shocking’ to be seen wearing a knee length frock and thighs being seen through a frock’s thin material.Oh the amount of shame piled on you.As a result,some neighbouring aunties started buying thickest of the thickest materials for frocks, and the poor girls had to endure them in sweltering summers, where temperatures touched 45 deg C.All because girls had legs.

    Like

      • Everybody should wear, in what they feel comfortable , including you and including me… Not to hide or show , ofcourse if you want to show its your wish , if want to hide its your wish , what others want : BS

        Like

    • Oh, didn’t they make us wear a chemise underneath all dresses? And i knew many girls as they grow older wear petticoat under their nighties until recently the market came up with long sleeveless nighty to wear as a slip under the nightie. My neighbors used to wear those. And then, a slip (an underskirt ) to wear under the skirts for slightly transparent skirts.

      Most of the people I knew and their mothers used to wear a petticoat under the nightie. I found it stupid because what is the point of wearing so many layers to sleep? When I was in school, some people were appalled if you did not wear a chemise under all your frocks. I used to wear them under my thin dresses. My mom used to ask me to wear a slip for skirts also.

      As I grew up, I refused to buy dresses which require me to wear a slip/chemise/ anything underneath. We never wore a petticoat for the nighties but my mom would put one on if anyone came.

      A few years ago, I threw away all my slips/chemise/whatever because I hate wearing this multiple layer things. Now, I don’t have any and will not buy any too transparent stuff. Many people buy these ultra transparent stuff for layering but I never do coz I do not like layering.

      Who cares about legs shadows? Log toh legs dikhate hain😉

      Like

  16. i’d hate to see a guy’s ganji (vest) peeping from his t/shirt – and i dont like underwear peeps too – same rule applies for women – it’s tacky surely – but nothing to go berserk – it is a sign of some level of clumsiness (unless ofcourse there’s a fashion statement involved) but nothing more than that!

    Like

  17. Oh – don’t you know? Seeing a bra strap or the top of an underwear will send men into uncontrollable fits of passion and then if they grope you or something, it will all be your fault! Don’t be a temptress!
    /sarcasm

    For the record though, for aesthetic reasons, I don’t enjoy seeing underwear peeking out on either men or women (especially the jean-waist hanging around your thigh phenomenon – ugh).

    Like

  18. Come on guys…is this such a big issue..??yes sometimes people point out when the strap shows, sometimes they don’t. Imagine you see the underwear of a guy(you know close enough like ur hubby or brother..not any random one) peeping out of low waist pants, won’t you tell him to ahem pull it up?? And who says you cant dry your things in your balcony?? I mean I have seen countless colorless variety bras handing proudly in the balconies all over the places…In a world of female foeticide , rapes and harassment is this something worth mentioning? Well if its still disturbing how about some bra burning???? lol😀

    Like

  19. hahahahahahaha…happened to a friend once. An aunty frowned and made eye contacts with my friend and tried to show tell her thru eye contact that her bra strap could be seen. She couldn’t follow to what aunty was saying..so aunty zor se chilla ke boleee…tumhaara dikh rahaa hai ander ker lo…. baap re what a shock…i mean, we thought pata nahee kya dikh gaya aunty ko..something torn, something popping out… :O :O . crazy!

    Like

  20. LOL ! I love the email ..really ye chakkar kya hai, koi to batao?

    It seems even when it is so very obvious we are women ..🙂 ..we have to hide the obv. fact that we are wearing bras and having periods ! shhhh shhh .. tch tch …

    Like

  21. I think people have a problem with bra straps because they’re seen as something sexual, not just as a piece of clothing. Someone whispers ‘ya your strap is showing’ – very different to how, say, wearing mismatched earrings or socks would be pointed out. As if it is something shameful. It is not so much about tackiness but about hiding anything that can be deemed sexual (breasts, legs, ‘bare’ arms, face etc etc). And it is just horrible to think that women are needlessly suffering from infections and things just because they cannot do something so simple as drying their undergarments properly.

    Like

  22. ha ha ha.. i have to share this.

    so i grew up in s india. complete with no bra showing and no skirts and no jeans and all that. bcs it is vulgar and all that. and one day, i land in the native state of my parents( who find skirts vulgar and dupatta mandatory) – punjab.
    and what do i see? TIGHT bodice style kameezes, within which you dont have to see the bra to guess the size. and covered with a dupatta. all modestly and all.

    so i ask my mother, ” in ur traditional dress, i dont even have to guess the size of the woman or the shape. its all there, just covered by a piece of cloth. this is ur traditional dress. and u find my skirts vulgar?”

    her reply was classic ” par dupatta to pehna hai na?” ” (but they have also worn a dupatta)

    i died laffing.

    Like

  23. I got mad at mom cuz her back strap was showing underneath her blouse. I dont care about transparencies and all. Dropping straps or loose straps is just bad fit! She agreed that her blouse fit n bra fit was off. I show them when they are showables and go with the kind of top i am wearing. And underwear showing through pants, be it guys or gals is not pretty for me. I was into it when I was 15 and now it disgusts me. Even panty lines. Also, if i had my way I would prefer not to have clothes hanging out in balcony right in the front of the building. I would rather put them in a dry balcony which does not mar the beauty of my home.

    Like

    • You seem to be confused. You first say you worry only about bad fit. Then you go on to say that underwear that shows through disgusts you…what exactly is your stance? And then you go on to assume that everyone has multiple options to dry their clothes? What if someone has only one balcony in the front of the house and wants to dry their underwear in the sun so as to sanitize it? Not everyone is more worried about “marring the beauty of their home” than not picking up UTI.

      Like

      • I do not like bad fitting lingerie. I want my mom to wear proper fits! Its essential for breast health. But bottom peeps is an eyesore for me. Most people have some turn offs and thats one for me. I am not a bra, chaddi peeping nazi and dont go around pointing out to people. As I said, it was a teenage thing to be into it earlier and now, I just dont like it. I will never say underwear showing is wrong and all that jazz. So that is my stance. A lot of people have weirder turn ons n turn offs, so I think this one is okay, right?😉
        For the other thing, i have not assumed anything for anyone. Its about the beauty of my home and not the housing society. Also I would prefer to have a dry balcony in MY house. I dont care what others do in theirs. The whole opinion was for ALL kinds of clothes and MY home. Shee! I will never tell u that your home is ugly because you have clothes hanging outside. Although I might tell you if I step out for my morning cuppa and water drips from your underwear into my tea cup.🙂

        Like

  24. I think a little common sense and nuance could really help with this issue:

    To preface…there should be no shame in using the words bra, vagina or period. These are specific words that are appropriate to express certain specific things. They are not derogatory or harmful words and women and men should not be ashamed of using them when necessary.

    With regard to underwear showing, I will say there are times when I will point it out and times when I will keep quiet. To strangers or people wearing casual clothes with their bra strap or underwear showing (whether intentionally or unintentionally) I wouldn’t say anything. I would also not think anything of someone working out in a sports bra. Honestly, I do not have the time, desire or energy to walk around policing what grown adults are wearing.

    However in a formal business or event context where certain dress code is expected an adhered to I may mention something (by quietly pulling that person aside to avoid any sense of embarrassment) if a bra strap is showing and I know that that the friend or colleague does not intend for it to show. But I would also do the same for a male friend who’s tie is crooked or shirt has become unbuttoned accidentally.

    Like

  25. I’m also at a loss when someone points this out to me. Recently, I’ve been loving off-the-shoulder tops, which obviously show bra straps, unless you wear a strapless one. And I like wearing contrasting coloured bras when the straps show. I really don’t understand why it is a big deal. I mean, whether it shows or not, I’m still wearing a bra! Why is it anyone else’s business? Also the use of the codewords, like ‘B’ or ‘slip’ – I found this really confusing as a child, when any older woman would talk about her bra and call it ‘B’. It took me quite a long time to figure out what they meant. Like the article you linked to IHM, why can’t we just ‘call a spade a spade’???

    As for hanging underwear to dry, my old condo complex had a rule that said no hanging clothes in the balcony, because all our balconies faced the road, and it apparently wasn’t “aesthetically pleasing”. My mom just brought wooden clothes stands, put them near the window, opened the blinds, and hung our clothes to dry. It’s silly really, because in North America we can only take advantage of the sun in this way maybe 2 or 3 months of the year tops. We need to use the dryer the rest of the time. So why shouldn’t we be allowed to dry our clothes in the sun? They dry much better that way, and it conserves electricity. But we totally hang our clothes out in the back of the house when we visit India, bras and all. We all wear them. Why the shame?

    Like

    • Because in great US of A we believe money has to be made at every step. Using dryers gives business to appliance makes and utility companies. Did you read about the latest scare solar panels is going to harm the utility companies?

      I love line drying in the yard but in condos living room is the only option when you don’t fully cook your laundry in the dryer.
      Why shame?
      Because women have boos and they should be ashamed of it men can have man boobs and take pride in skin show.

      DG

      Like

      • Because in great US of A we believe money has to be made at every step. Using dryers gives business to appliance makes and utility companies.

        Ugh yes!!! So true, in Canada too! Its sad really, because at least during the summer, if we all used sun-drying, imagine the amount of money and energy we would save! We rarely use the dryer in the summer now, because we moved out of that condo and can now line dry! Its more work, but the clothes smell so much better without the use of fabric softners and other chemicals.

        No I had not read about this new ‘scare’! Will go and do some reading today. I just read about the leasing option for solar panels, and was totally excited, because we were recently discussing the up-front cost of getting the panels, which seems daunting if you don’t know if you’re going to live in the same place for at least a few years. Apparently though, the amount of energy that could be generated from one day of sun-light in summer in the US could power the country for a year. I don’t know how true this is, but it would certainly be very, very useful and much less costly.

        As for the shame, its like another commentator said previously, if men had boos, it would be a matter of pride to put the bras out to line dry (eye roll). Its really annoying and unnecessary stress.

        Like

  26. After reading all these comments, I have some more things to point out-

    > Many people seem to think bra strap showing for women is cheap/not well groomed/things along those lines. I would say, it has nothing to do with grooming. Kabhi kabhi dikh jaata hai, toh kya hua? I have some T shirts with very wide and low neck and often my bra strap comes out. Does that mean i did not groom well? Of course not. If I am carrying a shoulder bag , my dress slips to one side. So what? It is not a big deal. I think our world (because there are so many conservative cultures) has a huge sense of shame & guilt around sex, our body and genitals. So, anything related should be silenced/hidden/not talked about/ is bad. I have some bras where the straps are made of silky material. So, how much I tighten it, it will slip because of the material. So, am I supposed to burn it or die of shame?

    > Then, there are times I wear dresses with thin straps. Strapless bras often slip down & need to pulled up. So, I prefer bras with straps. Everybody can see my straps – so what?

    > Another thing is, when I was in hostel, girls & guys are in the same building and we all have a common laundry room (oh the horror). So, whenever you are doing laundry/carrying your laundry in the lift, there is bound to be someone around. So, are you going to wait for the laundry room to be empty before you can quickly take your clothes out of the machine? I doubt that would happen. Sometimes, all the machines will be full &guys will be waiting near your machine, when they see that you are done, in order to use the machine. So, what shall we do in those cases? I have seen many guys & their gf’s do laundry together. Some guys wash their gf’s clothes & undies. So?

    > People can use the same analogy – it is not meant to be shown for couples hugging/kissing in public. They can say, it is a private matter. Let them do it in their rooms. Do couples never feel the need to hug/touch /kiss at that moment, they may not due it due to societal constraints but do they always get the urge only in private because it is a private matter?

    > This issue with bra straps showing is like periods, sanitary napkins. We alienate men from women. They do not know Women. We make them think we are an alien species. We create a sense of shame around women & their bodies – periods/ bras etc. Men do not even see how messy their wives pregnancies are. They just see the baby. We shroud all of it in mystery & shame. No wonder women have so much shame around their bodies.

    Like

    • All women are so Prim and Propa…(proper) my hubby told me before marriage … Yeah you are not so much…thats kinda like us(men) I feel so safe that u will not change me ….
      I was like: u are made to stay away from 50% in your house .. hence u feel so.

      Very true : We alienate men from women. They do not know Women. We make them think we are an alien species. We create a sense of shame around women & their bodies – periods/ bras etc. Men do not even see how messy their wives pregnancies are. They just see the baby. We shroud all of it in mystery & shame. No wonder women have so much shame around their bodies

      Like

  27. Reminds me of a guy in a shoe shop wearing a really low waist jeans, bending down to tie shoe laces, and Diya calling out (really)loudly – ‘Momma, dekho uncle ka bumsy dikh raha hai!’

    Like

  28. Pingback: Aunties are Guardians Of Patriarchy « Fakeindianbbahu's Blog

  29. I think sometimes it just ruins the view.. err I mean the look.. whatever. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    But other than that, it shouldn’t be a problem really.

    Ah at least one of the India’s women related issues is giving us few laughs. ⚆ _ ⚆

    Like

  30. From the other side of lawn that you are looking at, I see more women openly denigrating even the rarest of rare males who wear shorts to office – to the point that, when recently in supposedly hot summer in European countries boys and men have to protest in a novel way by weraing skirts to allow them to wear shorts in schools and to work.

    So any thing in ths world can be used to control another person or group by any one who intends to control. Simply put, men are not the only control freaks going around the world. Women can be as big and worse control freaks as men are portrayed to be (if not more). It’s sad that men merely comply and avoid overcontemplating about the control freakish behaviour women exhibit, starting from the day men are born as boys. And boys or men do try in their own way to throw light on that, they are called names, like patriarchal, sexist, misogynist and what not.

    One thing I learned from feminist movement is that very very few people want to let go of their previledges, and women who turn deaf to men’s issues with the concept of utopian equality simply don’t want to let of their previledges either, and they also exhibit narcissistic tendencies of always thinking about self. In contrast, men who don’t let go of previledges, are better of by being dumb and having attention deficit syndrome to think about themselves too much all the time. They are better off, because they don’t have narcissistic tendencies.

    Like

  31. Pingback: Snippets of my life #3 | Boiling Wok

  32. Pingback: “Only those sex-related materials which have a tendency of exciting lustful thoughts can be held to be obscene…” | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  33. Pingback: “Girls need to be little bit aware of the consequences. Men – will enjoy …” | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  34. Pingback: ‘What Shri Yesudas said in public is what most of the parents are telling in private.’ | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  35. Pingback: Going to the terrace | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

