Can you guess what these warli silhouettes on our front door represent?

The figures aren’t perfect, some crucial details are missing! But they do manage to convey what they are supposed to.

Can you guess what that is?

Brat Two with his guitar (he says it looks like a spoon🙂 ) Brat Three and and Brat One – Tejaswee.
warli figures, warli art on my a grill door, safety grill door

2. With Sher Khan and Mutt.

warli art on the front door

3. Gabbar can also be seen in this one. Only his ears should have been two wide, floppy   triangles, turned upside down.

warli figures, warli art,

4. I wonder if I should paint them orange and turquoise, or cobalt blue. Any suggestion? 

warli art, warli figures, warli figures on a grill door

Warli Figures on the door, Warli art, warli figures, safety grill door

35 thoughts on “Can you guess what these warli silhouettes on our front door represent?

  1. OMG ! I WANT! I love the idea of having these on your front door….

    I thought they were your family too…. but since you are publishing those comments … maybe not!

    Like

  2. Loved, loved, loved the idea, IHM!!

    “I wonder if I should paint them orange and turquoise, or cobalt blue. Any suggestion? ”

    I think they’ll look better unpainted…. or black may be..
    Coloring them might take away focus from your awesome concept, IMO🙂

    Like

    • I agree. Warli figures are usually in black, which makes the figures more striking. I feel the figures will lose definition if they’re coloured.

      Like

  3. I saw the header while on the previous page, and guessed: TJ, brat 3, you (holding a sitar/ladle? :P) , miss mutt, sher khan, and gabbar. Partial credit!😀

    Like

    • http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warli
      //Warli
      The Warlis or Varlis are an indigenous tribe or Adivasis, living in Mountainous as well as coastal areas of Maharashtra-Gujarat border and surrounding areas…

      In her book The Painted World of the Warlis Yashodhara Dalmia claimed that the Warlis carry on a tradition stretching back to 2500 or 3000 BCE. Their mural paintings are similar to those done between 500 and 10,000 BCE in the Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka, in Madhya Pradesh.//

      Like

  4. I love it.🙂 I love the silhouettes of the parents especially. I don’t know why, but to me it looks like they’re saying, “Let’s head off into an adventure.” It’s a story where the Brats are the heroes (especially Brat 2 with his banjo? Is that what it is? I can’t tell if it’s a sitar or a banjo, or a spoon.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

