I take full responsibility.

So this can’t be denied. I take full responsibility🙂Rain Art3 While in Bombay I didn’t just enjoy the rain (all pictures taken from inside a cab).

 07.30.34 am, rain in Bombay

I didn’t stop at…Rain Art 1….photographing the rain.

Bright colored umbrella.

Brightly coloured umbrella, in the rain, after dark, through a cab windowTail lights…Rain Art on window panes, in the rain, after dark, through a cab window, tail lightsI actually wished I could take some of this Bombay rain to Gurgaon…

Rain Art8

Didn’t realize the wish was being granted.

Rain Art6But I didn’t mean for all the rain in Delhi NCR to fall in one afternoon😦

pushing a carDidn’t mean to cause inconvenience…😦

Walking in the  rainThe 24 degrees Celsius is awesome, but I didn’t intend to flood the roads… can you believe this happening in NCR?

Who brought all this rain to GurgaonDidn’t expect to see another Rain-Photographers either 🙂

Photographing rain?

32 thoughts on “I take full responsibility.

  1. Very eloquent pictures.
    I almost felt like wiping my ipad screen, when these pictures were displayed!

    We get just 35 inches of rain for the whole year here in Bangalore compared to 80 in Mumbai.
    I forsee a water crisis in the coming years.
    Many bore wells In Bangalore have gone dry.
    In the eighties, the average bore well had a depth of about 150 ft.
    These days no new bore well is less than 500 ft deep.
    Some apartment dwellers are surviving on water supplied by private tankers.
    There is a new Mafia developing, (the tanker mafia)
    It’s a pity, really.
    I once calculated that even with just 35 inches of rain that nature showers on us, there is enough water for every single citizen here, if we coulp only tap and conserve just half of what we receive from the heavens instead of allowing it to flood our streets.
    Our apartment complex has just spent a few lakhs on rain water harvesting, after two of our four bore wells went dry.
    We will soon know if the expenditure was worth it.
    In the meantime I am praying for more rain in Bangalore.
    Whatever one might hold against Jayalalithaa politically, there is no doubt she did a great job on compulsory rain water harvesting in Chennai.
    Regards
    GV

    Like

  2. This is definitely better than the 46 C highs! When I first got to India, I could never understand why people called rain ‘good weather.’ Now, I totally get it. It brings much needed relief!

    Like

      • Yes, we already had one ‘flash flood’ here last week when it rained for 48 hrs straight- we had to help evacuate the local hospital.
        When we came back from the hospital there was a ‘stream’ going through the marble hallway of our house, luckily clearing the drains on the roof got rid of that.
        My husband just came in & told me that all roads to Kathmandu are closed presently due to bridges being ‘unsafe’.

        Like

  3. Aha! You got some Mumbai rain too, IHM. I have had my fill so far…. I don’t mind some sun for a change!

    Hey, how about taking back some Mumbai lunatic back to Delhi with ya next time you visit? She might cause havoc… but maybe not as much as the rain you took with you😛

    Ahem! Next time you’re in town, I expect to catch up!!!!!!!!!!🙄
    I promise not to follow you back to Delhi😈

    HUGS!

    Like

  4. Wow, so much of rain! Here it hasn’t stopped (except for few hours) since it started on 29th May. But then it is monsoon season🙂 I am so happy. Power cut has also been stopped.🙂

    Like

  5. I think the city is called Mumbai now, not Bombay to show respect for the sentiments of the ordinary people of this nation. Just like “housewife” is now referred to as “homemaker” so as to show respect to the contribution of women.

    Like

    • Not sure about the logic behind your comparison. As you correctly pointed out, the terms “homemaker” and “housewife” have different connotations, one being more positive and more accurate than the other. Also “homemaker” is a gender neutral term (though it mostly refers to women) and therefore less susceptible to discrimination.

      On the other hand, “Mumbai” and “Bombay” are both proper nouns. I can’t speak for Mumbai-ites of course, but I live in Chennai. I wouldn’t be the least bit offended if some people still called it as Madras. In fact, most people I know here wouldn’t even notice the difference. So unless the name Bombay has any negative connotation that I’m not aware of, I’m not sure why we are talking about “respecting sentiments”.

      Like

  6. Better batten the hatches downstream Delhi!!!!
    It’s been pouring rain here in Nepal ALL DAY now, we are waayyy beyond ‘saturation point’ up here so it’s all com in’ at ya!

    Like

    • Wait! Although the temperature today remained around 25 most of the day, BUT the roads are dry, the sun bright and the air humid.
      Still want to come back?🙂
      Couldn’t even leave balcony doors open because now there are flies waiting to get inside!

      Like

      • Hmm.. right now where I am is 31 C which is actually one of our ‘cooler’ summer days. Isolated thunderstorm is expected and if I dare to step out and make the mistake of standing in one place, yellow flies will bite me and I will be itching for a week. .. So.. YES! hahah! I want to come back🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

