A screenshot…
Screen Shot 2013-02-14 at 1.08.00 PM

“I am glad someone caught that on camera. I love the anger (and disgust?) evident on her face. I love so much the purposeful way she walks. I love even more the defiance her body language screams. She is THE symbol of hope, a girl child I adore, the one who is able to stand up to nonsense”

Shail's Nest

Screenshot of Arya 2013-02-14 at 1.08.00 from News Hour

A college auditorium of a women’s college, filled to capacity with students, and also sprinkling of women teachers perhaps? They are listening in silence, to the speaker on stage, and his anti-women tirade. One can only guess at what was going through the minds of the listeners. Were they in agreement with the atrocious claims being made by him, or did they object to it in their minds and even then were cursing the system that made them powerless to object/act? But not Arya. Fed up with the rubbish being rained on them, she booed the speaker and walked out, or so I hear. Bravo! There is still something to hope for in this drab after-Nirbhaya scenario when the government has royally ditched us by giving the Justice Verma recommendations a go by. A lone girl who stood up against nonsense.

I go back and play the video again and…

View original post 1,137 more words

17 thoughts on “

  1. I pray that Arya comes across this blogpost by you and Shail. I watched the video though couldn’t get Malayalam. What bothered me was girls smiling and touching his feet. Why do people teach children all this? To agree and show respect to age without evaluating what he is advocating. Would like to see his peer questioning him too? Who would these girl go with then?

    Like

      • Yes, comments from that page:
        “I didn’t see anything bad in his speech…absolutely normal and much less in content what could be discussed in a degree Biology class…the girl who walked out showed her response..not worth noting.”.

        “Atleast Mr.Suresh should listen his older speeches.. and ofcourse arya too.. she says language is man made and there is male sominism.. my dear sister pls understand that even the god is created women in such a way to live in the shades of men. go thru all aspects of the world from the oldest history, there is male domination.”

        What the f are these guys smoking? What kind of a biology class or history class have they attended?

        I am genuinely surprised at all the comments in the man’s favour. Just goes to show how education is failing our youth.

        Like

        • Whenever I go for social meets or functions, people introduce me and then say ‘shes from Kerala’ like its a big deal. Perhaps its because of this 100% literacy thing, people think that mallus are culturally advanced (whatever it means) and all those crap. I roll my eyes and tell them that apart from its scenic beauty Kerala is nothing its blown out to be. I hate to admit that we walk, talk, smell, dram sleep hypocrisy.

          Like

        • everyone is entitled to their own opinion whether right or wrong.
          I don’t expect much education happening in a place where men like him are invited! people are not exposed to anything better and so don’t teach their kids/students any better. rinse, repeat. it’s a vicious cycle…

          Like

        • //”my dear sister pls understand that even the god is created women in such a way to live in the shades of men”//
          And of course God personally sat him by His side and told him that before he sent him to Earth.*eyeroll*

          Like

  2. What a brave girl! I doubt I would have been able to stand up for myself like she did, at that age. I feel there is still hope for this country when I see young women like her refusing to take all the shit that is dished out to them. I hope this girl retains her courage, her conviction and her strength through her life!

    Like

  3. That man infuriates me!!!!! IHM, what do you think should be done with people like him?! We keep advocating a peaceful reconciliation of issues on this blog always, but that man….. he makes me want to resort to violence! WHAT is to be done with people like him???!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

