Would you be willing to share your story on television?

A TV show based on inspiring stories of women who have fought against odds and led happy lives would like women to share their real life stories.

A little about the show format:

We will be using real stories and convey it in a story telling format. Which means we shall re create the actual story where actors will play the part. In the end, however, we would like the real person to come and speak 2 lines to add credibility to the message we are trying to convey.
In sensitive cases we can try and not reveal the face of the concerned person.

You will be making a difference and inspiring other women.

We already know what a difference Satyamev Jayate is making, maybe it’s time Indian television evolved and we too, in our small ways can be a part of this positive change.

Silence empowers those who would rather not see change. So maybe it’s time we stopped worrying so much about what will people say?

Please get in touch if you have a story to share.

31 thoughts on “Would you be willing to share your story on television?

  1. I wonder how many women will have the courage to come out with their stories. But kudos to those who can! The culprits need to be exposed. If identities can be hidden probably there will be many volunteers.

    Like

  2. I’m with GV here. Think it’s a great project.

    I just hope they can resist the temptation to portray the protagonists as stereotypical self-sacrificing women. The last thing we need is media reinforcement of that particular stereotype.

    Hopefully they’ll steer clear of that, and provide us not only a great source of inspiration, but also a wonderful insight into the tremendous strength of the human spirit. I see it on this blog from time to time, and it is truly beautiful to behold.

    Here’s wishing the show great success!

    Like

  3. indeed a great step..we need to spread information on this sensitive topic as well to change the hard wired facts..i can if required but i think there are many more out there who have more inspirational stories….
    by the way i would love to know when this will go on air so that i can make my husband watch it..lolsm:)

    Like

  4. Awesome! But how many will speak out? And I agree with Praveen too of portraying women as becharis and dependents. Hope they are not into this for TRPs, even if they are, hope they won’t skew the stories.

    Like

  5. A married woman who is still struggling will not come out on TV and speak up. That rules out most of those who write anonymous emails on this blog. Probably those who have fought & won, those who comment here may come out to speak up. If that happens, indeed a great step.

    IHM – Is this your idea, and your show?

    Like

  6. I sometimes think about all the Indian women I have know in my life and wonder if Indian men have any idea about what so many women go through. So many women have had nothing but misery all their lives, many have had a good part of their youth spent under tragic circumstances, and the situation changed by chance (either through death of a tormentor, or some unexpected occurrence) and many still suffer. My grandmother, mother, MIL, two aunts, cousins, many girlfriends, neighborhood women etc. One became a widow at an early age and spent all her life dependent on an younger relative, many were tormented by in-laws, a few beaten by husbands, one was under so much stress that she set fire to herself and died, and husband remarried in 6 months and made the second wife unhappy as well, one was tormented for dowry. I am only one individual and yet I know at least 20-30 such women. If I had a talent for writing I could write books about the lives of these women. I sometimes think there should be a collective blog about Indian women’s lives where women could go and just recount their lives. I am sure women all over the world have similar experiences. But not one single women amongst all the ones I know would ever talk about her life publicly. IHM, I wonder how many such women do your readers know of personally? It should be an interesting tally.

    Like

  7. I hope the show is looking for inspiring stories of women who carved their own path in life, resisted societal stereotyping, fought all odds, stood up for themselves to find fulfillment and happiness in their life and in the process positively influenced or inspired those around them.

    If it just focuses on the hardships, injustice and misogyny meted out to women, then it would no different than some of the crass movies and advertisements we have been seeing since forever.

    Best wishes for the project.

    Like

  8. Satyamev Jayate is an eye opener for some already, but I wish they dropped this apologetic tone. One thing is to prepare the viewers for a sensitive content, the other is to be sorry for the fact that you’re talking openly about things which people prefer to leave unsaid.

    I’m all for the show about and for women, I just hope it would have a very clear and straighforward nature without fear of *public disapproval*.

    Like

  9. Came back to add……why do women feel so much shame for having lived their lives the way they have??? Especially when a large part of it involves being the party that had to bear the brunt of someone else’s wrongdoing? It did happen, right? We did live through it, right? So what are we ashamed of — having survived???

    There are men who would happily go on TV to talk about how many women they’ve cheated on, on the other hand.

    Like

    • TWC,

      While I cannot claim to have gone through anything as traumatic as what the typical woman goes through in, say a physically abusive relationship, I’ve known people who have gone through that and worse.

      In my experience, men and women, almost universally prefer not to talk about painful experiences even if none of it was their fault and even if they emerged triumphant. Some guys don’t mind so much, but such people are few and far between.

      Mostly, people like to think about other things instead – or at least they prefer to do that until their wounds are healed and they regain the strength to face up to what they’ve been through. And some wounds never heal.

      The level of emotional support that most Indian women have access to throughout their lives is minimal. The expectations from them are huge. Therefore, I don’t find it surprising that they don’t like to share their stories too often.
      Showing weakness and vulnerability, even for a short while, is a luxury that most Indian women simply cannot afford. And that’s what I find incredibly sad, because no one can really live like that.

      When someone tells me women are weak, I usually end up laughing in their face and telling them to open their eyes and look around for once. If Indian women are weak, I don’t know who’s strong.

      Like

      • @Praveen
        wow..i just love your thoughts and enjoy reading your comments..the thing is it feels good to read such positive things about women sufferings from a man himself..keep inspiring us🙂

        Like

      • Great comment, and I agree with every word! You’re very articulate! Personally, I *figure out* whether or not I’m over something going by whether I’m able to talk about it openly.

        I wrote that comment when I was fuming with anger and I now realize I haven’t written what I wanted to say. Which is, why are women expected to be ashamed?? I went to a party where someone asked me about my marital status and I said “recently divorced.”

        I was then asked (by other people who overheard) why I go about broadcasting that piece of information, why I didn’t just choose to say no I’m not married instead. I took my time explaining my stance and then one of them said — Ohhhh, so you’re unapologetic about it, which is fair enough I guess. (Who died and appointed you judge, b!tch?)

        To that, I said I wasn’t unapologetic, I was OFFENDED about being expected to be ashamed/embarrassed of it.

        Like

        • Love your stance, TWC! I for one would feel no shame in stating the facts about my marital status. The judgements are so nonchalantly expressed, aren’t they, when they’ve not even known people for a minute?

          Like

  10. Hmmmm… But what kind of stories? Are stories like the millions of marriages in India, like the recent stories on IHM’s blog, a lot of my friends own marriages, welcome?
    There is no physical violence in these marriages, but there is no respect, or understanding , or companionship or love either. Life for the DIL is a drudgery, all about finishing the day job quickly, buying groceries, slaving everyday to cook 4 complete meals, to cleanup after everyone.

    Like

  11. All it really takes is one woman to come forward and share, then many other women will follow. It is a great initiative. Wish I had more to add, but I don’t.😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

