A name of your own, to keep or to change.

Now married women in Maharashtra do not need to change their names or surnames after they get married – unless they choose too. More and more  women are choosing not to.

It is now perfectly legal for a woman to retain her maiden name after marriage. The Bombay high court recently amended a crucial rule under the Family Courts Act to prevent a woman from being compelled to file any marriage-related proceedings only in her husband’s surname, thus offering relief to many seeking a divorce. It will also help a married woman file proceedings in other courts under her maiden name, say legal experts.

The radical rule says that “a wife who has not changed her name after marriage, by publishing in the official gazette, may continue to use her maiden name”. The law is clear now: a woman is not obliged to take her husband’s name after marriage. [Read more]

One good thing about women not changing their names is they continue to carry the family name like actor Kalki Koechlin said, “It’s still ‘Kalki Koechlin’… I’d never want to let go of Koechlin; that’s who I am. Besides, I’m the only child, and it’s like my family legacy, I can never give it up.” [Read more here.]

Since Indian parents’ male child preference is also based on family name being carried forward, it might help if women kept their names and pass a  part of their names  (first name, second name) to their children. It’s already  being done and I am sure our future generations will wonder how we allowed mothers’ names to be completely excluded from children’s name.

The Law On Names

After Marriage

* A wife may continue to use her maiden name if she has not changed it officially after marriage

* A wife can file for divorce in her maiden surname; married surname; any other name she may have adopted and officially gazetted

After Divorce

* A woman can continue using her former married surname, except if her intention is to defraud the ex

[Read more]

Note: I am starting a new tag in response to a comment complaining that I seem to see nothing good in India.  Now if you click here, you will be able to read all the posts tagged ‘What I love about my country’🙂

Related posts:

First name, Unwanted. Second name, Dad’s or Husband’s name.

So what could make even the average, selfish, money-minded Indian family welcome baby girls?

87 thoughts on “A name of your own, to keep or to change.

  1. But of course! Didn’t realize this still needed legal sanction in Maharashtra. Or did the court need to step in because officials were insisting on husband’s surname only?

    Like

      • Not just divorce, even things like getting a ration card was difficult. It is because of that that I did not bother getting one. Luckily though the passport office did not have this rule, so I could get by without a ration card for identity proof

        Like

  2. One of those posts that make me smile🙂
    I prefer to keep my maiden name post marriage and dont wanna append husband’s name too because I am known by this name for 30 yrs and I can’t just change my identity

    My best friend just retained her maiden name and another one added her mom’s name as her middle name …so times are changing for better…and i am glad they are🙂

    And I hope it changes for best in future too🙂 For all women still don’t have courage to fight for such issues….but this gives hope….

    Like

  3. That’s a good move. I have known people who go about changing all their certificates, signatures in banks and everything just coz they got married. I think it is too much trouble.

    Like

  4. I didn’t even think about changing my name. And guess what? I got so many questions on that from women in the US, where we lived then. I was stunned that it was even remarkable! A lot of my colleagues agonized over hyphenation, et al and came up with pretty bizarre options as a result. Besides the whole identity issue, it is just much more convenient legally – paperwork, passport, et al.

    Good to know that some laws are catching up!

    Like

  5. I recently commented elsewhere in the interwebs about this issue. I will just copy that here.

    I don’t want to get married. I also don’t want to have any biological children. But if I did, I wouldn’t change my name when I get married. I would pick a last name for the child just like I would a first name. The last name would have some deeper meaning like equality or freedom or something. I guess if I have more than one child, I’d probably go with the same last name for all of them. If I adopt a child, then I wouldn’t change hir name. And I would unofficially name my multi-person household like one would name one’s sports/knitting/blogging team.

    Like

    • Hi IHM,

      Thanks for posting the comment. I intentionally used the pronoun “hir” to avoid refer to a particular gender. I see that you changed it to “her.” I guess it came up as a spelling error. Just to let you know. That’s all.

      Change

      Like

    • I guess I should say that I don’t care so much for carrying family names forward (whether maternal or paternal), especially in this day and age where the lineage can be tracked easily via birth certificates and so forth. Hence I would rather give my (hypothetical) children a cool last name than give my* or my (hypothetical) husband’s surname or some weird combination of both.

      *I have a cool last name (I think), but I wouldn’t impose it on my child.

      Like

  6. A very welcome move. I have not annexed my husband’s name after marriage like many I have seen do after marriage. Imagine how confusing it would be to change the names in all certificates. Anyhow my own name has 13 alphabets and my husbands 13 alphabets. Imagine a name with 26 alphabets to write in the forms!!!!!!

    Like

  7. Who in gods good name first thought of having a woman add her husband’s name to her name, that too while she wants a divorce. Only we can come up with such genius ideas.

    Its good that the new judgement corrects this error.

    Like

    • Err, actually in several Maharashtrian communities, a woman loses even her first name after marriage.

      So Ms XY can actually become Mrs ABC (new first name-husband’s first name- husband’s family name).

      Many govt agencies in Maharashtra will add your husband’s first name as your middle name even if you don’t actually use it as such.

      So you get names like Madhuri Sriram Nene (who’s she)?🙂

      Like

  8. I strongly insisted my wife not to change her name and it stays as is despite she wanting to change ! And I’m proud of it too. We did get into a little complication because what do we give surname to our daughter. And my wife preferred it to be my surname. I don’t remember why we ended up that way. In any case, there is no son-inheritance factor or carrying the clan of your parents so it is kind of neutral. Also, my surname is not really the one that would carry the name of my lineage. “Singhal” is pretty broad based🙂

    However, I should add that I know of so many girls (my own friends, relatives & others) who are so proud and waiting that milestone (oh I will change my name) to assume husband’s surname. Needless to say- I hate that attitude so much. Why should the girl change any part of her name after marriage. I do think that lot of traditional girls are brought up that way, kind of with low self-esteem and zero self- identity. Marriage provides them with the respect (read – in the eye of the in-laws & therefore society) and husband surname some identity..

    Like

      • Yes the whole institution of marriage is romanticised beyond belief.

        I have a friend who is otherwise independent, strong-willed and assertive.

        She has added her husband’s first and last name to her name on FB — it’s as if she sees it as a status-enhancer or an indication of how “committed” she is to her marriage.

        Like

    • My brother’s wife took my brother’s last name on her own. We came to know when she brought the news paper to show the deceleration. She felt pretty proud of it as if she has done something great. May be that was the first thing she had done for herself while being raised in a family where you were told do XYZ after you get married.
      But her changing her last name became DG’s bane because that God forsaken now ex expedited campaign “give up your last name” in full blast to the extent of physical battery. DG recalls an incident where FIL held her hand and said you have to leave our son because you have been married for an year and have not yet changed your name.
      It is interesting how small time advocates sitting outside the courts with a briefcase tell you about the law of the country rather their interpretation of the law. I was asked by one such guy how my name should appear in the affidavit and my passport.
      Glad this law will do something good.
      Peace,
      Desi Girl

      Like

      • DG, men like your ex are just waiting for an excuse to batter a woman.

        Some Indian men realise that being born male in India is like winning the New York State lottery.

        It gives you an unlimited amount of unearned privelege that they are just itching to exercise in every way possible.

        Like

  9. This is amazing to hear! Hope it will also help rid society of the practise some people still go by – changing the first name in addition to the last name, post-marriage.🙂 Good to see they have at least begun to give the woman’s family legacy value.

    Like

  10. Hey there IHM.. I got married to a guy with the same surname so no issues there🙂 However our son has ‘Pratap’ as his middle name which is common in many Rajput families and he gets asked “How come your dad’s called something else but your second name is ‘Pratap’.” “Who is Pratap?”… This name thing is pretty crazy.

    Like

  11. I guess the whole name issue and considering name retaining as a progress makes sense in India. But to be honest, India has more to do in this subject (like: registering children with different birth date than what is true, people having *blank* in the surname space in their passports, names which are not really “people” names but e.g. village names and abbreviations).

    A name is not only who you are – it is your legal signature, it matters when you go abroad, buy a house, take insurance. If you have your ID with a few “lies” and “mistakes” in it regarding your date of birth or appropriate name division it stays with you and follows you like a dark shadow your whole life.

    I never had any problems with changing my surname after getting married. Since here it is considered as creating a new family unit, not belonging to anyone or passing the authority to rule over women, nobody cares.

    But having NO surname is unheard of. You wouldn’t get your social security number without it. And when a child is born, the hospital registers that child with complete accuracy, and its father has 24 hours to confirm at the appropriate registry office that the name, surname and date of birth are correct (if not, parents will pay a fine or get a family court case open).

    Having said that, the moment you are born, your parents are long over the discussions about what kind of names suit you and whose surname you are gonna carry. And having all basic legal matters solved is one of the best gifts to start your life with.

    Like

    • @intercultured,

      India is not uniform in its onomatology practices. There are no uniform rules of naming across the country like the North Americas because India has a history that is more than 300 years old unlike the US.
      Early Irish immigrants were all McD or Mc what ever or whatever trade their family was engaged in – goldsmith, potter etc. there was a legacy in it. It was easier to administer people, places and things if there was a uniformity but it had its own problems.
      White man went to other people’s countries and started administering his uniform rules on their diverse lives and we all know the mess across the globe colonization has created.

      In south India Hindu names depict lineage and domicile. Where as North Indian last names are often caste/trade name. In most Hindu communities women take last name of their spouse but Rajput women never take their husband’s name, they are known by their maiden last name. They always retain their status as daughter of X clan. Hindus wait for an auspicious date and time to name the child and it is a religious and community event.

      Sikhs have uniform middle names for man and women and no last names. If they were to take a last name it would again be same for everyone and it will be after their “Partaking Amrit” ceremony. But many Sikhs choose to go by their caste and clan names as their last names. Naming ceremony of Sikh children takes place in Gurudwara when the mother and child visit it after the birth. There is a uniformity in their names now US and Canada has problem with that uniformity- why they have same middle and last names? They have same middle and last names so that people don’t boast of high lineage etc rather act like equals.

      Muslims in India have their own naming practices depending on the geographic region they belong to likewise the Indian Christians- depicting their region and
      often caste/clan. India is a huge country please stop coloring it with the same brush.

      About the date of births, yes there are bad apples who fabricate DOBs to get certain benefits related to age our Chief of Army is battling it in the Supreme Court of India.

      Why is it important to corner people to name their unborn children? Why not give them week or two to name the child as it is done in UK and other parts of Europe. It was just a recent past when pregnancies in our third world didn’t came to term and communities avoided naming the unborn because if it was a still birth or a neonatal death it would haunt the bereaved mother. Communities had ways of dealing with loss.

      …But having NO surname is unheard of.

      People go without SURNAMES and it does make sense because person is who he/she is, not what their last name stands for.

      By the way SSN has its own draw back and people have committed identity theft and what not. So all systems have their draw backs and nothing is foolproof.

      Peace,
      Desi Girl

      Like

      • DG not naming the baby was sometimes even more traumatic for bereaved mothers. I was under the impression that there are beliefs that naming a child or buying things for a baby before birth might harm the baby. I had a list of names ready for my kids but Tejaswee was a name that came to me moments after seeing her and my husband liked it very much too, it was gender neutral and had a beautiful meaning.

        Changing of birth dates was extremely common – almost everybody in the earlier generations in my family had two birthdays, an official birth date and a real birthday (horoscope etc matched with this one).

        Like

      • I have something to add here. I am a Tamilian (from tamil nadu, Muslim by religion when i was born but this case is the same for many people I know irrespective of religion ok). I donot have a surname. I and my hubby (Malayalee) have initials. Initial means, the first alphabet from our parents name. I have M standing for mohammed. It’s just M in all my forms. No full names just the alphabet.

        Then I applied for a pan card. I was in Delhi at that time. And they refused to take my form saying it didnot have a surname. I repeatedly said we donot have surname. At first I was extremly angey because, i wanted my name alone in my form. Who are they to tell me what my name is- i thought. But ultimately after 3 -4 rounds , I admitted defeat and submitted my surname as my father’s name. I cannot give my Pan card as an identification because the names don’t match. I know many who have just Ravi, or anil with no last middle or surnames. But were forced to give imaginary surnames in forms.

        Like

      • Hey there,

        I know about all these reasons you have given. Yes, India is and old country, and yes it is big and difficult to govern in a way that all such rules are standardized, but to a large extent these are excuses.

        In Europe too, you can name your child in a religious ceremony if you want, it can come at any time after birth, and you can postpone it as long as you wish. But law is law. And religion is never above it in a sense, that people cultivate it ALONGSIDE the laws not BEFORE them.

        My partner has a “+” in the space for a surname in his pasport. I asked him why it happened and it turned out it was pure chance together with his father carelessness. Now we are about to get married and I have no clue if it is possible to transfer his second name to this surname space. If not, I will need to retain my surname not because I want to, but because I have no alternative apart from being Ms. Intercultured +.

        This is the most ridiculous law issue I have ever experienced. And to think that his parents thought 6 months after his birth how to call him – in a legal sense they still didn’t do a great job at all!

        Like

      • One more thing,

        In a reply somewhere below you stated that non-Indians have problems with anything that doesn’t match their convictions.

        I can say the same about many Indians who, not only expect everything to be like in India, but also are 100% sure that enything Indian is by default better.

        Ignorance doesn’t hurt, but it really pisses people off. Judging with this tone doesn’t do good to anyone as well.

        Like

      • DG,

        I usually like and agree with what you write here and on your blog. I have to disagree with you here on a off-topic point though.

        There are no uniform rules of naming across the country like the North Americas because India has a history that is more than 300 years old unlike the US.

        This is not true. It’s presumptuous and dismissive to say/imply that North America doesn’t have a history before the Europeans stepped on the land or that North America has no culture. It’s a pity that even in the US the pre-European-Settlment history is not much discussed (at least not as much as the last 300 years like you say).

        Change

        Like

        • It is not denying the pre white invasion history of the North Americas, it is making a statement on the white man’s burden that denies histories and geographies of colonies before he set foot on that part of the world.
          If DG is discussing white man’s burden she is aware of native histories and geographies and their systematic elimination by the colonizer too.
          Peace,
          DG

          Like

      • IHM,

        not naming the baby was sometimes even more traumatic for bereaved mothers.

        I wondered about that. I just assumed that it’s the other way round because in India where the infant mortality rate is high, parents wait until a couple of days/weeks to name their newborn. In the US, I noticed that it’s common to pick name long before the baby came. I guess everyone has their own way of dealing with it.

        I have a friend who was called something horrible (equivalent of cow dung in the local language) by her parents for the first couple of weeks until they were sure she would survive. No, this is not the same as naming a girl child “unwanted.” She was very much wanted. The parents had lost a child previously and had the superstition that calling their child something horrible would keep the evil spirits away from her. My friend now has a beautiful name and a good life.

        Like

  12. I did not change my name, but for my daughter I was okay with having only one family name (of my husband’s) to avoid long name etc. I had to explain about my choice also outside India and on several occasions. I did that. But I felt little uncomfortable when my daughter asked me why I am not sharing her and papa’s name (she was 4 years then) and why I did not give her my name? Now she has accepted that though. So in practical reasons sharing your husbands name makes things easier. But then why should I choose the easy path🙂

    Bit unrelated to this post but I would like to share this here
    I have noticed another funny thing in Maharashtra. May be several other Indian states follow the same rule, I am not aware. Here fathers name is used as middle name of children (both men and women I think). Okay I have no problem with that. The problem arises when they create electronic submission forms for some application (e.g. job) and make a field for middle name and then put an asterisk over it, so that becomes a compulsory field to fill for proper completion of the form. I coming from another part of India don’t carry my father’s name with me. I just have a first and a family name (and that to different from my husband’s). So in order to overcome the problem I typed NA (Not Applicable) in the field for middle name. Finally my name arrived as ‘firstname NA lastname’ in the application form🙂
    Same happens with my husband. People in general offices (telephone exchange for instance) put terms like ‘Kumar’ for his middle name just like that. Or they ask his father’s name and then put that as a middle name.
    I talked about this with others over here and they could not really recognise my problem because they always have a middle name.

    Like

    • I faced this in my kids’ school, they added my husband’s name as their second name and we had to insist that we did not want that.
      Many women have to change both their first name and surname, both, when they get married.

      Like

    • I faced this when I registered for college in Mumbai…Like IHM, I too had to ‘fight’ with the college authorities to get my father’s name removed…Different names on different certificates can cause problems later on…

      Like

  13. My wife retained her name. In the earlier days of courtship, she wanted to put my name in front of hers, but I guess she just liked to see the two “first names” together. I told her not to fall in this stupidity. I love your name and wouldn’t like it changed. Also, it is so much easier to keep the original name, what with explaining all your pre-marriage documents/degrees etc. When we were deciding on our daughters name, she told me flatly that she would not put my family name as our daughter’s last name because then what about her family’s legacy. See, in Punjabi culture last names usually describe your tribe/clan and she wouldn’t let go on her tribe🙂 She wanted to put my first name as daughter’s last name though, as it didn’t have any such implication. I actually suggested that she put her first name with daughter’s ( I just love my wife’s name), but it didn’t rhyme well with our decided first name for the daughter. Besides, she really wanted the daughter to have my first name with her. Probably trying to make me own up to the responsibility🙂 . I also suggested that we just give her two names of her own, sort of like a compound name, as I find this idea of a male sounding last name to be a bit silly.

    Like

  14. BTW, my mom didn’t change her name as well. It was just not that crucial in the culture. I think it was more of a modern idea to change the name, borrowed from the British. When we were in US, whenever we were giving our names at some office, people would just ask my last name and it as my wife’s last name as well, and we had to correct them, thus wasting a sheet of paper🙂

    Like

    • Actually now that I recall, none of the older ladies in my family changed their names. On the other hand, ladies married in the 80’s and 90’d changed their name. My mother, as well as my mother in law, both had complete names of their own, with none of the part taken from father or husband. And I guess it was the case with most women of that generation.

      Like

  15. This is really interesting. Here in the US many women still prefer to change their last names, though there is this growing segment of the population where couples are hyphenating their last names. The sad part is women who don’t change their last names are viewed as not being committed to the marriage. If I ever decide to marry I’ll probably just hyphenate.
    But this whole issue of name changing has got me thinking about how it will be for gay couples. Since there’s no tradition for them to fall back on, I wonder what the situation is going to be like for them. That’s assuming down the road that gay marriage is legalized in both India and the US.😛

    Like

    • I hope that the US will legalise gay marriage at least during my life-time.

      That IS possible — who’d have thought in the 1960s that America would one day elect a non-white president!

      There’s no chance in hell that India will legalise it for another 100 years at least!

      Like

      • I think the tide is turning (even if slowly). I am somewhat optimistic that we’ll see same-sex marriage legalized in India in this century. We just need to reach the critical mass to let the domino effect change the attitudes/opinions of the people (at least of those in the legislature and judiciary).

        I think that Bollywood (and regional film industry) and TV should incorporate these things into their films. Yes, Bollywood is a little more okay with homosexuality now. But it still is not often portrayed in a positive light.

        Also on the topic of rape culture awareness (from a different post): it would be great if the film industry and TV serials incorporate positive attitudes about women’s sexuality and independence.

        It has been shown that TV is helpful in empowering women in rural India.
        http://www.slate.com/articles/business/the_dismal_science/2007/08/tv_is_good_for_you.html
        Articles like this tone down my distaste for saas-bahu serials a little bit.
        Perhaps we can use this method better and improve our attitudes towards justice in rape cases.

        Sorry for veering way off topic.

        Like

  16. Hi IHM,

    Just curious.. I see that you must have got married atleast 20 years ago..🙂 Do you still keep your maiden name? Or is your Maiden surname now your middle name?🙂 I dont remember reading about it anywhere in the post.. where as all the commentators have mentioned about their’s or their’s spouses’ choices..!

    Like

    • Manasa, my husband and I both changed our names a little, after having been married for a while, we didn’t plan or choose it – it just happened, it was written like this in a form and we thought it gave us an awesome and very region-neutral surname. Before that I had a very caste, community, religion and region specific name.

      Like

  17. 🙂 I don’t have a last name. That was my mom’s way of protesting against caste system! This was never a problem in India.
    I faced many a problems outside India, but they only caused delays n confusion, no major problems. But I have to confess, that non-Indians always express bewilderment and surprise at this fact while for 25 yrs in India, no one ever even raised an eyebrow.

    Like

    • @bjigya,
      Oh yes, non-Indians do have problem with anything and everything that doesn’t match their preconceived ideas. Today morning I was at breakfast with a white man after my presentation on religio-political history of Sikhs in North America. He asked me if all the young men who were sitting along the wall facing the pictures was a mark of respect. And my answer was, respect? hell no the wall makes for a good back rest. I told him though it is innocent query but you need not insert meaning into every gesture just use common sense.
      Peace,

      Desi Girl

      Like

  18. What? Retaining your own name (I refuse to call it ‘maiden name’) had legislative complications? And it is made legal only now? Wow! But well, I am glad there is a positive change. Better late than never.

    Like

  19. Wow, I had no idea women were supposed to officially declare that they’re not changing their name! I’ve been married for two years now, haven’t even thought about a name change and nobody from my family or my husband’s or anywhere has asked me any questions – it’s been a non-issue actually – dint even come up for discussion. But I haven’t officially declared anything and I don’t live in Maharashtra – am worried now😐

    Like

  20. I strongly tell anyone who has married and wants to change their sur name that DONT change it…I made a mistake by changing it…It was of course, at my own will and all that ( I wasnt really aware of how crazy things would get!)..but forget anything else, the problems that arise from license to passport to bank documents can be killing everyone wants a marriage certificate and some gazetted stuff and what not..just to prove the RD and I are married….after 6 years of marriage, I am still struggling in a couple of places to get the sur name changed to RD’s sur name…I wish I had listened to RD and at least kept my original surname hypenated😦

    Like

  21. Good news . Some time ago, I made the decision that I will never ask the woman I marry to take my name . She will carry hers, I will carry mine, and the children will be tagged in an entirely different way, like I was !😀

    Like

  22. The tag that you have introduced makes complete sense IHM. That’s exactly the first thing that came to my mind. That things are finally changing and are changes are being accepted in our country.
    The other day I was at this play called “Mulgi Zali Ho” (by Lokayukt group) in Pune about discrimination against woman right from her birth. After the play I was talking to one of the activists who is pregnant right now and she said something that made me feel very good. She had changed her name from “Firstname Fathersname Surname” to “Firstname Fathersname Mothersname” because she believes her mom has an equal role in bringing her up. She also told me that she will be naming her child similarly.
    She said she has to fight a battle every single day because of her name. At the sonography clinic, they told her to bring proof of her name because her name did not make sense and mainly it did not match wiht the name of the child’s father. One would wonder how does a sonography clinic care about the patients name, right? But these things are so deeply ingrained in our minds that we just do not accept anything different from the ordinary. I asked her if it doesnt frustrate her to keep giving explanation about her name to everyone and she said “Imagine how much explanations adn justifications Savitribai Phule must have given, I am doing nothing in comparison to that”

    sorry for the long comment, just had to share this.

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing this Gunjan. I wish I had this idea when my daughter was born, I could have done this too:) . I really like this suggestion of having mother’s and father’s name and do away with surname etc. All problem solved?

      While I was typing this, it also came to my mind that there would be kids born out of the wedlock ..and then this might become a differentiator which may not be desirable. Ofcourse, logically some father will ofcourse be there.. Just some loud thinking. But I do like the approach you say irrespective..

      Like

  23. I remember the dialogue from the Movie Yashwant where Nana (husband) says ‘Maine use [= meri patni ko] apna naam diya, pyar diya’ (I gave her [= to my wife] my name, my love). It was surprising to see such a thing glorified, a man feeling proud ‘to have given’ his name to her.

    As far as using surname is concerned, I am too a strong advocate of using both of the parents name (or their initial letters), throughout their life.

    And, the use of ‘their’ when you wish to be gender-neutral is grammatically correct. And, I use the same.

    Like

  24. Barely two months ago, my husband and I were trying to get a hotel room in small town Maharashtra. And they wouldn’t let us check-in because our ID documents had different surnames! They kept saying “If you are married, you should have the same surname”. This happened at three different hotels. I was first mad and indignant, but finally I just needed a place to sleep in, so we actually showed our wedding pictures which had been uploaded on Facebook (and the duty manager actually took out his glasses to inspect the photos!!!) to get a room!

    I keep my surname. Some relatives asked if I wanted to hyphenate it along with his surname; I said I wouldn’t mind if he reciprocated the gesture, and that was the end of the matter. If and when we have kids, we will probably tag both our surnames onto their first names, though I would prefer just giving them a new surname with a meaning.

    Like

      • It IS really insane.

        India has one of the biggest sex industries in the world (in numbers at least).

        Every day, underage girls are trafficked across India; yet we Indians pretend as if we are the most virtuous and sexually chaste people on the planet.

        The very same duty manager would have turned a blind eye if a local politican had turned up with an underage girl and demanded a room.

        He would have feingned ignorance despite surmising that the girl was being coerced or blackmailed.

        Our moral code is not applicable to the high and mighty. They can do as they please.

        The wrath of society will rain down on a couple of lovers who choose to have consensual sex.

        But a fifty-something politician and an underage girl? No problemo!

        Like

  25. My great grandmother, my grandmother, my aunts, my mother all retained their maiden names.
    I changed it on my passport only because my in-laws said it would be required for legal and immigration purposes!!

    Though officially I use my husband’s surname, everywhere else I use my own name.

    Like

  26. I got married 6 months back and I want to keep my maiden name after marriage. Do I still have to do any publication in the official gazzatte that I would be know with the same name after marriage ?

    Like

  27. Pingback: Marriage Vs Live in Relationships : Twelve points to note. | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  28. Pingback: 21 Married Women in Chennai Remove ‘Thali’ Despite Husbands Being Alive | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

