A memory to make me smile.

Dear J. K. Rowling,
My name is Tejaswee Rao and I have written a book that is a continuation of Harry Potter. I am only 14 years old and pose no threat to your writing career. So if you don’t mind, it would be my honor to invite you to inogurate my book. The expensies for the trip from the U.K. will have to be payed by you. My adress is enclosed on a separate piece of paper at the back of this sheet. Hope to see you soon.

Yours gratefully,

Tejaswee Rao

P.S. : Don’t mind my spelling!

I think this must have been written sometime before or after this picture was taken on 24 June 2003…
And another…
๐Ÿ™‚

54 thoughts on “A memory to make me smile.

      • No – you finish it . And state that “finishing part” was done posthumously by you. And get it published. A girl who is confident of writing such a letter should have written a good one I’m sure.

        Like

      • As Anil says you ca nfinish it .. Or put the draft and have other readers write something as a finish to it .. you will have lots of stories and have a competition of sorts and The award will be Tejaswee Rao Badge once again…

        Like

  1. Cute!
    Did she actually send this?
    Was there a reply?
    Regards
    GV

    To all readers whose blogs I visit and comment on:
    I am off to Coimbatore/Kerala for a week.
    Will be back on Sunday Jan 23
    So, there will be no comments from me unless I get time and or opportunity to do so from my Ipad2 and my new Galaxy Note that I will be carrying
    I hope the internet works on these devices outside Bangalore.

    Like

    • Seriously! I love how TJ assumed that JKR would jump at the opportunity to come for the inauguration and also made it clear that while it would be an honor and everything, it wasn’t *that* much of an honor that she would be willing to pay for JKR๐Ÿ˜€.

      One more vote for publishing that book online, IHM! I would love to read it!

      Like

  2. Awww… she knows what she’s capable of, make no mistake. A book, that is what I think would be a lovely thing, of everything she has, in writing, in scraps, in pictures, and notions. It would be incredibly inspiring, not just for me, but so many who need to cope, and who would be motivated by this immensely capable girl,Tejaswee๐Ÿ™‚
    Hugs, IHM๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. Awesome!๐Ÿ™‚ What boldness to tell to invite JK Rowling for the inauguration and tell her to pay for her own expenses. How cool! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    One more for reading the continuation of the book!๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. That is such a sweet letter only a kid, pure of heart could write. Imagine asking JK to pay her own expenses๐Ÿ™‚

    I have been thinking about you this last few months, although I haven’t commented in a long time/ Having a baby makes me realize how much pain you are going through every single day. I hope you are doing better now. Hugs๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. A very confident writer! I looooovvvee the idea of J.K Rowling paying for her trip. Very smart!
    I remember reading the order of the phoenix in five days and the mother of all headaches that followed. I never touched the book after that.๐Ÿ™‚
    Would love to read Tejaswee’s book.

    Like

  6. A letter in Tejaswee’s handwriting! The girl has got great imagination, IHM! She is asking Rowling to take care of the expenses of the trip!

    Her story, though unfinished, must be interesting! Let us have a look at it!

    Like

  7. awwww๐Ÿ™‚ I can totally relate to a fellow harry-potter-fan’s letter. When I was a kid, I was big time into harry potter (still am) and had actually sent a fan letter to J K rowling. The only fan mail I ever sent anyone๐Ÿ˜€
    I do like the idea of publishing her unfinished draft. I am sure it will be a good read!

    Like

  8. This made me smile too… Loved her clear, logical, no-nonsense attitude… And yes, like the rest, I would like to read Tejaswee’s book too.๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  9. Thats so cute..and you know what, her handwriting is pretty nice as well๐Ÿ™‚

    Me – R’s Mom, Horrible handwriting !! And atrocious spelling… these two were the bane of her existence!๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • WHAT! its horrible handwriting….IHM you havent seen mine or a lot of other people’s..wel the spellos I can understand, but she clarified na in the end about the spellos..

      But I stand by my statement, her handwriting is definitely nice!

      Like

  10. So cute she is.Same pinch TJ,me too used to mention at the end of the letter to excuse me for the spelling mistakes.

    Never read harry potter books,would love to read what TJ wrote…

    Like

  11. lol! she is a riot๐Ÿ˜€ and very clear on the payment terms๐Ÿ˜€ ( i LOVE her confidence, i once wanted to write a letter to JKR, but it turned out like a soppy love note, nothing like TJ’s!)

    Like

  12. What a confident spunky business-minded person! -“I’m no threat to your writing career’ “expenses to be paid by you”๐Ÿ˜€
    I would love to read the continuation of Harry Potter by TJ.

    Like

  13. This isn’t only darn cute but also shows how confident the girl was๐Ÿ™‚

    Do try sharing the book here ๐Ÿ™‚

    I actually LOLed at the expense part๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  14. ๐Ÿ™‚ I struggled to read the Hindi essay header (my Hindi is weak) but it was well worth it. It cheered me up no end.

    Tejaswee may not have become a janwaron ka doctor, but she certainly was a thumping good lekhak – her “Letter to the future”, which a friend forwarded to me a long time ago, is very well-written – her advice to her future daughter has universal appeal, and was uplifting to read. I was devastated when I learned that the author of the piece had passed on – I first came to your blog to learn more about the bright, bubbly girl who wrote such an evocative piece at such a young age, and have been a reader ever since.

    Like

  15. Pingback: She would have been 21 today and I miss her. | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  16. I love the spunk in this letter. Reminds me of my letter to the then (and now) CM of TN Jayalalitha of how I found her screaming at the assembly to inappropriate and she should certainly meet my mother who hates people screaming๐Ÿ˜€. I gave this to my mother and she burst out laughing!

    I miss this girl of yours๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

