Abhishek Bachchan as a Working Dad in the new Idea ad.

The last part made this ad look good to me. Would have loved it if he too was shown giving baby care instructions.

Take a look,

Can’t watch the video in your office? Here’s the transcript, with my expert comments and interpretations😉

Female Employee  — Sir…

Abhishek Bachchan (Working Dad) – Yes?

Female Employee – My resignation.

Abhishek Bachchan (Working Dad) – (Shocked) What?

Female Employee – My baby.

Abhishek Bachchan (Working Dad) – (Sighs) Mummyjee bache ke liye job chorna…? Old Idea. (Quitting a job for baby? Old idea.) New idea?! Bachcha aur job, dono ek saath sambhalo! (Manage the baby and the job together).

Proudly turns around his new Idea 3G smart phone for her to see.

Next we see the Female Employee using her new Idea 3G Smart Phone at work, instructing the nanny/maid.

Female Employee – Arti baby ke bum pe cream lagao, achche se lagao…. (waves at the baby)


[Video surveiliance. Streaming aur video internet ke poore power ke saath Idea 3G smart phone. Rupees 5850 mein, plus data benefits…]

Abhishek Bachchan (Working Dad) talking to his smart phone – Oo chee chee..Ookee kee oo kee kee…

Female Employee enters – (suspects he has gone mad?😉 ) Ahem ahem.

Abhishek Bachchan (Working Dad) – (grins sheepishly) Err… My baby.

Female Employee (Working Mom) – (Grins, one proud parent to another😀 ) New idea🙂😀😆 !

Real working dads would love to do a lot more than Ookee kee but still it’s a nice beginning to Indian advertisements acknowledging that Working Dads exist and they too need to care for their babies. Not bad?

41 thoughts on “Abhishek Bachchan as a Working Dad in the new Idea ad.

  1. Honestly, I have never understood an ad where a celebrity acts like a common man and gives out such ideas…. I don’t know IHM but this ad doesn’t impress me at all…at the most it’s funny and thats all I can think about it😦

    Like

  2. Am sorry for this ad bashing in advance

    1. I wish i was working in such an office. I don’t think my bosses are going to like me giving instructions to my maid when i am supposed be doing my work.

    2. Dono sambhalna. Why should The woman stress so much? If they had shown that the services were helping her and her husband communicate in such a way that they both were taking a responsibility with the baby it would have been nicer.

    3. Husband is still doing only koochi koochi koo????

    Like

    • I agree, I didn’t like the same things. That’s why I called him a Working Dad. Nobody seems to feel the need to say ‘working fathers’ because it is assumed that they have wives *working or not working* who would look after their kids.
      I should edit and make it a conversation between a working dad and a working mom🙂

      Like

      • ‘Working father’…. My father was a working father. Though my mother was a house wife ( or home maker as they are calling it now), My father was a active parent. My father used to get me ready before leaving to office himself. I don’t remember my mother getting me ready. He used to drop me everywhere. He was responsible for my studies. I don’t remember him say koochi koochi koo…but i remember him tying my laces, ironing my uniform……AS talked about this being a mockery….I agree.

        Like

    • This is an ad, not a documentary.
      These ads have a purpose.
      The main objective is to sell a product.
      To do that they need to grab eyeballs.
      We should expect them to adopt any means to do that and as long as it is not illegal or clearly offensive, simply tolerate them and live with them.
      It is pointless to expect advertisers to take on the responsibility of spreading socially relevant messages through these ads.
      If some advertiser does that, it is purely incidental and that would be a bonus.
      For my part, I give these ads some nominal attention the first or second time I see them and then laugh them off or just forget them.
      I am happy if they are funny and harmless, which this ad is.
      I didn’t expect a serious message and hence am not too disappointed.
      Regards
      GV

      Like

  3. somehow i feel its making a mockery of the whole idea. at best its slightly funny, but it dosent really put forth the idea of working dads on the forefront.

    Like

  4. This ad is just ‘slightly’ better than most other ads that show stereotypes. But even in this ad, AB is doing just what most of the fathers do in India – come home from work and play with the kids and do okkiee keee .. but when the time comes to change the nappy they give a shout out to their wives. (not generalizing, but saying based on what I have seen commonly. I am sure there are exceptions). Even today, the major ‘taking care’ of the new baby responsibility solely lies with the mother.

    Like

  5. not bad at all – infact a great attempt – a married man encouraging his subordinate female employee to strike the right work balance without the mommy vs. working guilt thrown in. what a refreshing ad!

    Like

  6. i was just complaining the other day to my husband as to how i had an “issue” with this ad.

    1. Does a woman need to stay at home just to ensure the baby’s bum is powdered properly – what abt women who want to be at home so as to not miss out on precious moments with your baby

    2. Is it fair to my workspace that i am spending time giving instructions to my maid?

    3. and of course the point you made on the man coochie cooing the baby .

    The good part is at least they show it being “ok” for men to talk abt their babies at the workplace

    Like

    • Nuttie Matters, according to me, a mom wanting to be at home so as not to miss out on the fun is fine. But if that mom is “showing off virtuousness” by saying, “The baby needs me. I am not selfish to have my career at the cost of my baby’s well-being”, I have a problem with that. She is unjustly accusing working moms of child neglect.

      I think if you are getting all your tasks done on time, most managers won’t worry about giving instructions to your maid from the work-space, as long as you are not disturbing others. It’s definitely worthwhile to hold on to the employee than to hire another one who they have to bring up to speed, spending time and money on that.

      Like

  7. Loved the ad. It’s a sign of the progressing mentality in India, meaning, the advertisers are aware that saying “Leaving job for the baby is an old idea” will go well with the Indian population. The phase of glorifying the “sacrifice” of the mom for the kids upon quitting the job,or the accusation of child-neglect on continuing the job is waning.

    Like

  8. A Stupid ad by Idea that needs to be banned, is pregnancy so easy for the women?? We all are in a mood of minting more and more of Vitamin M-money and wherein we neglect our own children who later become misguided without our attention. This ad is only making fun of women and the actor is shown under poor light too. Requesting the Idea authorities to remove this advertisement- from:-Manu Nair (Journalist)

    Like

    • Manu Nair, not all people (men/women) work just for the money. Work can give you stimulation, satisfaction, opportunity to meet, understand and manage different people and a sense of completeness. This helps them mature as human beings too. They can bring this maturity into raising their children.

      If a mom is told that happiness lies in giving up everything for the child, and she buys that idea by quitting her job, she becomes resentful later because of losing not just the money, but also a fulfilling life . Resentful parents are not good parents.Only a happy parent can raise a happy child. Working moms give an impetus to the phenomenon of dads getting more involved with the kids. A kid always benefits from involvement of both parents.

      I have the following questions for you:
      What makes you think
      a. working moms neglect their kids?
      b. this ad makes fun of women?
      c. the actor shown under poor light?

      Like

  9. He looks like VVS Laxman, If he was not famous he would be taken as a gutter cleaner in Lalookaith, seriously I don’t know what’s the big deal about him or any other indian actor for that matter. Now if we had Geeta Basra up there I might have said something more useful.

    Like

  10. My husband feels that the love a child shows towards his/her mother comes automatically while a father has to earn the love. He blogged about it here- http://india-ajourneycontinued.blogspot.com/2011/12/woman-or-woe-man.html

    Maybe what he feels is partly true. But the care a mother provides for her child 24/7 is what brings out the unconditional love a child has for his/her mother. [I am not, of course, saying this is the sole reason a child loves its mother]. Yet things are changing now. A modern man does not wait for his wife to come an change the diaper. If such chores are taken care equally by both the father & mother, the child might respond in the same manner towards both parents.

    Like

    • A, I agree with you rather than your husband. It’s the care provided by the parent, not the gender of the parent, that brings a child closer to his/her parents. I have seen many examples of both parents being equally involved in parenting and the children loving them both, equally.

      Like

      • I Agree with your husband. Both me and my husband take care of the kids, he does more in fact since i’m perpetually on call ( just finished residency and all) , i keep dashing off at short notice, whereas he has steadier hrs and hence usually deals with the night wake ups and dinner/breakfast routine. but my kids are more attached to me. for some reason mom is the magnet . feel bad for poor dad, of course they love him too, but i’m the definite preference for both🙂

        Like

  11. I actually quite like this ad because it shows that its okay for fathers to be involved in their children’s lives, even if the father is a senior person at office. Because rarely do we think of our male colleagues as ‘working fathers’ as opposed to our female colleagues as working mothers. Of course, it would have been nice to see the father also giving instructions, but hey, this is a great start!

    Like

  12. Pingback: 27 ways in which Patriarchy harms men. | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  13. Pingback: The Changing Role of Dads | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  14. Pingback: Why it isn’t enough to raise independent daughters. | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

