I wish I knew what this bird is called…

Edited to add: It’s called Purple Rumped Sunbird, thanks Trupz!

Lunch time.

Where’s the mother?

This look broke my heart :(


Still closer…

How could you take so long?

This little one even looks angry :)

And still, could anything be softer?

Thursday Challenge, “SOFT” (Pillows, Toys, Snow, Baby, Focus,…)

All photographs in this post have been taken by my husband.

Related Posts:

Some of us don’t care.
Ill-mannered visitors.
The belief that baby birds that are touched by human hands will be rejected by their parents is a myth.
Green!
Delightful pictures of green pigeon activity from my balcony.
Chestnut headed bee eaters.
Photographs of Green Pigeons, nest and eggs.

37 thoughts on “I wish I knew what this bird is called…

  1. No these are not baya…baya is weaver bird right but these are sunbirds as Tikuli says….

    me – Trupz asked a photographer friend, it’s Purple Rumped Sunbird :)

  2. The pictures are so clear! We can notice the anxiety in the baby’s face and looks relieved and complaining like you said, when she saw her mother!

    Great pictures, IHM! Thanks to your husband!

  3. What fabulous pics IHM !!!!
    Your birdie pics have got me really interested and I have been pestering the hubby for a better camera with a better zoom lens–at the moment my pleas seem to be falling on deaf ears but I intend to persevere :) There is a vast tract of wild,uncultivated land behind our colony and I am able to spot all types of birds in the evenings from our second floor flat!Apart from peacocks(yes, peacocks!)parrots, bulbuls and several others I can’t name,there are these tiny birds with long beaks–I think they are called sunbirds.I particularly love the one which is a dark shiny black with a purple steak down its head.I so wish I could show you their pics and find out their names!

    • I feel if we all start noticing birds and animals around us, we start becoming aware of how much joy they bring and also that they need nature, trees, grass, flowers, drinking water and freedom from noise and air pollution to survive.

  4. WOW !!! Such beautiful pics of a baby bird !!! :) Never have I seen such close-ups inside a nest…. :) Thanks so much for sharing this with us. :) :)

  5. I’d think that it is a Purple Sunbird too but if you want to hear it from the horse’s mouth, you could post these photos on birdforum.net. I usually get a reply in about 8 minutes!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Changing Seasons | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  7. Pingback: This afternoon. | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

