How I …err we made India win in Mohali.

Watching the CWC2011 semi final with friends on twitter was an experience.
@prateekshah: All said and done, the fun on twitter was comparable to the action on field πŸ™‚ ad Crazzzyy fun!
.
@Miilee: My maid just came running in, asking if Sachin is still playing… She ran all the way from her home!! We Indians sure do lo …
What makes it so interesting? It’s just cricket after all? Yes it is hyped, but it’s also fun. Maybe what makes it more interesting is the fact that…
@TIME: A sixth of humanity is watching #indvspak right now. What are you doing? | http://ti.me/gdvvoY
You celebrate,

@jhunjhunwala: NEHRA!!! NEHRA!!! NEHRA!!!

@Ruchira_Shukla: bless you bhajji bleess you

@monikamanchanda: Munaf Jiyo mere lal

@mysticmargarita: PAK de India!!!

@Netra: RT @prateekshah: Hahahahahahahahahaha, SACHIN TENDULKAR! THE ENTIRE PAKISTAN TEAM IS WITH YOU!

@chin80: Best part was, no sledging or heated arguements spotted between the two teams today. Just great cricket!

@prateekshah: Sachin Tendulkar is Rajnikanth in disguise

@iyamalhotra: koi shaque???

@mannbik: SODA Lemon Ginger POP.. India WILL BE ON TOP


You make ‘Expert comments’

phoenixritu: Gul plays for India

AneelaBabar: Mujhey thoda thoda Munaf Patel par piyaar aaney laga hai #DheereyDheereyPiyarKoBadhanaHai

Sourav_Pandey: Pakistan will now officially be called DROPistan! πŸ˜€

@prateekgupta: I was writing a tweet about Yuvraj and before I could complete he was bowled out 😦

phoenixritu: /fuckkkkkkkkkkk

@NehaThakkar14: today Bhajji is fielding for Pakistan!

AneelaBabar: Bhaji paagal hogaya

@fakingnews: I think Pakistanis have taken the critics’ “India loses when Sachin scores a century” logic too seriously.

@madversity: Sachin should be Man of the Catch not Match

We missed nothing!

@sandhyas: My ma says ‘kinna nahaya dhoya minister hai’ maybe the only one@monikamanchanda: #spotted Shashi Tharoor din ban gaya πŸ™‚

@greatbong: Shiney Ahuja goes to jail for 7 years. Good thing he wont have to see Pakistan win easy.

(But why do we want good things to happen to Shiney Ahuja?)

You share your disappointment too,


@Supreeka: Why the hell are we giving away 4s? Bakre ko mota kar rahe hai kya?@AneelaBabar
.
@AneelaBabar: @meIHM KAun Kambakht Bardasht karney ko peeta hai, kuch log misfielding bhoolney ko
.
@dineshjk: Ab Hafeez Ko Khuda Haafiz Karo
.
row_hini: I bother to wake up at 5 AM for this match and this is what happens! #fail
meIHM: Match abhi baaki hai. πŸ™‚
.
And sometimes, when it just gets too much!
@bchattdutt: TV off. Going to wash this 1st innings off me like a bad memory 😦

We make great coaches and instructors.

@NehaThakkar14: cmmon bhajji..time for some ungali mein tingli!

@iyamalhotra: Sardar ji tussi sadi hope ho.. please aaram se maaro

@booboosmamma: gana bajana band karo, game pe concentrate karo (to the audience in Mohali I think)

@NehaThakkar14: be consistent Afride! that’s the way to go!

@skodithala: Chal Afridi…. aur ek chance mil gaya. Prove yourself to be a good man, get OUT!

There’s wishful thinking.
@phoenixritu: Lets hope they collapse and dont finish their overs
.
What made this tweet so special? Please guess!! The Prestigious Yellow Polka Dotted Cup goes to the three winners.
AneelaBabar: There is a God up there and s/He is wearing a green and white jersey now
.
@amruthaupendran: One more wicket please!!! Pretty please!
We predict.
@SnowLeapord: The story will be told to the future generations of the Nehra Family
.
@thecomicproject: That Harbhajan roar is going to be all over National Geographic and Discovery
We ask questions.
jhunjhunwala: Why is that Kamran Akmal screaming from behind the stumps as if he is selling vegetables? dus ka …
.
@TheMasakkali: Will Munaf get his hat-trick? To be or not to be k chakkar me naa pado bhaiya. Go, get it.
.
@amruthaupendran: What’s the score ppl?
And we sacrificed our comfort. #Anti Jinx…
You don’t get up, you throw away water bottles until the end of the match, you have lucky chairs and sometimes…

@fakingnews My roommate just went to take a pee and we got a wicket. I’ve locked him in the bath …
@booboosmamma: lock the bathroom
@Ayeshazh: Throw away the keys πŸ˜› RT
@chrony: Can someone unlock the door. i am inside
*
@froZENwell: My next tweet will be when one wicket falls, and you know I am a twitter addict! Make it soon.
*
meIHM: I can tweet now, fingers stiff from keeping crossed for so long!!
*
@phoenixritu: Blimey! I think I should go back to the kitchen. They score runs #antijinx
*
AneelaBabar: Yes Yes Yes the water break worked Thankyou @meIHM
Here’s how I did my bit.
@m_sahai: nahin IHM, please kuch na kaho! last time it worked! remember!#antijinx
@mannbik: @meIHM Dont say anything for the next 4 overs nowwwww πŸ™‚
meIHM: _____________________________________
@amruthaupendran: What’s the score ppl?
meIHM: ___________

And were duly thanked πŸ™‚

Bhagwad Park –Β BuzzΒ –Β Public
Thanks to all you guys for allowing me to follow the match so easily with your updates πŸ™‚

And finally,

@Shakti_Shetty: Thank goodness, we won. Or else almost one-sixth of human population would have slipped into depression.

@prateekshah: It doesn’t matter what happens with Lanka, for a lot of Indians we have won the World Cup πŸ™‚

@kiranmanral: Ah. But I cannot raise such competitiveness in myself against Sri Lanka.

meIHM: I agree. For me, this was the Final.

38 thoughts on “How I …err we made India win in Mohali.

  1. Thats a pretty cool compilation or should I say a twitollage (Tweet + Collage). Wow!
    I guess, tomorrow, we will all be on twitter again, winning the cup for India.
    πŸ™‚

    P.S. Yay! A tweet of mine is also featured

    Like

  2. ah, isn’t it fun? πŸ˜€

    last time, sify and indian colleges site published out tweets when we tweeted during India and OZ match..this time around I was missing that, and there you go..you published the tweets πŸ™‚

    I will dearly miss the world cup..more so for this reason..it’s so much fun to live tweet..anyway, we will continue this during IPL too..what say?

    Like

  3. This is an awesome compilation, IHM!! I am not on twitter (and dont follow any tweets), and the whole match, my eyes were fixed on the TV screen!! I read the facebook updates later, and it was so much fun!! I guess the whole match I just posted one update on fb cheering Yuvi when he took a wicket and later Raina, when he took that awesome awesome catch! πŸ™‚

    Tonight is the big night (match starts past midnight here ;-( )!!! cmon Indiaaa!!!!!!!

    Like

  4. lol… lovely post πŸ˜‰ watchin match together – online or in person is always heartening πŸ™‚

    polka guess: did afridi get out in the next ball? :s

    Like

  5. Well IHM tomorrow I will be tweeting and partying FOR you (rather than against), Ive told The Man India better win as our house can only sleep winners!!
    There is a big party, the projector is out and I will be cooking in the morning so your Ramayana Reloaded better end happily (minus the walk of fire, earth swallowing up). I will now drink as much water as I can , and go to the washroom for Im guessing tomorrow no one will be allowed to move from their chairs per your instructions!!
    Lets see if I can live tweet in between….Im going to miss this once its over.
    Ab IPL IPL kheley kiya?!!!!

    Like

    • That’s my all time favorite tweet Aneela πŸ™‚ absolutely the most hilarious tweet I have ever πŸ™‚

      I wanted to add one more section of ‘tweets that taunted’ but the Tata Docomo 3G modem that I am using has some problem…. Typing this from an I phone:(
      I had made some changes but they were not saved either. 😦

      Like

  6. What would i have done without twitter πŸ˜‰
    Am NOt supposed to watch the match half or in parts if they have to win for sure 😐 #mySuperstition
    But the updates and the comments on twitter made up for that !!

    Tooo much fun !
    Am going to be logged in to twitter even tomm when I watch the match with my family πŸ˜€

    Like

  7. Attempt at winning the Prestigious Yellow Polka Dotted Cup —
    Tweet mentions God as HE/She:)
    I hoped it was written by a guy, but it wasn’t the case.

    It is real fun watching the match while tweeting:-)All set for the final now!

    Like

  8. It’s so much fun to watch the match like this, especially for people like me who are so far away from the country Nd in a place where people don’t even know C of cricket. But this was not final for me…..picture abhi baaki hai!!!

    Like

  9. Oh that was fun wasn’t it ! Thanks for compiling all the best tweets, it made me relive the fun all over again ! All set for today IHM ? But you know what as you said, I can’t seem to muster up a much enthusiasm as I had for the Indo-Pak match !

    Like

  10. Hahaha! Very funny about the one being locked up in the bathroom!

    And WE WON THE WORLD CUP!!!! Loved the tweets and the FB statuses. It was like watching the match with friends, even though I was sitting alone πŸ˜‰

    Like

  11. Actually, nowadays I am so fed up with so much cricket that I never sit and watch them. But during Paki-India and India-SriLanka match, I watched ball to ball match and you and other friends entertained with your interesting tweets.

    Nice compilation of the interesting tweets!

    Like

  12. Thanks IHM . I follow you on twitter and it was so much fun seeing all your tweets.Staying miles away and among people who have no clue what euphoria my whole country was going through and then reading the tweets made the whole final so memorable.

    Like

  13. We are the champions – my friends
    And we’ll keep on fighting – till the end –
    We are the champions –
    We are the champions
    No time for losers
    ‘Cause we are the champions – of the world –

    Like

  14. haha it was too much fun reading this, and the totem which did work for me was not tweeting when watching the match, you have no idea how itchy my fingers were going when we were batting in the 2nd innings of the finals πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ – we had co – ordinated loo breaks in finals which were restricted to only during ad breaks, my husbands office colleagues had joined us to see Sf’s and finals and it was nothing short of stadium atmosphere in my living room, My window was adorned with tricolor made of my dupattas – and we were all wearing tricolor t shirts …. in fact it went to such an extent that some one said we must chant gayatri mantra and we did so continuously for last 6 overs ….. my neighbors in this case were most co operative cos the decibel levels that we reached during that entire match were of record heights … i missed all fun on twitter … but India won and i can sacrifice that much for the CUP πŸ˜€ πŸ™‚ …..

    Like

  15. Pingback: Tweets, Protest and The Book Launch | Ginger & Cardamom

  16. Pingback: And the Prestigious Yellow Polka Dotted Cup goes to… « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  17. Pingback: And the Prestigious Yellow Polka Dotted Cup goes to… « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

