That makes me a Feminist.

“Feminist blogging is basically the 21st century version of consciousness raising…”  –  says Courtney Martin.

And what is ‘consciousness raising’ ?

I googled to find out.

Consciousness raising is a ‘form of political activism, pioneered by United States feminists in the late 1960s’. Early feminists felt that many problems in women’s lives were misunderstood as “personal”, or as a result of personality conflicts.

Consciousness raising groups aimed to get a better understanding by bringing women together to discuss and analyze their lives.

Meetings would usually be held about once a week, often in the living room of one of the members.

Meetings usually involved going around the room for each woman to “rap” about a predetermined subject — for example, “When you think about having a child, would you rather have a boy or a girl?

…what had seemed like isolated, individual problems (such as needing an abortion, surviving rape, conflicts between husbands and wives over housework, etc.) actually reflected common conditions faced by all women.’  [Click to read more.]

Sounds like discussions on our blogs today!?

That makes me a feminist.

I guess Feminism is a natural step in a democracy when we attempt to create a more civilized society for ourselves. Do you agree?

My niece sent me this amazing video – thank You Gauri 🙂

Here are some of the parts I particularly liked,

1. Do you agree with Courtney Martin here? I do.

“My feminism is very indebted to my mom’s, but it looks very different.

My mom says, “Patriarchy” I say, “intersectionality“.

So race, class, gender, ability, all of these things go into our experiences of what it means to be a woman.

Pay equity? Yes. Absolutely a feminist issue.

But for me, so is immigration.”

That makes me a feminist too.

2. Courtney Martin’s mother wasn’t the only feminist in their house.

“My dad actually resigned from the male-only business club in my hometown because he said he would never be part of an organization that would one day welcome his son, but not his daughter.”

3. Their biggest success, she feels, are the emails they receive from teenage girls who stumble on their site and realize that feminism is not about man-hating.

That’s a huge success, seeing how many of us have been lead to believe that Feminism is somehow Men versus Women.

So do you think you are a Feminist?

62 thoughts on “That makes me a Feminist.

  1. That makes me a feminist too!

    Me – 🙂 I loved what she said about Intersectionality – it widens the scope and includes women from every section, with their some different kind of problems.

    Like

  2. YES, YES,YES ! I am a feminist 🙂
    (btw a friend once laughingly told me that I should never tell people I am a feminist otherwise no guy will ever marry me. Even as a joke I found her comment sic !)

    me – Ruchira, this is what happens when some women see getting married as their only goal, can’t even express or have opinions!! I loved what she said about her dad in this video! 🙂

    Like

  3. I am definitely. Consciousness raising now, is basically online where women create spaces for themselves. People have this impression that it was all about bashing men and such, but it’s not.

    I had the pleasure to see Courtney Martin in person when she came to my city to discuss intergenerational issues within the feminist movement. I’m glad she brought up the issue of intersectionality, because not only does it focus gender oppression, but other forms of oppression.

    It really speaks to me, because I’m a minority and a woman in the United States so I have to deal with race, gender oppression and to an extent, class discrimination. I was wondering though, could intersectionality be something that could apply to Dalit women? I’m only asking, because it seems like they’re at the bottom of the social hierarchy.

    Me – RenKiss I was going to write a line about caste in India. Yes for Indian feminist this has to be an issue, for me it definitely is. Yes Dalit women are at the bottom of the social hierarchy, even today the easiest victims of sexual violence.

    Like

    • @RenKiss,
      Of course it applies to Dalit women, muslims, christaians, sikhs, budhists, parsis, LGBTQ; any one who is not part of majority even Nepalis and Bangladeshis who are here to make a living or are running from dire circumstances in their home countries.

      My hetrosexuality does not render me invisible like LGBTQ people thus out of services that I can enjoy. Where as my friend’s Hijab reders her visible and makes her vulnerable to discrimination. My caste status accords me no justifications and I walk through places, where as there are many who could not even make it to school due to their caste status. Then there is my class status that facilitated my entry to not so best schools.

      Within the majority will be many minorities- gays, low income people, abused women and so on…

      So every time DG pens something she has to consider her privilege before she can write about her oppression or someone else’s.

      Within feminsim it self there are privileged dominance and under representations of alternative voices. In Indian feminist discources minority voices were rare and often appropriated. Here is a very good text on it
      http://books.google.ca/books?id=Msaki69NQHsC&pg=PA235&lpg=PA235&dq=We+also+made+history+Dalit+women&source=bl&ots=PX-Crxp5Q7&sig=yl2m3bmO1Jboyr0aW0PjDIZBP5Y&hl=en&ei=z9CQTZjiFdDesga32cX5CQ&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=10&sqi=2&ved=0CFQQ6AEwCQ#v=onepage&q=We%20also%20made%20history%20Dalit%20women&f=false
      Few months ago someone had asked here in this forum why only the freedom fighters of North India in the histry text books and not those from other parts of the country. Just because they wrote the history and did not care about including those on the margins where as they too were fighting the Raj.
      http://swb.co.in/store/book/we-also-made-history

      @IHM,
      It is not just caste in India there are many intersectionalities each one of us traverses at one time, some accord us privilege and some oppress us. In total our intersectionalities shape our world view and make us who we are. For eg. DG has the privileges of caste, class, education, etc. and she is more privilaged than millions of men and women in her country but at the same time she is oppressed in relation to men in her own social strata and even to many women for matter of fact. Middle class desi women are better off than lower class women and men but a lower class men still has an option to ask for an ALTO car.
      http://www.ndtv.com/news/cities/delhi-grooms-mother-held-over-dowry-demand-27828.php

      Intersectionality is a complex concept and it requires constant introsepection and self monitoring.

      Peace,
      Desi Girl

      Like

  4. Problem with feminism is, it gives you the option to carve your own definition of it and that, is it’s principle flaw. Courtney Martin may say that feminism is not about misandry. But renowned feminists like Taslima Nasreen are actually hardcore misandrists. I am not a feminist, nor am I an anti-feminist.

    Like

    • The best answer ever was by Anne Zaidi, she said whichever way you defined it, she was it. That’s what I too would like to say.
      Saying some women or men see feminism as male-bashing is one way to put a feminist on defensive.

      Does Taslima Nasreen say she is a misandrist? I have read Lajja and some of her other writing… I didn’t get this feeling at all.

      Like

      • I used to be a hardcore feminist once. After studying feminism, I have a lot of issues with it.

        I don’t think I need to call myself a feminist in order to have views like “Rape is wrong” or that “Women should have equal pay”. Those views are the right ones. Everyone should have these views because they are just. As human beings, we condemn murder of innocent people and children, do we give a label to ourself for having such a view? Then why do we need this ‘feminist’ label in order to have a view that “men and women are equal”?

        Like

    • Misandry is a reflection of how misogynist some can be. It is hurled at any woman who resists the status quo or speaks against it.

      Reactions against and perception of Taslima Nasreen as a misandrist is a reflection of that. It is used to insult women who dare and to make them look stupid so that nobody actually gets to think about the issues they are raising or looks at the analysis in their arguments.

      Like

      • FYI, I don’t perceive Nasreen as a misandrist. She is one. One of her tweets on March 20th 2011 prove that. I went back on her timeline today for proof and she has conveniently deleted it. I don’t have proof, but I know I am right. And I don’t think Taslima Nasreen is stupid. She is an acclaimed writer and I will read her works someday. This is another problem with feminism, if one person raises a voice against it, that person is immediately perceived as an anti-feminist.

        Like

        • You must read Lajja, it’s a book against communalism, violence and exploitation of minorities. I loved it. Let me try and find a link with an article she wrote – it’s available online and it’s against religious extremism. Her writings made me see her as a tolerant, compassionate, very observant and very intelligent, courageous and peace loving person.

          Like

      • I will read Lajja. 🙂 Regardless of whether I’m a feminist or not, I am certainly interested in feminist philosophy.

        Me – Lajja is about atrocities against minorities in Bangladesh, I found it very informative and agreed with her about people being seen as citizens before they are seen as followers of their faiths.

        But seriously, if you just read her timeline on twitter, these are the things she talks about: Rape. And rape. And rape. And RAPE. Only rape. She must have gone through so many things in life which I may never understand or have the courage even to go through.
        Me – She had to leave her country because she wrote for minorities rights, she did not write for or against any religion, but somehow some religious fundamentalists were offended.
        We need not go though something to see a wrong as wrong. In fact a mature outlook would mean we can objectively see a wrong as wrong, no matter how little it directly concerns us. She does that.

        I’ll humbly admit that. But frankly, she makes me feel sad and cursed and unfortunate that I am a woman. That I am female and I hate that feeling because I love being a woman.
        Me – We don’t even want to think about something sad and unfortunate, but there are millions of women going through these as a fact of their lives.

        You get the kind of feeling when you read Sylvia Plath. A really pathetic victimized feeling.

        I think, if a person feels victimized being a woman and calls herself a feminist, isn’t that a mark of failure of feminism itself?

        Me – Being a feminist simply means one believes in equality for all – it does not mean one can’t be victimised, it does mean one wants to fight back.

        Like

      • @Bharathee Subramanian,

        Tasleema, talks about Rape, Rape… so what is wrong about it? Shouldn’t it be her choice what she wants to talk about. Desi Girl has three specializations but she only talks about Intimate Partner Violence and Violence Against Women because that is what she considers is important to her.
        If she said, ““All men are not rapists because all of them didn’t get the chance.”
        Then it is not far from truth because studies have established it. A landmark study by Malmuth paved way for more studies in future where men admitted they would rape a woman or use force to get sex if they were sure of not being caught. http://www.ss​cnet.ucla.edu/comm/m​alamuth/pdf/84PSA_C1​.pdf

        You have studied feminism? No one defines my feminism. Yes alternative voices are either appropriated or are hushed up but they still exist. It did happen to Madhu Kishwar so nothing new, it happened to DG too but she hasn’t given upon the cause. She may have problem with how some feminists may be doing feminism but she doesn’t have iota of doubt about what feminism stands for. Had it not been for feminism, DG wouldn’t be typing this response coz’ no one went to college in her village especially women.

        Peace,
        Desi Girl

        Like

    • Taslima Nasrin is not a misandrist. She is an atheist and a feminist, which means she is doubly bashed for her beliefs. She speaks against the treatment religion metes out to women, AND how men take advantage of it. That does not make her a man-hater. It simply means she talks hard reality.

      Me – I agree.

      Like

      • Yeah.

        And she said, “All men are not rapists because all of them didn’t get the chance.” Now I remember exactly what she said on Twitter. I don’t have proof, as I said before. I don’t call people misandrists without reason. I have *studied* feminism.

        All that said, I agree with her on the religion part. Religion, in my opinion, is nothing but institutionalized politics. All mainstream religions, by default, are anti-female. Though I’m not an atheist.

        Like

  5. Over two decades of engagement with the issues of rights, including women’s rights, and I still meet women and men who question why women and men should be treated equal. Increasingly I meet with women – mid to young who are embarassed by the term ‘feminist’ or who believe equal opportunities have been achieved and if women are not there, it is their own fault.
    All such young and mid age women come from a particular background where they did not have to struggle for an education, marketable skill, or freedom to be able to do things. My daughter cannot understand why I argue or fight because she never had to build an argument and never had to fight for existence. Consciousness raising needs to go on, especially among this category.

    Like

    • Here I am, a male commentator!
      I will try to be here as often as I can.

      I like feminism, and masculinism too.
      Can’t we just have “Humanism” instead?
      Simplifies matters.

      Regards
      GV

      Like

      • GV, unfortunately although ‘feminism’ includes human rights (women are 50% of human population after all, if nothing else), ‘Humanism’ did not include women’s rights because nobody would believe that women even have any problems in the present system. When there was no problem, when women were content to be taken care of (instead of becoming independent) what did they need equality for?
        Even today a lot of people, including women, feel there is no need for feminism, and that women’s problems are ‘trivial domestic matters’.
        Even today a majority blames the woman for domestic violence, rape or sexual harassment, women are blamed for giving birth to daughters, and it is taken for granted that they will get married and move to their husband’s house.
        Violence against women was not taken seriously, the reservation against them was also not taken seriously until women in the West struggled as Feminists to create awareness and I can so relate to “Admitting the problem is half the battle’. This applies in India of today, where I have just read a woman say, exploitation of the weak is ‘natural’.

        Women are unhappy but they accept injustice as a part of their existence and expect other women to do the same – so we do need a name for this struggle by some people to specifically address the issues that women across classes, religions, countries, races, castes etc face. Women are actually told, no matter how educated you may be, once you are married, it will all be the same.

        Like

      • @Vishwanath,

        “Humanism” has meant different things in different times. It is not exactly a recent idea. And most of the humanists from Socrates 2500 years ago to Thomas More 500 years ago conveniently leave women out of their purview of philosophy. None of them ever considered women to have independent rights and needs. Thus, the development of humanism over the years never took women’s rights into consideration. So, feminism was required, and is required. Why do you seem so uncomfortable with the idea?

        Like

  6. If feminism represents a ”Humanizing force” … i am a part of it …
    but it is still uncomfortable claiming feminism for me in the real world for the fear of being misunderstood , labeled and stereotyped… and that inhibits the ways it should work in our country …

    Online ‘conciseness raising’ is much more powerful than the real world , because those who are reading and being influenced here will be much more instrumental in changing the winds…

    And what i have been calling… ‘making the right kind of noise’ ..is actually ‘conciseness raising’ … learnt a new term today 🙂 Thank you for this video , i have been waiting for this…

    Like

    • I understand the fear of being stereotyped and labelled. I feel the very purpose of labelling is to discourage. Like we call a man who shows respect to his wife a JKG, Joru Ka Gulaam.
      I was amazed when I read what the term meant – ‘consciousness raising’ isn’t that exactly what so many of us are doing on our blogs!!

      Like

      • A big word for awareness raising?
        “Intersectionality” is another big word I couldn’t understand.

        I would have preferred something simpler and more direct.

        The video was othewise good to watch.
        Regards
        GV

        Like

        • It was a new word for me too, just like ‘Consciousness Raising’ – I think that was what they called that movement of creating awareness in the US in those days. I feel we are doing that on our blogs with these discussions! I congratulate you for reading and joining and being a part of this ‘awareness raising’ as you call it 🙂

          I will write a post about ‘Intersectionality’ after reading a little more about it – yes it is a long, complicated sounding word – but it has powerful implications and impact.

          Like

      • Consciousness Raising is basically breaking the isolation about an oppressive issue. In 1960-70s women in the US came together and started talking how they are being abused by their spouses and when they spoke they realized they were not alone a greater number of them were being abused and had no means of getting out as they lack resources and support system. Thus became personal is political.

        Spousal abuse was treated as family matter just because it is a family matter so couple needs to sort it out and state does not need to do anything about it was the policy opinion. When women came out in the open with their stories and asked for state accountability to protect its voting and tax paying members there after a long battle came the laws against domestic violence.

        In India feminist consciousness raising was high in late 1970s-80 that brought about people’s protests againt price rise and then dowry deaths. It was women marching in the streets that led to change in laws. Please refer Radha Kumar’s History of Doing. DG has given the link in previous posts.

        Breaking the isolation and denouncing the taboo (shame) related to an issue is what Consciousness Raising is all about.
        And the tag line is please share this message of hope with anyone who may benefit 🙂

        Peace,
        Desi Girl

        me – Thank You DG.

        Like

  7. Me too! And am proud to call myself one.
    Am sick of women who are embarrassed to call themselves one.
    I have been accused quite a few times of turning every issue into a gender issue.
    And as I have commented earlier, its not about hating men, I have some wonderful men in my life. Feminism is about being treated equally, its my awareness about my rights as a woman, a human being! Why should I accept second citizenship? Its similar to the fight against racism, if racists are looked down upon, so should people who don’t treat women equally.

    Me – Yes, men like Courtney Martin’s dad are feminists we have in our families too…

    Like

  8. Yes, I am a feminist, hardcore, to the point of idealism. I know in reality women are far below than equality. But I will prefer die dreaming of equal world than to live accepting those unequal rights.
    I hate the urban and rural social system where women’s child bearing and child rearing days(a job which no one else can do) are equated to lower payments, less qualifications, less pension and consequently less respect.

    Like

  9. Yes, am a proud feminist. We need to have this concept even to say things like ‘rape is wrong’ because it gives a voice to the fact that women are often not given a voice and need to be at whatever cost. Which is why humanism can be subsumed into feminism….if it is only about being human, then humanists are welcome to call themselves feminist and it sorts out the whole man-hating/bashing debate for once and for all. Feminists need not only be women.

    Also like the point about dissent to feminism being labeled as anti-feminism. Every concept, community or idea needs dissent and questioning to get stronger. So rather than try to debate a dissenting viewpoint, it makes sense to understand and course correct to strengthen, in my rather strident (and often dissenting) opinion.

    Like

  10. Yes, I am a feminist too.
    And I have seen people twisting the term to put me on a guilt trip.
    My own boyfriend does that.
    I am a 24 year old girl who did not have to struggle much to get a good education, independence, etc. But I think I still realize the extent of inequality because I have seen my mom suffer all her life. Unfortunately, my dad is a chauvinist and I have not been able to do anything about it. My mom is the most courageous woman I have seen because she ensured that all her daughters are independent.

    P.S. I love your blog!

    Like

  11. I love your blog and make it a point to read every post on my feedreader, so I don’t end up commenting, but I need to mention something here:
    Courtney Martin and the rest of the gang -Jessica Valenti, etc. – on Feministing (and sometimes even the bloggers on Feministe) have made it a matter of honor to fly the flag of intersectionality for a while now. While as a minority and as a woman I totally understand the importance of dealing with all inequities, I have some serious issues with the prioritization that these women and men have attributes. For them, intersectionality is just an excuse to avoid any real discussion of women’s rights – it’s ‘uncool’ for them to be strident feminists, and they’re even more vicious in their attacks on traditional feminists than chauvinists are. They deride women who don’t wear make-up or older women who, in their opinion, act too ‘mannish’ or too ‘aggressive’ in order to fit in with the business or political worlds.

    See this Awesome article by the great Dr. Violet Socks about third-generational feminists, who’re really anything but feminists:
    http://www.reclusiveleftist.com/2010/11/05/feminism-is-no-longer-about-sexism-at-all/

    Almost all of their feminism seems to be limited to ‘I have the right to wear sexy clothes and make-up and still call myself a feminist’ – which is a good thing to fight for, but not the only thing. For instance, in the recent Texas case where 18 African American men aged 15-27 years gang-raped an 11 year old girl, ALL of their discussions have been about how to avoid stereotyping African American men as rapists, not one about the systemic use of violence on pre-teens or the slut-shaming that the little girl is going through. Their biggest gripe during the 2008 presidential primaries was that Hillary Clinton was being a ‘revolting bitch’ by not giving up, that she was still fighting with Obama, that she was too aggressive, that she ‘felt she had to wear suits and become a man to compete’ – while swooning at the idea that Obama was being so sensitive and in touch with his feminine side. They were totally enthused by the idea of a black man being President but seemed to have no pride in a woman striving for the same position.

    Like

  12. Yes I am a feminist. If others take to mean male-bashing that is their fault, not my problem.

    Most men are not ashamed of being called mens rights activists (MRAs) or MCPs even when they defend anti-woman stances (protect the women, the joint family is a noble institution, women should raise children, women cannot make decisions regarding their bodies and so on).

    I think the very fact that women feel the need to qualify and define what they believe in as being all-encompassing and not specifically benefiting them- the speed with which they start jumping to a more benign term like “humanist” in order to defend being for equal rights reveals just how well the rest of society has succeeded in telling them that their trying to be equal is wrong in some way. How much time we spend defending the fact that we would like to be treated like human beings? And how much do we women want the rest of the world to accept it- seriously can we not stand up to ourselves, and not mind the noise when they call us self serving for wanting to be ourselves? Does their opinion really matter so much?

    Like

    • “Yes I am a feminist. If others take to mean male-bashing that is their fault, not my problem.”

      This is exactly what I said in my post too.
      Kudos Allytude. Your comment reflects my own feelings.

      Like

  13. Very nicely written. And I agree, it is even small acts of raising consciousness that make on a feminist. In our country especially, I think every little act, blog, voice- anything that can make a difference.
    Umm, there is a small typo in your last line. It is Men “versus” women and not verses (which means poetry).

    Me – Thanks let me correct the error 🙂 And I agree, every little voice, act, blog counts!

    Like

    • Talking of conscious raising, the LIC ads on tv these days are fantastic. They show different types of independent and confident women, who are secure about their and their children’s future because they have insurance products. Another ad makes fun of a young man who wants to find a wife who works for the additional income and help with savings. His young nephew tells him he can achieve all this with an insurance product. He should instead look for a wife who will love him. Hats off to LIC and the ad agency responsible.

      Like

  14. Since I was born 🙂 But many a times, I actually hate Men in general, for the treatment they have been doling out to women . And I wonder how I must have contributed to it . 😦 Feminism for me , is the way, as a human, as a liberal, as a seeker of balance, and last but definitely not the least, as a worshipper of Shakti .

    Like

  15. yup! I am a feminist have been proud to be one and in fact have no issues saying it out loud either!
    Of course, it brings in the sniggers, which get a sharp retort back.. some have listened and agreed to what exactly it means to be a feminist!

    And the worst comment I ever got – But, you are married to a man! How can you be a feminist?!!!
    🙄

    Explaining to such people is where the difficulty lies – getting thru their thick skulls as to what exactlt feminism means is the challenge…

    Like

  16. Yes! And I love some of the comments above especially yours about why ‘humanism’, as someone pointed out above, the more benign term will not suffice. I’ve posted about why I’m sick of women disowning the term feminism – especially when it is such an open term, leaving space for differing views – here (http://itsacharade.blogspot.com/2010/08/i-am-not-feminist.html) I think it’s particularly cowardly to avoid calling oneself a feminist (while enjoying all the benefits the movement fought for) for fear of being stereotyped as man-hating. Why care so much what stupid people think? And how about reclaiming the label for oneself by declaring that as a completely normal, maybe-married, maybe-homemaker, non-manhating person one is still a feminist.

    Like

  17. I think feminist is a very misunderstood term. Often mistook for male bashing or a woman who hates all men…I am a feminist…I want my rights and I will stand for them..I will ensure my daughter is a feminist…I will bring her up to stand for her rights, to demand them and not to bow before anyone who is unreasonable….at the end, feminism is all about equality in EVERY sense between the male and female 🙂

    Like

  18. Yes. I am a feminist. To me it is about RIGHTS. Anybody who supports women’s rights – to education, good health care, political rights, economic rights, a life free from violence and exploitation – is a feminist. And that’s the bottom line for me.

    Like

  19. Yes, I am a feminist, and I am very proud to be one. It took me a long time to realise I was a feminist (partly because, like many others around me, I misunderstood the meaning of being a feminist); but once I acknowledged that I was a feminist, I learnt so much about feminist issues, learnt to look at so many things we take fir granted from a completely different perspective, its really opened my eyes and I’m so much more aware and active now.

    It’s very unfortunate that feminism is such a pejorative term though. Some of my close friends sometimes tease me about my feminism by chanting “burn burn burn” and I still struggle to explain to them how feminism is so much more than that. Ironically, these two friends of mine are feminist to a large extent, in their thinking and attitudes, but they themselves don’t realise it

    Like

  20. I think I have come closest to experiencing equality in every way, literally! The coincidence is quite funny but I can’t help but notice it. My to-be-husband and I are:
    *Equal in height
    *Equal in weight
    *Share the same Birthday
    *Same qualification (though from diff colleges)
    *Working for the same industry
    etc. At the same time, the growth in the relationship has been tremendous. We often encourage each other to try new things, motivate when feeling low, agree to disagree and enjoy each other’s company.
    I love the way he treats our mothers and my younger sister. Being the only son and raised by an aged mother, its heartening to see this young man offering to carry my bag, willing to split the bill, readily agreeing to fund his savings for an intimate vacation, wanting me to spend time with my friends, making the yummiest tea, has never forced sex, is willing to shift cities so I could pursue my passion for photography and many more.
    I think he is a feminist.

    Like

  21. I am not a feminist as the word is generally played out to be, and wouldn’t want to be referred to one either. I support equality where it is due, as well as where it is justified.

    But w.r.t equality between men and women, men and women are basically different, and i do not believe blind equality is justified.

    Like

    • Equality means, both have equal right to justice, opportunities to live happy fulfilling lives etc.
      Equality does not mean they need be someone they are not. It also does not mean they need to fit into Gender or any other Stereotypes, it lets them be themselves.
      So equality does mean men can enjoy their babies and women can love their careers, it also means women can like flat soled shoes and hate shopping, and men can hate football and beer.

      What is blind-equality? Where is equality due and where is it not?

      Like

      • consider this :::

        #1 : i demand the same project opportunities at work as my male counter parts… in terms od promotions, pay etc. But i refuse to stay long hours (assuming the long hours are required to finish off the work as is the case many a time) as i do not want to get back alone (a matter of my safety). then, definitely, i am not justified in asking for equal benefits.

        #2 : we have seats reserved for women in the govt buses. women uses these seats as well as the seats for men (seats not labelled as ‘for women’). And women can ask men sitting in these seats to get up. But, a man cannot ask a woman sitting in a seat not labelled as “for women” to get up. Isnt that unfair???

        Like

        • Me – Let me blog about why this is as fair as maternity leave. In brief you did not ask for the nights and roads and your safety from molestation and sexual harassment in crowded to be reserved for men. Safety should not be a luxury or a privilege.
          Since men have been working for longer, it has become a norm to have most facilities based on their comforts – so when this changes, it looks like women are being given special privileges.

          Like

  22. regarding your reply about :::

    it might seem fair to us as women, but it is not really fair for an institution. If you refuse to work late at office, be ready to work from home. But a lot of women do not do that as they cite family responsibilities. Men too have responsibilities, but they manage too.

    Second, if a lady goes on maternity leave, it is because she (and her family) chose to have kids. fine. That does not mean the company/office/institution has to bear the cost for her leave. If a company is willing to grant her leave with pay, it is just the benefits the company provides, and not a right. Tomorrow, anyone can start citing reasons for leave with pay etc … a man can ask for extended leave with pay coz he has to teach his kids for their exams etc.

    I am vocal about it coz it is unfair on a team & I have seen the disadvantages having as team mates women who demand more, but refuse to work as much coz of safety reasons, or who get pregnant and hence refuse to work as much as before.

    Like

  23. Feminism is the radical idea that women are people too. Heh.

    As a male, I have no problems describing myself as a feminist. A lot of people do think that feminism involves an element of misandry. Well, MY feminism does not.

    I believe in equal opportunities and if, in order to create equal opportunities, we have to grant certain privileges to women taking cognizance of biological facts, then so be it.

    Cheers, m’lady.

    Like

Leave a Reply

