Please pray for my daughter’s life.

My daughter is in ICU. She had fever on thursday evening, and on Friday morning it was diagnosed as Dengue. She was admitted in hospital on Saturday, and by Monday her platelet count fell from 218, to 211, to 153 to 22 thousand. (Normal is 150000 to 450ooo)

She received two platelet transfusions and today her platelet count is stable at 43000  – very low but not falling any lower again. But her lungs are half filled with fluid, kidney, lever, pancreas and gall bladder are affected. She is on catheter and respirator and is being fed through IV.

Last night was the worst – I watched her suffer acute pain till 5 30 am, after which it was found the pain was due to inflamed pancrease and she was given a safe pain killer. But although she is alert and positive,  – she looks drained – her eyes are puffy, her face has a bluish grey tinge , her abdomen is four times it’s usual size and she feels the catheter is uncomfortable, and being breathless makes talking very difficult for her.

The doctor said yesterday to ‘Wait and watch’  – today they are saying ” She is very sick.” I am very scared.

Yesterday in pain she told the doctor, “It should be like this, this pain is really unbearable it should be shared between children and parents.”  And the doctor said, “If that was possible, no child would ever suffer any pain.” I have never felt so helpless in my life, it all depends on how fast the viral lasts – generally not more than 8 days, but still there is fluid in her body, all caplillaries are leaking (because her blood has become very thin)… once the dengue fever goes – the fluid will be absorbed, the dehydration will end, she will start feeling comfortable..

299 thoughts on “Please pray for my daughter’s life.

  1. Hello,

    Please do not worry. I hope your daughter gets well soon. Prayers will help her get better. You have to keep calm and give her the strength to get well.
    Take care

    Like

  2. Sorry to know about your daughter’s health condition. I pray for her speedy recovery and keep faith in God, he will take care in the form of doctor attending on her.
    Dengue is spreading its fang all over the country and there is greater need of awareness to fight it out.

    Like

  3. I will definitely pray and I am sure she will be fine soon. God always listens to my prayers.
    I can understand the pain you are going through, the pain that your child suffers is the worst pain possible.

    Like

  4. that sounds scary! i can well imagine the distress and sense of frustration for not having any control on the way the body responds. my best wishes for a swift coming back to normalcy and courage to you to help you watch her in pain.

    my daughter in spite of all the standard precautions contracted swine flu and though she responded very quickly to medication and fever left her in 2 days ( had a long quarantine period though)….i went crazy with worry starting first by blasting the school authorities for not informing in time about the first case in her class and then seeing my daughter’s bloodshot eyes with high fever. the first case kid and my mine are very good friends now…..swine flu binds apparently!!

    Like

  5. IHM,

    This is really very depressing news 😦 I can’t even begin to imagine even how horrible you and your family must be feeling now. However, considering that she has an awesome mom like you, I am sure she has the courage to fight back and successfully come out of this difficult phase.

    Please do keep us posted.

    Like

  6. That is shocking. I was wondering where you have gone. My prayers are with you IHM. Sending loads of good vibes for your daughter. Don’t worry things will come by. Take Care.

    Like

  7. May God give her & your family all the strength to fight it out! She will be fine. Will keep your daughter in my prayers.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Pls pray for IHM’s daughter « Things do not change…until we change!

  9. IHM,

    Totally stunned to read this…..Will be keeping you in my prayers everyday. Your daughter is a brave girl, and she will fight this out. Keep the faith. Dont worry, things will be OK. Wish there was some way I could come and help you ….

    Like

  10. Hey IHM,
    You got be brave here and strong. Your daughter is fighting it out and give her all your strength.
    Our prayers are with you and your family.
    Things will be better soon. Trust in this.

    Love to you and your family,
    Naveen

    Like

  11. IH–I am so sorry to hear that your daughter is so ill! I wish you and your family the best of luck. If your daughter is anything like you, she has a strong spirit. This force of will is very important in times of severe illness. Tell her about the many people around the world who are thinking of her, and know she is strong enough to come through this.

    Like

  12. Dear IHM,
    We all are praying for your daughter. The power of prayers can do wonders and I am sanguine that she will be ‘fit as a fiddle’ in a few days.
    Adios.

    Like

  13. I pray for her and send all positive healing vies towards her IHM. I wish I knew where she was so someone could do healing for her , it helps. Also at times homeopathic med helps along with other medicine.Alternate healing helps IHM. May she get well soon . Stay strong dear one God will give her strength and soon she will be fine. Our prayers are with all of you esp for her.
    hugs

    Like

  14. IHM, she’ll pull it through. And u have all our prayers going strong till you return and ket us know that all is well…

    tight hugs!

    I wish i could do more…. but will pray every day till further news from you.

    Take care of urself too IHM… love you.

    Like

  15. Oh my God!! I hope she gets well soon.
    I am a silent reader who never comments on your blog.
    Your daughter is very lucky to have you as her mom and I wish that she she comes home soon..

    Like

  16. I am shocked, IHM! I am crying too…when I read the title, I never thought this is real. My husband also is here with me. Both of us will go and light the diyas and pray for her now. God help her to come out of this,

    Take care, IHM.

    Like

  17. hold her,touch her and she will be good.i will add her name in my prayers tonight,i promise.be brave and she will recover soon.love to her and loads of strength and hugs to you.

    Like

  18. Oh IHM, all my prayers are with you and your daughter and your family. she will get well soon, children have an amazing resilience and will pull through. All the best.

    Like

  19. Hey,
    hope your daughter recovers soon.
    I have come across too many Dengue cases in last few days.
    Some serious action needs to be taken to prevent Dengue from spreading.
    If you are in Bangalore and if I can be of ANY help, i am reachable at 9886229869

    Like

  20. I’m really so sad reading this as i have two kids myself and i can relate to your worries… don’t worry she will be fine soon. God is great and i will remember her in my prayers… take care of yourself.

    Like

  21. Hi,
    I always ready your blog, but never comment. But today is different. Your daughter and you will be in my proayers.

    Be strong !

    Like

  22. Very sorry to hear about your daughter. Its unbearable for a parent to see their child like this. I hope things will get better soon.

    I will keep her in my prayers. Wishing you the strength to cope.

    ps: I found your blog yesterday and got hooked. Good to see a voice so strong.

    Like

  23. what??? OMG!!!! You and your family will be in my prayers, IHM. Sending you loads of hugs and prayers for a speedy recovery. I hope she`s doing a little better today.

    Like

  24. Hi,
    Your daughter is suffering from a severe form of Dengue Hemorrhagic Fever. With proper management ( iv fluids, oxygen, platelet transfusion if count goes below 20,000), in an experienced center, mortality is only 1 %. She will start recovering in 2 0r 3 days. If she is less than 12 years old, recovery will be slower. I sincerely believe that nothing bad happens to good people. So she will recover.
    The mosquito that did this to your daughter resides in fresh water in water jars, vases, discarded containers, coconut husks and old tires. And this nutty mosquito bites during the day. So after your daughter has recovered, hunt for possible mosquito locations and have your revenge.
    Take care.

    Like

  25. My prayers are with your little princess IHM and she woudl be in my thoughts.As I sing a lullaby for my 8 year old, I would pray that you shall do the same in the snug comfort of your home for your angel very soon once she’s home hale and hearty from the hospital. Amen .

    Gee.

    Like

  26. Dear IHM,

    I read your blog regularly but never posted a comment. I pray for your daughters well being and fast recovery. Don’t worry she will soon feel better.

    Regards,

    Ruchi

    Like

  27. Dear IHM,never commented on your blog before but I had to on this one.I too had dengue last year in November and I too was very very sick.My platelet count had fallen to a meager 9000.I am still taking steroids because of its late sequele of thrombocytopenia but I survived and am doing very good now.I sincerely pray for your daughter,I hope she gets well soon.Take care.
    Love,prayers and regards

    Like

  28. Oh My God! My prayers are with your daughter, IHM. Hope she gets well really soon and is not in pain anymore. This post is heartbreaking. Hugs. Stay strong and think positive.

    Like

  29. Omygod! I cannot imagine the pain you must be going thru this very minute. I don’t comment often but I do read you every single time you post.

    My prayers your way this very second.

    I’m guessing you live in B’bay and if you need any kind of assistance, any kind at all,( even if it’s just someone to spend the night in the hospital waiting room or fetch you something) let me know. I have a sister there and she would be very glad to be with you any time of day or night.

    Alternatively, if you need something that would help her and it is available here in the U.S. where I live say the word. I will get it to you somehow in time.

    Like

  30. Hang in there. If there’s anyone we’ve known to hold it together in tough times, it’s you. Glad the platelet count is stable. We all have you in our prayers.

    Like

  31. IHM, I will pray for your daughter tonight and I wish she gets better soon. You also take care of yourself as you have to take care of your daughter.

    Like

  32. Sending your daughter’s way plenty of get well soon wishes. She’ll be alright very soon, IHM. Your family’s in my thoughts..

    Like

  33. Pingback: Tweets that mention Please pray for my daughter’s life. « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker -- Topsy.com

  34. IHM,
    My prayers are with you.Maythe Good Lord remove the sufferings of your daughter at the earliest and HE WILL!!! Be strong, , onlythen, you can be supportive to your daughter who is much in need of it. Dont worry. She will be fine, hale and healthy very very very soon..

    Like

  35. My prayers are with you…Both I and my son suffered from Dengue in 2006. We pulled through…don’t lose heart, be strong, she’ll derive that strength from you; she needs it!

    Like

  36. I will defntly pray for your daughter…Meanwhile you too make prayers to Tirupati Lord Balaji and promise to visit Tirupati after her recovery!!!

    Give more confidence to your daughter…talk to her happily…shower you love to her…She will be Alright soon.

    Like

  37. IHM, My prayers are with you. She will be fine and i will be waiting for the post which syas she is fine and doing great. Take Care. God is there.

    Like

  38. praying to god to give you all the strength to battle this disease and wish your daughter a speedy recovery. My aunt and cousin both had dengue some 3-4 months back with platelets dropping below 20000. but they both recovered with medication. i am not sure if they had fluid collection. but dont worry . im sure the doctors are doing their best, rest leave it to god. also once she recovers, be very careful as terrible weakness wil be there. take care.

    Like

  39. Oh Lord, IHM I am truly praying with all my heart that your daughter recovers ASAP.
    For a whole mnt I couldn’t believe the title. And as I read ahead I feel your pain in every word. I don’t thnk any mother can take the sight of her child suffering..

    GOD!!! I truly, madly, deeply pray that your daughter is in the pink of health ASAP…

    Like

  40. I am praying for your daughter…now and till she’s well. Dont you worry. She’ll be fine.

    If the parents can take the pain of their children, no child will suffer – how true and exactly what every parent feels at this situation.

    Lots of healing thoughts sent your daughter’s way….

    You be strong in front of her…that’ll give her the strength to fight with more will power.

    Hugs and take care. Prayers are on…she’ll be fine.

    If possible, keep us posted on her healing status.

    Like

  41. Praying.

    Don’t worry, your baby will be fine. Being a mother myself, I understand just how tough it is to see your child suffering. Have faith and patience…this too shall pass away. And within no time you will have your darling back on her feet, jumping and running all around your home.

    Like

  42. Dear IHM, I hope you receive the strength you need to cope, and be there for your daughter. Although we’ve never met, I feel sad as if it were someone close to me. Wish your daughter a speedy recovery and hoping that the pain recedes quickly and her internals improve.

    Like

  43. Omg!!! 😐 Hugs…IHM…
    I really dont know what to say. Pls take care of urself IHM…and keep ur strength. You have a strong daughter…she will surely come out of it unscathed and completely back in her element. Prayers and good wishes are always with you…
    In case you want to talk I am right here…just drop me a line.

    We’ll be awaiting updates from you on this…

    Like

  44. It is easy to say this but please stay calm. There is god above everything and he has all our prayers in queue. But please take care of yourself and your daughter. She will be fine soon and will be back home. I still have the question as to why god created these mosquitoes? They can be so harmful.

    Like

  45. I am regular visitor here IHM. But have not commented before. My prayers are with you and your daughter. May god give you the strength to take you through this tough period.

    Like

  46. omg, i’m so sorry to hear that.
    last year, my best friend suferred from a serious case of dengue, too. but she recovered from it and is as good as new, now.
    i’m sure your daughter will recover, too. have faith. be strong.

    Like

  47. May God give her all the strength to deal with it. Being the mother of a three year old myself – who had surgery at the age of six months – I know how tough it can get. May God give you the strength to be brave for her…

    Sandhya

    Like

  48. All my prayers are with her and am sure she will recover soon 🙂

    A colleague of mine and her hubby went thru the same thing and are now recovered!! So please keep up the hope and she will be fine!

    Like

  49. OMG, just came here through Blogadda’s tweet! Hope she recovers soon and I’m sure she will, for all our prayers are with you and her. Wish her a very speedy recovery. Do update us once she is fine. You too take care and have faith.

    Like

  50. Oh! this has brought a lump of grief in the throat.
    Was kind of missing your perky posts on indivine and went to check what’s up.
    Couldn’t have been more shocked.
    Why?How?
    खुदा तुम्हारा सुकून औ चैन लौटा दे
    तुम्हारी नन्ही कली का दर्द ले मुस्कराहट ला दे .

    Sending prayers, wishes and hugs.

    Like

  51. She’ll be fine. WHen all of us a re praying for her and wishing for the same thing, “the whole world will conspire to make it happen”.
    All my love and support. Wish we could all physically be with you now.
    She’ll be alright soon!

    Like

  52. Pls pls stay calm and keep ur faith in God! My dearest IHM, this too shall pass-just have the faith and strength and belief that it will! I am going to pray for ur dawter right niw! You just stay positive and strong! Remember all our prayers are with her, and she will soon be fine! Insha Allah!

    Like

  53. Heard it on the grapevine. I do hope she’s doing a little better today. You guys are in my thoughts, OK? Lots of get well soon vibes to her. Poor kid.

    Like

  54. Pingback: When thoughts speak « The Song of Life

  55. This is terrible news IHM …… Be strong, god is with you and your family. My prayers are with you. Take care and lots of love

    Like

  56. Hi IHM, May god bless your daughter with long and healthy life , I am sure the prayers of each and everyone of us shall do wonders. Please please take care and God bless.
    rekha

    Like

  57. We sincerely hope that she gets well soon, and is on the road to a speedy recovery. So many good tidings, I am sure all will be alright. We are all God’s children.

    Om Sai Ram.

    Like

  58. Sorry to hear about this. Please hold on and she will b fine inshaallah. I remember my younger brother going through a very sever case of dengue last year. I will remember your daughter in my prayers IHM.
    Take care and keep the mosquitoes away from home and your surroundings.

    Like

  59. Dear IHM,

    I have read ur blogs for a long time but never felt the need to comment on them. However, today i do find a reason to leave a message. You know what sweety, u might be years older to me, i’m a little 21 for you.. but ur daughter be much closer to me, so i totally know her pain! I’ve been in a near-death situation and seen my close ones suffer day in and day out. Maybe consolation isn’t enough during such times, but things always work out in the end. There’s a heartfelt wish come out of my soul this moment for your daughter, and i know it will work! She’s gonna sit up and smile at you, and that moment will be the closest you feel to bliss!

    Lots of prayers and love, do post a pic of her when she’s fine.. she will be! 🙂
    And u need a *warm hug* Everything will be fine! 🙂

    ~Rhea.

    Like

  60. Hey IHM,Hang in there..We all are with you..and your daughter is there in my prayers..She will be fine very soon..Its just a tough time for you and family..No worries okay….

    God bless…

    Like

  61. I pray that she gets well soon my best wishes for the little one.. dont worry so many people praying God is great he will look after …

    I can understand your pain the worst thing a parent can go through when the child is in pain and you cant do anything and nothing seems to be in our hands ..
    GOD BLESS

    Like

  62. I was wondering why you weren’t online….will keep your daughter in my thoughts IHM. With so many of us praying for her, she’l be well soon

    Like

  63. All the best IHM…

    Speedy recovery to your daughter and messages being transfered to the good lord.

    My sis in law has also been diagnosed with dengue and is currently in hospital – thankfully her platelet count is stable as of now

    dont worry IHM…and be strong…Hugs

    Like

  64. IHM, Is she feeling better? Please let us know. You and your daughter have been in our prayers. Can’t stop thinking. Take care.

    Laksh.

    Like

  65. Hi IHM,

    It’s been a long time since I visited your blog. I chanced upon it after so many days to read that your daughter has been afflicted by Dengue. I felt very bad reading about her plight. She is one brave, tough girl.

    I feel you pain and fear. Don’t worry, everything will be all right and your daughter will recover soon! I will meditate for both of you.

    Like

  66. Pingback: A Prayer « Mytakeoneverything

  67. Oh no! I am so so sorry IHM, and I really really really hope she gets well soon.

    When I read this post, I was thinking it was just another post, and never could imagine it was for real.

    My Dad’s a doctor, IHM, and you know where to email me. Please do get in touch and I’ll try my best to help.

    Love and lots of best wishes, and a tight hug to your daughter!

    Like

  68. IHM all our prayers are with your daughter. she will be alright soon. take care of yourself too… i can understand as a mom how it feels and the pain… hugs and loads of love to her… stay strong…

    Like

  69. Pingback: When prayers have to work « Just Speaking My Mind

  70. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your daughter! Be brave – I know it is easier said than done. She will recover and will be fine. Take care. Will definitely pray for your family.

    Like

  71. My wife suffered from dengue in the 5 th month of her pregnancy. She was hospitalised for 10 days. But she battled back to normalcy. The baby was born 3 and half months ago and boy he is as healthy as the healthiest person on earth. So is my wife. Hope this helps to give you hope. May your daughter recover fast. God Bless

    Like

  72. We don’t know each other but I read about your daughter’s condition on shilpadesh’s blog.
    I pray from the bottom of my heart she recovers asap.
    Stay strong and eat healthy. Your daughter needs your support and all the energy more than ever.

    Like

  73. I am sorry to read about this. Your daughter and your family is in my Prayers. She will be alright, dont worry. there are so many people praying for her, all these prayers wont go unanswered.

    Like

  74. everybody’s prayers are with your family!

    i PRAY SHE GETS WELL AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!!!

    hug..

    give us the good news soon that’s getting better and better 🙂

    take care..be strong…never lose hope…all our prayers are with you and her

    Like

  75. Hey IHM,
    I am very sorry for your daughter. Its unfair for anyone to suffer so much. Hope she recovers soon and rebounds back all well. My prayers and wishes for your daughter. Take care.

    Like

  76. She is in my prayers. I won’t say dont worry but pls do have faith. May God give you and you daughter the strength to get through this. Pls do keep us updated. i know it;s not possible to write a blog at such a time but just a line to let us know how she is doing. Hugs to you and yr daughter.

    Like

  77. IHM just have faith and believe me this time next week your daughter will be sitting right next to and bringing in the sunshine with her smile…you are a wonderful person and people like will always stay blessed and protected by Him. Its a time to get strong and hold on to our believes, a time for the three of you to be together and remember one thing “this will also pass”

    you little girl is in my prayers and in everyone’s prayers, she will be doing perfect in a few days time.

    Like

  78. I can completey understand your state of helplessness as a mother, I hope, wish and pray that every thing will get fine soon. Lots of love to your daughter from me and my daughter.
    Please make a post as soon as she is better, we are eagerly waiting for that.

    Like

  79. Hang in there IHM!
    Hold her hand and keep talking positive,do not let your worries reach her.A strong will to fight back is what is going to see her through this.
    When she is better we all should start a campaign against municipalities for sleeping on job and letting malaria and dengue spread… 😦
    All my love and best wishes…

    Like

  80. Had tears in my eyes reading this…She will be allright. I will also pray for her. Hugs. This too shall pass and she will be happy and healthy once again. Good luck dear! Anything I can do to help other than send prayers and good vibes across the oceans? Let me know..

    Like

  81. Hi IHM,

    Hang in there , I am sure your brave daughter will get better soon.
    Sending positive vibes your way and praying for her recovery.
    Hugs and please take care.

    Like

  82. So disturbed to read this, IHM! I hope she has started getting better by now. I know how terrifying it is for a mother to watch her child very ill. Have faith, I’m sure she’s drawing strength from you. That’s why parents are created the way we are. Take care, you will not do her any good by ignoring your own health through worry over hers.
    Sending a lot of positive thoughts your way!

    Like

  83. I am so sorry to hear what you are going through. Wishing you and all your family all the strength needed to pull through this. Hoping for a speedy recovery.

    Like

  84. heyy i dont know if you will read this..but if u do..pls BELIEVE it! i had gone through a tough phase wit ma kid… ALL YOU NEED to do..is pray..with 100% faith..without a minute of doubt..and it works dear..it truly works! there were many DOCTORS who told me that ‘I WONT GET HIM’…and it is ‘faith’ tht brought him back to me!…. whichever faith u belong to…just put in ur 100% in believing..u arent helpless.. U have the POWER to transform things with ur sincere belief!

    Like

  85. Hi IHM, been reading your posts everyday but found it necessary to post a comment here – Have faith! God is with you!
    A friend’s son also had it and is now back home and healthy. Surely your daughter will get well soon and will be back home soon!
    Praying for your daughter’s health.

    Like

  86. LOTS and LOTS of LOVE, PRAYERS your way…

    Heard the News…

    There is nothing anyone of us can say, really.

    May God Give you and the Family, strength to live on…

    Tight {{{HUGS}}………

    * tears dont seem to stop. I donno what else to say. sorry. *

    Like

  87. Pingback: Indian Homemaker (IHM); Tejaswee Rao | Anjaanrahgir's Blog

  88. aunty she fought didn’t she? she fought to stay with us…she was so brave…and its so tough for me i dont know how bad it must be for u…please stay strong…i love u aunty…and she lives on in our hearts…

    Liked by 1 person

  89. Pingback: Last year, these days. « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  90. Pingback: “Grieving parents behave in a different manner. ” | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

