So who loves a rainy day?

Finally, the much awaited monsoon is here🙂

So all the windows are open and the birds are making a racket – some of which had disappeared these past few months!

Purple Sunbird, Delhi rains

And the regular visitors looked washed🙂


The green pigeons look greener🙄

Yellow footed Green Pigeons, Bird Photographs

And this bird caught a rain insect…

And nobody’s peeping into my window…

Sparrows won’t need to dip their tail in the water bowl….

Red vented Bulbuls won’t look so thirsty now.

And these Brahminy Starlings will no longer visit!

This is unlikely to happen now🙂

What’s this one called?

Updated on April 17, 2013: Brown Rock Chat or Indian Chat (Cercomela fusca)
Brown Rock Chat or Indian Chat (Cercomela fusca) drinking water, Delhi


I never got to learn this bird’s name either!😦

Updated: Rufous Treepie

Was this just three months ago?

Now neighbours will drop by for a bowl of sugar errr… bajra🙂

And then decide to sit in the bowl instead🙂

It does look like this is the end of the summer!!

79 thoughts on “So who loves a rainy day?

  1. Truly Refreshing IHM!! The joy of the monsoons captured so beautifully. I have always been in love with rains🙂 Loved this post n the pics!! Thanks for sharing!🙂

    Like

  2. Who loves ?? Me…Me…Me…am loving this season….

    IHM, these pics are fab – the contrast is interesting – just two months back, how they were feeding on water and food which u kept by the window – now looking all washed and flying everywhere – there is water everywhere now !!

    The squirrel is so damn cute in that bowl !!!🙂

    And special mention to that peeping tom !!!🙂 Lovely pictures and you are wonderful with ur camera !!!🙂

    Me – It’s amazing!! the city feels like it’s centrally air conditioned🙂 And everything clean🙂 The birds love it!

    Like

  3. Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow!Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow!

    I love this post!!!!

    You shud turn pro, if you arent already ie🙂🙂

    I took a few yest. at my parents’ home but forgot to take it from there😦

    Enjoy the rains!!!

    Me – Awww!! Thanks Usha 🙂 I am delighted to know you enjoyed them as much as I enjoyed first clicking and then going over them … I love these captured moments too🙂

    Like

  4. Wow… all your photos from the summer… lovely collage IHM!!! And the last pic.. priceless🙂
    Btw, I don’t quite like rains or snow as they sort of cripple life!!

    Me – I agree, a lot of people are inconvenienced by rains and snow…. guess I like thunder, rain and storms more because I don’t have to step out if don’t wish to…

    Like

  5. The lil guy with the bajra is SO CUTE!!! Fantastic pix IHM, really enjoyed this post…I bet the birds will sense a sympathetic soul (and superb photographer) and get attracted to near your window anyway even if they’re getting water elsewhere!!

    Like

  6. Aww…nice pics!

    BTW talking of loving the rain, i spent an hour today standing at a traffic intersection that was stuck in a stalemate with nobody going anywhere. Ended up covering 30 km in 3 hours!

    Like

  7. Amazing pics IHM.. the squirrel is very cute🙂

    Me – Yeah she resembles my cat … the way the ears go back while eating, I adore her🙂 She’s a mother with babies to nurse I think…

    Like

  8. Yippieeeeeeeee!!! The monsoons have hit Delhi..wow! I’m going to b there next week and this is so what I’ve been wanting to hear,IHM.

    Those are amazing captures,IHM…beautifully shot!!

    Like

    • You are coming at the right time Deeps🙂 There will be some humid days but monsoons are a great relief from the heat that burnt fingers when one touched a door handle or a railing …
      🙂

      Like

  9. Though I love the initial flush of rain, the phrase “rainy days and Mondays always get me down” suits me perfectly.

    I get depressed when it keeps raining all the time. Sunny and dusty days on the other hand don’t make me feel bad at all.

    I specially like the time when it’s about to rain, but isn’t raining yet. Nice cool breezes and the smell of moistening earth….mmmmm.

    Like

    • I think we all love the just started raining and just about to rain or even it’s raining somewhere close by weather🙂

      Delhi rarely gets the kind of rain that really gets on my nerves. Generally it’s a welcome relief🙂

      Like

  10. Love the rains and I can so imagine Delhi during monsoon…sobs what a romantic time of my life that was😛

    that blue bird looks like it’s promoting Rin Blue Sparkling soap:mrgreen:

    Awwwwwwwww the last one has to be my favourite pic. I wish I could sit near that guy, you know like how people sit in the swimming pool leaning their back on the edges🙄 and talk about shortage of nuts and paparazzi😉

    Like

    • Yes Anonymously Disguised it’s gorgeous🙂 You can sit in any part of the house, or any balcony without the heat (or cold) killing you🙂 It makes you want to go out.

      And you want to discuss the shortage of nuts and paparazzi with that Mamma Gilhari? I would love to hear some such discussion😆

      And Sakshi asking her to turn around and pose to take her favorite butt shots🙂

      Like

  11. Ahhh wonderful pictures…I am waiting to smell mitti ki bhini khushboo….yummmm

    Me – Why is that smell so yummilicious? It isn’t as if we can eat it! Nature got confused, the smell should have been great but why mouth watering? As a kid I once tasted it also🙂

    Like

  12. Just beautiful🙂 loved the blue ones the most! But u know I just cudnt control laughing as I noticed watermark half way and thought u hv marked them as homemakers :))

    Like

  13. 🙂 your Photo posts always make me yearn for more. where on earth do you stay to get such lovely birds. I see some new comers in my park but the thick foliage makes it impossible to click them. Lovely lovely pixs IHM. love the sparrow most .😀

    Like

    • Tikuli this morning if I had opened the curtain a little silently I would have been able to capture a flash of fluorescent green that I frightened away – I think it was the Large Green Barbet. They come for water and food. I am also amazed – it’s like a bonus one never expected!

      Do you know the names of the ones I don’t?

      Like

  14. I love the rains as well and the first pic is fab!😀

    and the squirrels as well🙂

    Me – I loved it too… rain drops in a puddle of rain water, and see how dark it is!

    Like

  15. I love your picture posts…I have said this earlier too😛
    And you are a wonderful photographer!!🙂
    Cheers🙂

    Me = Thanks Shilpa🙂 I take pictures thinking only of the blog now🙂

    Like

  16. Wow! Can i just borrow the pics and keep staring at them? Oh, well i will do it here. The birds are so pretty…. I cant take my eyes of a few. The photos are amazing and when ever i see something like this my urge to own a cam increases🙂.

    Like

  17. IHM……..thats a nice picture post……gone are the dry and restles summer afternoons…..welcome rainy days….canonly enjoy the rains sitting at home IHM….getting out means, traffic jams, blocked drains…phew…….loved the Blue Robbin…and yes the eagle, posing just for you.

    Me – Yes it’s such a respite – going out can be a pain I guess😦 The blue one I used to call a hummingbird because I saw it hovering on flowers, – it is actually called – The Purple Sunbird.

    Like

  18. LOVELY pics IHM.. Monsoon is so beautiful. Everytime it gives a feeling of freshness and newness.
    Those birds dipping not only their beaks but whole selves in the little pools. The last second one seems to be a kind of sparrow, not sure though.

    Me – Lively I wish I knew it’s name! Yeah they drink water like that, dipping their entire face in the water – I find it very funny too🙂

    Like

  19. Lovely pics. The transformation is amazing… always!
    Love the fresh look of the trees after all the summer dust has been washed away by the rains🙂 Had never observed the birds though!

    Like

  20. Whoa! You are a good photographer! I don’t believe this. But something in these pictures makes me want to ask you, do you have a yard either in front or the back of your house? Or did you click these in a park?

    Like

  21. Wow IHM… lovely pictures u have captured and how wonderful are the comments for them. I have not seen the Indian monsoon in the past 7 years and your post made me feel as if I was actually witnessing it. And I love the tiny nursing mother (looks like) in the bowl!

    Like

  22. WOW!!!
    Waah!!
    इन अदाओं के हम पहले ही ग़ुलाम थे
    आपने और दीवाना बना डाला ..

    Like

  23. Pingback: Ill-mannered visitors. | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  24. Pingback: Where would ghosts go, if we cut all trees? | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  25. Pingback: So who is the Peeping Tom? | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

