Bollywood in Truck Art :) and I’m Back!

[Note: The title of this blog post was suggested by my daughter Tejaswee. I did not want to add ‘and I’m Back!’ but she had complained that I ask for her suggestions but then I don’t accept them. Today I am glad, although she can’t be back, her demanding, delightful memory is back every time I read ‘and I’m Back‘…]

 

I have been away – thanks for emailing, tweeting and leaving comments to ask if all is well. For a million heartfelt ‘Thank You’s , click here ๐Ÿ˜‰ [Thanks for the sticky tape Chirag]

Click on the image if you’d like to watch the song ๐Ÿ™‚

It is not possible to take a total break from the blog ๐Ÿ˜ There are reminders everywhere ๐Ÿ™„ย  Our JKG in Chief is popular enough to inspire this polite protest ๐Ÿ™‚ You thought ‘Singh is King’?

Bollywood contd. ๐Ÿ™‚

I expected a Maharashtra nameplate with this offer to drive to Khandala but the truck had a Rajasthan number.

If you’d like to watch the song click here ๐Ÿ™‚

These trucks can say ‘Mere pass maa hai’ (Click to watch the dialogue not reserved for Bollywood sons)…

Ma ka Aashirwad‘ (Mother’s blessings). This one claims ‘Ye dil mange more‘ . This heart wants more of mother’s blessings?

Although ‘Maa ki Mamta‘ is mentioned, this one doesn’t seek her blessings because this one has ‘TURST in GOD ‘ ๐Ÿ™‚

I wonder if this gets too much sometimes… do they mean it?

Dadi-Dada aren’t forgotten… but mother’s reign supreme ๐Ÿ™‚

Not all messages are directly inspired by Bollywood. If these messages are any indication – we do seem to be basically a tolerant nation.

This message makes more sense than one would guess at first glance.
(‘Dekhi jaa chedi naa‘ translates to ‘Look as much as you like, but don’t touch’)

Here’s Indian philosophy summed up in one sentence. Translates to,
“You will get nothing more than you are destined to get and nothing before you are destined to get it.” (Better translations welcome ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Don’t miss ‘Chamiya’ ( a flashily dressed woman?) on the middle flap ๐Ÿ™‚ This truck is female ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Many trucks are also referred to as sons (beta), daughters (beti), tigresses (shernee) and ladla (a male brat) or laadli (female brat) ๐Ÿ™‚

Although she is a ‘chamiya’, a sherni (a tigress) and a laadli ( a dear girl child) – she is reminded… ‘Zyaada khayegi to moti ho jayegee‘.

(Translates to, ‘If you eat too much, you will grow fat.’) ;P

77 thoughts on “Bollywood in Truck Art :) and I’m Back!

  1. Hopefully FIRST! what am I doing joining this rat race, I really don’t know LOL!

    but hey loved ur come back post! how on earth do u manage to click all these unique behinds of trucks???? Oh they brought back a pang of nostalgia, and a wish to go see some myself…back home…sigh!

    Like

    • PujaThakur – And some more smiles this side ๐Ÿ™‚

      Prats – Thank You (this one is thank you number one million and one ๐Ÿ˜† )

      Shilpa – ๐Ÿ™‚ Aren’t Indian trucks very creative ๐Ÿ™‚

      Indy – 4th is the new first Indy ๐Ÿ™‚ We were driving behind the trucks, missed some lovely ones – like one that said, ‘Buri nazar wale tera bhi bhala ho’ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. That must have been one long drive on the highway! As always, you’re back with a bang for sure!

    Welcome back! We missed you big time! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Me – I missed the blogosphere too TBG ๐Ÿ™‚ Where ever a blogger goes, the blogaddiction follows ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. So this is what you were upto all these while? running behind trucks and taking fotographs !!! must have reminded you of your childhood when you ran behind ice cream trucks, na ? ๐Ÿ˜€ :D: D:D

    Like

  4. Nice pics, I have always tried to get such truck or auto pics, but the motion always blurs them.. you seem to have a very steady hand and vehicle ๐Ÿ˜›

    Reading such messages always cracks me up when traveling, it makes the journey so not boring ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. Nice clicks IHM. I wonder how you manage to click so many so easily. I always find that either my phone battery is low, or the truck has zoomed past me or its too far.. something or the other.
    Anyway have you seen these lines?

    เคฎเฅ‡เคฐเฅ€ เคšเคฒเคคเฅ€ เคนเฅˆ, เคคเฅ‹ เคคเฅ‡เคฐเฅ€ เค•เฅเคฏเฅ‚ เคœเคฒเคคเฅ€ เคนเฅˆ?

    เคฎเฅ‡เคฐเคพ เคญเคพเคฐเคค เคฎเคนเคพเคจ, เคคเฅ‡เคฐเคพ เคคเฅ‚ เคฆเฅ‡เค–!

    ๐Ÿ™‚
    And the last one totally gives a personality in itself to the (lady) truck

    เคฎเคพเคฒเคฟเค• เค•เฅ€ เคฎเฅ‡เคนเคจเคค, เคกเฅเคฐเคพเคˆเคตเคฐ เค•เคพ เคชเคธเฅ€เคจเคพ
    เคšเคฒเคคเฅ€ เคนเฅ‚เค เคฐเคธเฅเคคเฅ‡ เคชเฅ‡, เคฌเคจเค•เคฐ เคฎเฅˆเค‚ เคนเคธเฅ€เคจเคพ.

    ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • Yes!! Gunjaish I did see

      เคฎเฅ‡เคฐเฅ€ เคšเคฒเคคเฅ€ เคนเฅˆ, เคคเฅ‹ เคคเฅ‡เคฐเฅ€ เค•เฅเคฏเฅ‚ เคœเคฒเคคเฅ€ เคนเฅˆ?

      Here it is, ๐Ÿ˜†

      Image and video hosting by TinyPic

      Like

  6. Hey IHM…good to see you back.

    This is so my kinda post…really good photos.
    I used to always read these things on a truck when I was in India. It was so entertaining on a long stretch of highway…

    It is a unique way of displaying love and philosophy.

    Like

  7. Gunjaish Advertisers also understand that Trucks are seen as ‘Haseenas’ and ‘Chamiyas’, take a look at this creative advertisement –

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Image and video hosting by TinyPic

    (I wish there was some simple way to make them just the right size…)

    Like

  8. hey, nice one. did you know that someone from NID had done a study on truck art quite some years ago? i liked the way you have translated and strung them into a nice little piece. welcome back.

    Like

  9. loved your truck art collection IHM, I keep clicking such pictures too. will post someday..(hoping badly at the moment that I am able to recover all my data and pics the the hard disk that has crashed ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I think the truck drivers have a really tough job, long distances, highways, truckloads, being away from family and all that.. so every time I see these interesting lines on their trucks I smile at their humorous/emotional/religious/patriotism and love for family bondings..

    Like

    • Tara I absolutely agree!!
      I hope you have not lost your data and are able to post those pictures! I look forward to seeing them!

      And look at this example of family bonding, it goes,
      Maa ki mamta,
      Pita ka pyaar,
      Behen ki rakhi,
      Dost ka intezar

      (Mother’s pampering, dad’s love, sister’s rakhi and friend’s missing/waiting)

      I think ‘dost’ here could mean a sweetheart ๐Ÿ™‚

      Image and video hosting by TinyPic

      Like

  10. Ha ha ha!!! What amazing pictures ๐Ÿ™‚ Btw, I was wondering where you had been IHM, didn’t see any posts from you on my reader in a long time. Good to see u back ๐Ÿ™‚ in action!

    Like

  11. Yay, Look who is back!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Welcome back!!!
    Those are fun pictures, the last one about getting fat reminded me of brother who would say this me and mom every time we sit for a meal or a snack!!! “zyada khayegi to moti ho jayegi”

    Like

  12. Good to have you back! (so am i!i started with bollywood, so did you! ๐Ÿ™‚ it is such colorful thing we have about indians…:)…that is my next blog so not writing much about it here)
    Had good lughs. Loved the last one…it is written at such an appropriate place.

    Like

  13. Welcome back IHM…..missed ur posts ad what a come back post…..u have done an interesting research on truck art work and presented it so well…….glad to know that all izzz well…..cheers

    Like

  14. Nice messages…

    you will get what you are destined…….

    whenever i come across this quote i go into depression….memory goes to think what i missed…and feel dont i deserve those? hmm

    Like

  15. What fun! Do you think these truckers sit around the dhaabas quibbling over who’s got the best one-liners?
    Funnily enough (or is that ‘weirdly enough’?) I’ve been clicking truck art too but I dont think the trucks in Mumbai are as good as the Delhi ones in the humour dept. The autos, now… they’re something else!

    Like

  16. The truks of the north are more colourful and adventurous than the ones in the south. Probably the only message you might read is sound horn or leave a distance! Or have I been sleeping too much during travels?? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Destination Infinity

    Like

  17. Wecome back and what a comeback this is! loved the collection of pics … :)) i too with a friend keep looking out for interesting truck signs and click em [i.e., if we remember to stop laughing and shoot it :D]

    Like

  18. ha glad to have you back and that too with random Back photus :mrgreen: The last one is totally out of this world ๐Ÿ˜›

    I was thinking you have gone for some honeymoon and here you are running behind Truckwala’s.

    I loved that Hallmark card….phew those guys talk faster than me I should say…sobs!!

    Like

    • Okay Good Got U ๐Ÿ™‚ really good work truly appreciate it, I understand the efforts and the humor they posses ๐Ÿ™‚ and also the nature of person involved in taking such kind of pics

      kevin

      Like

  19. Pingback: Truck Art » Blog Archive » Indian Trucks: Gender Differences, Guideline Similarities

  20. hey frnds….im making a animation short film on the life of indian truck drivers…… this blog was really helpful for me….. i was 36 hrs on the highway for my research…lived with the drivers…..anyone having any additional information plz mail me…at animationwala@gmail.com……

    Like

Leave a Reply

