Pledge Water for Birds and Animals this Summer

I bought clay bowls around 3-4 inches deep for Rs. 25/- each. Clay bowls are better than plastic or metal bowls because the water stays very cool even when temperature is touching 42 degrees Celsius.

Also clay pots are unlikely to be stolen if used in public places for stray animals.

When water puddles dry up during the summer –Β  birds are known to collapse from dehydration.

Some potted plants and a bird bath would have been cool and inviting. Birds are also attracted to the sound of water.

This sparrow chose to drink from the floor…

Sparrows should have a shallow bowl… I plan to get a 2 inches deep tray.

This Dove would have preferred a flat tray tooΒ  πŸ™‚

… found this more comfortable?Β  πŸ™‚

Pigeons try to bully sparrows. They also literally dive into the bowl when they drink water πŸ™‚

Loved the droplets of water in this picture…

Doves seemed to visit more for bajra less for water πŸ™‚

Or maybe it is testing the waters first…

Brahminy Starlings visited twice, both the times in pairs, I was too afraid of disturbing them, so didn’t take many pictures.

I just want them feel at home and visit more often.

The common Mynas chased away the Brahminy Starlings today. That was disappointing, because those two had looked like they meant to spend some time snacking and drinking πŸ™‚

And finally…

This was an absolute surprise!

…a blurry shot from behind a curtain, I hope the Pariah Kite visits again too. I have heard of them dying of dehydration…

Do place bowls of water wherever possible. Even if you don’t like birds, this is the cheapest and most convenient way to do your bit for the environment.

If you find a bird fainted gently pick it up and keep it in shade, feed drops of water regularly. [Click for more information]


94 thoughts on “Pledge Water for Birds and Animals this Summer

  1. IHM, loved this post, for the reason the water bowls and grain is there πŸ™‚

    Me – You are a kindred soul I know Usha! πŸ™‚
    And the bonus here is all the free entertainment one could ask for, all day long πŸ˜†

    Like

  2. And for the reason that I just read this up recently in the papers, and the fact that your photographs are out of this world… the water droplets are magic πŸ™‚ How did you get it so clear? Mesmerizing!

    The tips are just so informative and educating. Here, though the heat is terrifying, it rains sometimes at night, and there are still water pools, ponds which the birds and animals visit. So in a sense they are luckier here.

    God Bless you πŸ™‚ That is what all those birds are going to be saying! And me!

    Me – Delhi is very hot and very dry… at first hardly one odd sparrow came, but now there is constant activity… one goes another comes πŸ™‚ I plan to put a plant there, to make it cooler and more inviting … my motives are selfish Usha, I want to take photographs πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. i have three water pots in my house too

    one at the terrace and two in the lawn… may be i should put grain too but what grain?

    the least we can do for birds

    Me – Monika I have bought bajra …but I read jowar is also fine, and we can keep fruit also! But water is most important.

    Like

  4. This is just so very sweet of you πŸ™‚
    I absolutely loved the pics and admire the patience with which u took all these lovely pics.

    I kept bird feeder last year but that wasn’t a proper one. Your post has inspired me to put an earthen bowl this time. thank you and pls keep posting more of such pics.

    Me- Tara I would love to keep a bird feeder, but no idea where to get one from here… I saw pictures of bird feeder inviting Purple Sunbird!!

    Like

  5. Great photos. And wonderful advice. I hope more of us take that little effort to do something for the creatures around us.
    i have a natural birdbath (that is actually just a worn out rock which I keep filled with water)that sees a lot of activity in summer. You’re right, its fantastic exercise for the photo-clicking finger ;D
    A small patch of grass near it seems to provide most of them with enough to snack on too.Earthworms and bugs for the non-vegetarians and grass seeds for the veggies.

    Me – Love your garden and garden pictures and garden stories Sunita!!!

    Like

  6. Wonderful IHM πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    this is really great… Snaps are too good πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ loved them all πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    hope to do the same in my home πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. So if a birdwatcher wants to see birds, better to let them come to you rather than the other way round eh? πŸ˜€

    Do you replace the water in the bowls every day? They might breed mosquitoes otherwise. Or will the birds snap up the larvae?

    Me – Bhagwad I scrub and clean the bowls everyday and let them dry completely, by rotating the bowl with bajra (which dries totally). I think dirty water might harm the birds… haven’t added any glucose in the water though.

    Like

  8. How cute! πŸ˜€ You are turning seriously bird-brain…er…bird lover, arent u? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    The picture of the kite was awesome!! pick of the lot! πŸ™‚

    Hmm… good idea of placing the bowl of water for bids. I love animals but never thought of the water bit. Will do so… and also be ready with my new Canon SX20is camera! πŸ˜€

    Me – Ha ha πŸ™‚ It’s addictive, if you start enjoying it πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Wow. Impressed. You’re just too good! I’m buying earthern pots tomorrow itself! Am not really a bird person, but like you said, no harm in helping out the poor things! πŸ™‚

    Me – Scorpria – I never realised how much fun birds could be until I placed a bowl of water once, long ago….If you like you can even click some pictures!! I am curious about the birds that other city dwellers see in their daily lives … πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. IHM, we have water and bajra for the birds…but sadly its the squirrel’s who eat the bajra more often then the birds and drive them away.

    lovely snaps..loved the droplets one πŸ™‚

    Me- Imp’s mom no squirrels come up to my place yet though there are many around, and they do go up to other balconies! Pigeons and mynas also bully other birds… I read somewhere that one needs a bird house with a small hole so only sparrows can enter it, but I feel, let them all eat… I sprinkle the seeds on the floor so more than one bird can eat at a time…

    Like

  11. love the water droplets picture!

    IHM you must enter it in a Nat geo contest. they keep taking pictures from amateurs.

    Me – Thanks Alankrita, I did take a look at the pics they have… ok let me check and see the last date etc.. πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. how wonderful… hasn’t the sparrow population come down? my home back in madras always had a nest or two, but no longer. read somewhere it was because of radiation from cellular towers. in delhi (that’s where you are from right?) is it better?

    Me – There are hardly any sparrows here UmmOn, but I read providing food, water and bird houses with tiny holes (so other birds can’t use them) helps…
    We do have one nest behind my kitchen, and the babies have been making a racket, I have only seen the parents going there with food… πŸ™‚

    Like

    • yeah, should tell my mom that. ‘cos of those **silly** sparrows we used to sweat through madras summer afternoons. we were scared the birds would fly into the fan, so we would keep it off. how i miss those little fellows.

      Like

  13. so lovely to see sparrows again in your photos…they’ve virtually disappeared from some places

    Me – Yes.. Uttara I read that keeping water and food is a step towards saving them…

    Like

  14. Wow! What a simple yet beautiful thought! Kudos, IHM. Very nice πŸ™‚ loved the pic of the water droplets… absolutely charming!

    Me – Thank you Pal πŸ™‚ I think they were feeling extra hot and enjoying the water that day πŸ™‚

    Like

  15. Wow. Those are some great pictures of birds. I’m thinking you have a telephoto lens? I’ve never thought of putting water out for birds. I put out food during the winter when we were covered in snow, but didn’t think of water at all.

    Me – When we bought the camera (Nikon D60), the salesman suggested this telephoto zoom lens,
    http://www.nikonusa.com/Find-Your-Nikon/ProductDetail.page?pid=1928
    It requires a tripod, otherwise pictures are blurry, (no Vibration Reduction in this lens)
    I would love something more powerful πŸ™‚

    Unless there is a pond or some other water source close by birds do die of dehydration here, minimum temperature yesterday was more than 30 degrees Celsius 😦 I would love to have a bird bath…

    Like

  16. I received a mail from one of my colleagues suggesting the above pledge…planned it too, but then the thoughts of being away from home the entire day – rain water collecting, not getting time each day to clean the bowls made me put off the enitre idea…
    But then your post esp. the pigeons made me recall my Jodhpur days when I used to do it with so much vigour – love was the key though ;p ….
    Anyways am inspired and will put it to use- but tomorrow πŸ˜‰

    Me – I know it isn’t convenient, the bowls have to be cleaned!!! Here I let one bowl dry completely as bajra bowl – and then use it for water the next day… the sun is hot and sometimes I empty the water right there, it dries in minutes!

    Like

    • 😦 I think i am cursed … all pepped up I go to place bowls on my sill and over the AC vent (I live on the 12th floor so no other way out), after half an hour a ringing phone from the society’s admin conveys the crash the bowl has caused and informed me that I should be lucky that nobody was hurt else i would be standing now with a parched throat! 😦

      Like

  17. awesome.. and you have kites too.. cool..
    i managed to attract a few of those brown birds… i have a flat plastic tray

    Me – Did you take pictures too? I think the brown birds must be Mynas! πŸ™‚

    Like

  18. It is so nice of you to do this post. I too feel bad for the animals and birds in summer. I have been placing clay pots and trays with water around my house for stray dogs and birds. The dogs drink it all up. But problem with birds is crows drink oup all the water and do ot let the other smaller birds near. Also, my place is over run with squirrels… They finish eating up all the grains and rice I put out for birds. Any ideas on how I can make the little birds like sparrows drink and eat more?

    Me – will it help if you hung the food and water bowls – squirrels might find that too inconvenient. Something around the pots that is difficult for squirrels to cross, but sparrows can fly and reach the food?? Some mesh? Just thinking…

    You could do a post on the same topic, same or similar post name to spread the word further.

    Like

  19. very thoughtful gesture
    you are a kind hearted soul
    such lovely [photos!!!
    all taken by you ??????????
    even i will keep some outside in my balcony
    by the way how is Delhi with 44 degree
    enjoying the summers πŸ™‚

    Me – Yeah I took these pics, if my daughter takes any she reminds me to give her credit – like in the header above are all her shots πŸ˜† πŸ™‚

    And Anju Delhi is bad – I had avoided Delhi summers for years! I toss used water on the floor and it disappears immediately – without cooling the floor much!

    Like

  20. Nice IHM!

    I have also kept water in the balcony and its nice to see that its always empty when I check in the evenings πŸ™‚

    Unfortunately,haven’t been able to capture pics…

    Like

  21. You are sweet person IHM.:)

    I used to keep bowl of water in the balcony but pigeons spoil the balcony with shit,so i stopped keeping water there.But i feed the pigeons at the entrance of my building where everyone leave rice grains for the pigeons.

    Wonderful clicks,i loved the water droplet.Is it SLR camera??

    Like

  22. I did a similar post last year. http://tikulicious.wordpress.com/2009/04/30/the-heat-is-on-protect-birds-and-stray-animals/
    IHM we are putting up extra water pans and some big water holders for stray dogs etc in the parks and in the lanes. The tempreatures have risen beyond imagination and I have spotted more bird deaths in the past saome days than those in last two years around my area, and you know VK is green as compared to other places.
    It is a wonderful writeup and I hope people do take measures to protect these helpless creatures. Will again post the pledge.
    The pix as usual are lovely. I miss the sparrows , we hardly see them here.
    Refreshing delightful informative post 10/10

    Me – Your post is linked at the bottom of this post πŸ™‚

    Like

  23. I have them in my balcony too and its so nice to c them playing arnd .. we just give them water and they give us so much to see and smile πŸ˜€

    Me – Yes Swaram and we are the ones who have taken away their water sources!

    Like

  24. Hey nice post which serves a good cause. Since last summer i have started keeping water bowl and some grains in my terrace..by the time i come home in the eve..water bowls are empty and terrace is messy with remaining grains everywhere..4/5 pigeons have made our terrace as their extended home πŸ™‚

    Me – I think pigeons are the messiest of drinkers πŸ™‚ Here come for a quick single sip and fly immidiately away, unlike sparrows who come and spend some quality time here πŸ˜†

    Like

  25. AAAH such a beautiful close-up of the Pariah Kite…This is yet another thoughtful post from u..
    I must congratulate u upon triggering such a ‘Green’ idea..I have designed a blogger award badge for you..Which you can pick it up at my blog and sport it on ur sidebar if you wish..
    Just an attempt from me to express my gratitude towards awesome environment conscious bloggers like u..:)

    Me – Thanks Vibhuti πŸ™‚ Will pick the badge and display it on my awards page with pride πŸ™‚

    Like

  26. Very nice pictures, IHM. And, as usual, another nice thing you’ve done. πŸ™‚

    You’ve got a 70-300? Does it have a VR version as well? I have a 55-200, but have been planning to get a more powerful one….but then I will also have to get a tripod, and it just becomes very cumbersome to lug all this around all the time! The camera bag just keeps getting bigger and heavier.

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian

    Me – It does have a VR version QI – in fact I was under the impression this was a VR lens, but only the lens that came with the camera is VR.
    I am still new to all this, and would love a more powerful lens too. I tried googling for information, but got nothing, Which camera do you use?

    Like

  27. Fantastic pics -esp the one with droplets on it and fantastic thought, which needs to be spread around.

    This post made me so happy !!!! πŸ™‚

    Me – You too can blog about it Uma, until I read about it I had not realised that birds can also have problem in finding water 😦 We can help spread the bird.

    Like

  28. Wonderful post IHM πŸ˜€
    My efforts gifted me with a pet cat this summer, you never know what beautiful surprises you might be blessed with (besides these wonderful pictures) by doing your bit for the environment πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Like

  29. Lovely images,IHM! Particularly liked the Brahminy Starling..so beautiful! And yes the water droplet one..amazing photography!
    The sparrows used to be such a common and frequent sight once..its sad they are dwindling in numbers!

    Didnt know birds could face problems in finding water! Thank you so much for this post,IHM.

    Like

  30. YOu know, I live in one of the hottest places in the world… and I never thought about that. I am going home to put some water out today. Thanks! Lovely pictures. Lovely post. Just finished reading quite a few of yours. Thanks for teh follow πŸ™‚

    Like

  31. hehehe I skipped the link . Thanks IHM. It is a pleasure to connect with someone who is sensitive to not just humans but also to all the inhabitants of this planet who need our love and care more than anything. Thanks again for sharing my post.

    Like

  32. Great work you are doing for living beings around you. This summer is going to be really bad and I am sure there is potential possibility of hundreds of human deaths. Hope Govt will be ready to help the poor this summer to save lives.

    Like

    • Me – Charakan our indifference towards trees being cut and habitats being destroyed is partly responsible for the changing conditions everywhere, humans cannot survive in isolation…
      Would you say we should stop explorations on the moon till we end poverty on the earth? And that’s not even necessary for human survival. Even if we feel no compassion, then for our own sake we should protect this planet.

      Like

  33. this is a GREAT collection of pictures IHM!! the dove looks so docile! πŸ™‚ u’ve captured the birds in action with drops of water and all..verrry impressive!!

    Like

  34. Beautiful pics and an extremely compassionate gesture..you are a very caring person. Your goodwill account will be enriched by the “thank-yous” of all the birds, and you will get many more photo opportunities as the days go by as return gifts!
    Excellent advice too; a small bowl full of water is nothing compared to the hundreds of liters many people waste daily in splashing their concrete front yards and their cars, even in the peak of summer in Delhi with acute water shortage all around.

    With more compassionate people like you, the world would be a great place to live in.

    Like

  35. You actually did that IHM? Makes me so glad. I remembered a pending thing which I’ll complete after going home this evening. Thanks for the inspiration πŸ™‚

    Like

  36. Beautiful post, IHM! All of us should start taking care of other living things, because we are spoiling their atmosphere in a jet fast pace. Otherwise, I doubt our grand children will have the luck to watch and enjoy these creatures. They can just watch the photos.

    Like

  37. Pingback: Wordless Wednesdays: Plagiarism? « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  38. Wonderful thought and deed. In Gurgaon where I live, one does not come across sparrows anymore. Great to see these pictures

    Me – I was in Gurgaon recently and noticed there are no bowls of water for stray dogs on the road sides like you see in many places in Delhi.

    Like

  39. Pingback: So who is the Peeping Tom? « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  40. How wonderful!! I used to do this with great success when I had a terrace garden. Im afraid of trying it in my 9th floor balcony because of the bird poo.
    I would put out water, but I never knew what kind of seeds to put out. What do you put? And how to make sure squirrels dont eat them?

    Like

  41. Pingback: Delhi summer from my balcony :) | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  42. Pingback: Delightful pictures of green pigeon activity from my balcony. | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  43. i got my answer, how to give water to birds? thank you.
    this activity i already started but some time i feel i was go on wronge way. and today i staisfied for this activity

    Like

  44. Gud done. I jst wanna knw, wht rules do MCD have, as the team comes and cut challans for water already pured into the mud pots, thereby saying that you can’t do dis.

    Regards

    Like

  45. Pingback: A pledge to keep waterpots for birds and animals in the summers

  46. this 20 march my son’s birthday aur hamne 92 pots jain samaj m bata yah idea sabhi ko bahut pasand aaya my self jay prakash jain my daughter name deshna jain, ”how to celebrate your happyness ” think different ”deshna ” the voice of god,

    Like

  47. Pingback: Can you identify this bird? | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  48. I was tring to find scientific informatoin about bird care for many days. Iinterested in it. So, please if you some pic’s about this topic usefull in rural and urban area guide me.thank you!!

    Like

  49. Pingback: When we order gifts for ourselves :) | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  50. Pingback: What do the birds and the bees have in common? | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  51. Pingback: A better look at the gorgeous, blue Verditer Flycatcher :) | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  52. HI, It feels good to see these pcitures. We as a group started a campaign for keeping water outside for stary animals including birds. I need your permisson to use couple of pics posted here to make posters for our campaign.

    Like

  53. hi…. can you please advice me what kind of food shall i keep with water bowl so that birds can eat it,i guess bajara should not be feeded the birds in winter because it is hot so i have put handful of rice,what else should i put with rice.

    Like

    • hey.. it would be better if you don’t put rice since a lot of birds including pigeons can’t digest them and often have gastrointestinal problems which can be fatal. Bajra would actually be the best bet along with kernels of corn. A lot of birds are omnivores or fruitivores. So you can even put very tiny pieces of fruit like a bit of mango or peach there. But be sure to change it everyday for they will spoil very fast! If you ever get an injured bird and it turns out to be an omnivore say like a common mynah, you can actually feed it worms! Nothing better than that for proteins! πŸ™‚

      Like

  54. Loved the post. I was actually searching for people who are concerned about availability of water for street dogs. I recently saw a street dog coming to a drainage and drinking water from it. I was so upset. Before that also, I saw some dogs coming and drinking water that is stored on the roads, from drains overflowing. I have been thinking about doing something and am very much concerned thinking about how they suffer in summer. I started giving water to the street dogs near my house. I found 3 puppies far away from my home, they were so thin, seemed like food is not available to them. I started giving food for them every 3 days (because it is too far from my house) and also kept a plastic bowel with water near them, in a corner. When I returned after 3 days with food, the bowel was not there. I was upset again. I only experience surprising eyes watching me when I do this. I am so upset. I want to know whether there are people who have the same feelings and whether they do something for such poor animals. I will also follow what they do.

    Like

  55. Hi IHM,

    Very nice to see the noble job that you are doing ! Water in summer is very necessary for birds and we human beings have captured all such places where water was available for them. We can do a little bit from our side by installing small water bowls. However I am not sure if we need to keep food for them… reason being , birds need to have natural instinct to search for food.If we make it available easily for them they will lose that instinct of scavenging and will be dependent on us or perish. It is a way of nature to keep a check on their numbers . This is same reason why pigeons are in abundance in Mumbai. What i feel is we should plant more fruit trees ( Rather than trees which don’t bear fruits ) that will make natural habitat for them. I do not intend to discourage anyone….just a thought came to my mind so shared it over here.

    Like

  56. I hv kept an appropriate fresh water container in balcony. But not see any bird come near it. How will the birds know I hv kept water for them?

    Like

  57. Where is sparrow, crow ? What are the logics….? If birds will not be there than what will be use of water port ???? (My daughter is asking me) see Facebook Ravi Desai

    Like

Leave a Reply

