I know what Shetal Shah will publish tomorrow!

This morning Dreamer tweeted to inform that my blog was being duplicated here. Horrified, I sent tweets to all friends and to the Blogadda team…

And was overwhelmed by the support… (No words will be enough here – let me just say thanks!)

Saritha has faced this very recently…Β  😦  ( Just days before Shah Rukh Khan’s Bday tooΒ  😦 )

Chandni who faced this and has successfully got a culprit to take the site down, suggested a post.

Although it’s Shah Rukh Khan’sΒ  birthday, Solilo tweeted a link to Copyscape. One click took me to the pages of Shet AlShah…

Since every single post was being duplicated, I wanted to make a prediction about their next post. Crafty Shines thought that was err… wicked! (Read her post below to see who is wicked!)

Solilo Don suggested flowers, Harish K called it Gandhi Giri, Smitha P thought it would be a seriously fun post.

So Gandhi Giri it is! Β  πŸ˜‰

Shet AlShah

This is to advise you that the entire content by Indian Homemaking at http://www.shetalshah.com/menu/indian-homemaking/ is originally from my blog called ‘The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker’ at https://indianhomemaker.wordpress.com/. This is original content and I am the author and copyright holder.

Please remove the plagiarized material immediately.

If you don’t believe in Gandhi Giri…

Mandira’s post – ‘Plagiarism at it’s very best’Β  :mrgreen:

Crafty Shines post-  Plagiarists Beware. 😈

Minal’s post – ‘Down with plagiarism‘Β  :mrgreen:

124 thoughts on “I know what Shetal Shah will publish tomorrow!

        • IHM, all these bots are in this for money. In the past too I have seen some websites picking my posts on Kerala like Vidyarambham one. I just left it because no one actually visits those stupid sites and it is just few posts.

          But in your case an entire blog is copy-pasted. That website needs to go down. Money hungry cheapos.

          Me – I feel an entire copy-pasted blog to easy to nail 😦 But even if a phrase is picked up – I would hate it much more!

          Like

        • There ws a website which hd picked up few of my posts too Sols n monsoons n stuff! I saw that they had abs. no visitors, well almost and left it @ that! But this is ridiculous πŸ™‚

          The bonding in the blog world is superb na πŸ™‚ Crafty, Mandy all come up with posts πŸ™‚ Jai Ho!

          Me – Swaram I feel so overwhelmed! So touched – I had not expected this!

          And Swaram, please could I have a link of the sites that plagiarised and the original content? I feel we should all be in the know when something like this happens 😦 I will add a link here, whenever i hear of any such cases 😦

          Like

        • Janam Janam ka saath hai hamara aur German Shepherd ka 😳

          Me – Don you are not being don-like – first flowers now janam janam ka saath πŸ˜† I started laughing aloud, and the maid looked so shocked, she stopped what she was doing …

          Like

      • IHM,Sols doesnt miss mentioning SRK anywhere, its only when he is mentioned in a post about plagiarism that she gets hassled and ‘aag-baboola’,right,sols?? 😈

        Me – Deeps she is the second best SRK fan , so I am not surprised. SRK should be in a true-fan’s thoughts, not in their comments.

        Like

  1. It is really surprising how cheap people can get. Blogging is a recreational hobby. Something we do to be creative, or spread our message/thoughts across, maybe even just to make friends. But to actually just simply copy posts, what sense does it make, and then not even acknowledging the real writer. God! Its nauseating.

    Get well soon indeed SHETALSHAH….. however that breaks up.

    GM it could be automated?… bots ? It this one is published tomorrow means we’ll know.. 😦
    Or may be they are putting ads … there are words like IBM, Laptop, Dell… which are linked elsewhere..

    Like

  2. During my campaign to spread the word about what had been going on ( direct copy of my blog), I was given some awesome pieces of advise and info.

    Though you can read it all in the comments of my post Stolen pieces

    Firstly try to contact the blogger who is plagiarizing your valuable content asking her to take the content down.
    Secondly lodge a complaint about it to the word press authorities if her blog is on wordpress like your or with Google if her blog is on blogger.
    I had actually lodged a complaint with Google.
    And yes, I did see action happening within one week. I got a reply from Google and she was forced to take the content down.

    Here are a few links my friends had suggested me to read when I was stuck like you. They are articles from my friend Time Thief’s blog.
    http://onecoolsite.wordpress.com/2008/05/10/splog-off-delating-with-content-theft

    http://onecoolsite.wordpress.com/2009/02/05/copyright-basics-for-bloggers

    By the way: I loved the spirit with which you mentioned SRK’s birthday throughout your post.

    I hope things resolve using your Gandhigiri approach.

    Cheers!!

    Me – The SRK facts are true, it’s his Bday on 2nd Nov, and these two bloggers are his second and third best fans.
    Now let me go through your links – I read your blog, it’s just too shocking!!!

    Like

  3. This is by far the worst case of plagiarism on blogs I’ve ever seen! Pathetic! Whoever is this person?

    Me – No idea D! But imagine copying every single post as it is… I would like to see either this one published there, or that site taken down! 😦

    Like

  4. I’ve reported the site to Google as plagiarized content. This should drive the person into search obscurity.

    I’ve posted it under my Webmaster tools account. Those who aren’t members of Google’s Webmaster tools can use this form to report it – the more the better: http://www.google.com/contact/spamreport.html

    In the checkbox, select “Duplicate site or pages”

    Me – Thanks Bhagwad!! Glad to know some bloggers who know what to do…!!

    Like

  5. My god IHM are they plagiarising only from SRK’s fans on his bday month? I say it’s a ploy from the opposition to spoil the JKG chief’s bday celebrations 😯

    Like

  6. IHM, I really hope this person gets his/her comeuppance. It is disgusting to see copying of any sort – how could anybody think that they could do it and get away with it? It is disgusting to say the least!

    I am sure Gandhigiri will work! Am sure she will have the surprise of her life when she sees this post tomorrow πŸ™‚

    And how dare they spoil SRK’s b’day with all this πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Aww hugs IHM! Looks like someone is totally retarded to copy stuff word to word. Chalo you have arrived IHM….stalkers and all πŸ™‚ Seriously though I hope they take down the site.

    Like

  8. That’s messed up! Been hearing a lot about blogs being plagiarised lately. What do they get out of it??? I mean, seriously…it’s not like it’s a uni assignment that’s being marked or anything!

    Like

  9. I’ve seen this happening to the best of bloggers, and I think this woman/man whateve either has no self respect, or thinks imitation is the “best” form of flattery! In this case, it’s just plain robbing of another’s intelligent work…and I know ur popularity seems to rankle them! I hope this will nail the culprit and set things straight! Bravo to you!

    Like

  10. checked her blog today morning.. the blog per se exists but it now says “Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn’t here.”
    i think she deleted all the content. Good !

    Like

  11. Good riddance! How disgraceful of them. And thankfully its been taken down else I would have left some Bhagat Singh type comments there as opposed to your Gandhigiri !!!

    Like

  12. Absolutely sad! But I then imitation is the best form of flattery, no? I’m not trying to make light of this – it can be very unnerving, I’m sure.

    I’m glad you all did some great work and that the blog is now blank – a lot like that person’s head!

    Hugs
    Corinne

    Like

  13. Hi IHM, how awfully cheap can people get…I chked the link too..everything has been deleted..thank god…its good riddance…Its so stupid for people to just copy paste stuff..!!!!!

    Like

  14. Gud to hear that the blog is gone. Can anyone tell me how check whether there is anyone plagiarizing my blog?

    Me – Yes Sandy, very simple. Click on the copyscape banner on the sidebar, and type your url, and you will see if your blog is being plagiarised.

    Like

  15. super copycat.. i followed the link u have given and seems the content has been wiped clean after all that noise.. serves right.. this copymongering is scary!

    Me – Yes it can be scary!

    Like

  16. So your blog (Gandhigiri) worked IHM?? I had a look yesterday at the blog. Really, this plagiarism really is a pain. I saw a story (not one actually two) from a post which I read… dont comment though) garnished a little differently (but still exactly that same) in another blog I read. I think I will go alert the ‘original’ one who has posted it first. I don’t know if she is aware.

    Me – Shail could you share the links of the original and the plagiarised posts? We should try and keep a list (right here for now, then I will add a separate page/blog) of all such cases, and also of how the problem was solved! It will be a help for any victims. And a warning for for copy cats.

    Like

    • I will have to go search for the post… . The original is easier to find since I know where to look. Will go check the other one, was just thinking of doing it when I saw your reply. Will let you know as soon as I find it.

      Like

  17. Shame shame shame! Nice way of getting it down IHM! Belated Happy Bday to King Khan πŸ™‚

    I fail to understand hw can they copy the entire blog and not believe that they will be tracked down!

    Down down Shetal Shah!

    Superb title IHM 8)

    Me – I love the thought of the first reaction upon reading the post title …

    Like

  18. How stupid can people be? To pick up an entire post and copy paste it in their blog. Totally dumb. I can understand you reading something and having retained some impression in your mind, writing something similar but simply copy-pasting it is plain unethical and stupid as well.

    Me – You read that the content on the internet is free to read, discuss, write about, criticise even, but how can one copy someone else entire blog and think they won’t be caught? 😦

    Like

  19. First I read about the word ‘plagiarism’ in Saritha’s blog and came to know that this type of duplication exists and now here! Thank god and Crafty, they are removed now. This must be a lesson for people who think they can do this crime and get away with it.

    I liked the Gandhigiri flower bunch!

    I loved the title of this post, soooperrrr, IHM!

    Me – Thank God and Crafty πŸ™‚ True!!!

    The flowers are Solilo Don’s idea, he he who would have thought a Don would suggest flowers!! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  20. lol
    its all gone now
    and whats with the name? ‘shit’ al shah? or ‘shit’al shah? or ‘shit’ alshah?
    oops..sorry about the spellings..somehow my keyboard has reacted strongly to this post. Everytime I type ‘e’, only ‘i’ come up. cant help it.

    Like

  21. It seems gandhigiri worked…there are no post in shetal blog πŸ™‚

    This is ridiculous..she should atleast say sorry to you..like in saritha’s case that food blog person said sorry..

    Belated Happy bday to king khan πŸ™‚

    Like

  22. Whoa in one evening its done !!!!!! pinch me someone.. !!!!!! by the time I got over the excitement first of India v Australia and the disappointment later of losing the match the problem has already been solved !!!!!!!! that site too off everything !!!!! fantastic.. !!!

    Like

  23. IM,I think the site has been taken off..I’m trying to open this Shetal shah’s site it says

    Not Found

    Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn’t here.

    Hats off,IHM! You’ve successfully managed to pluck the culprit out his/her root.

    Plagiarism is increasingly becoming a serious issue.

    Like

  24. Your flowers reached that plagarist and she removed your post,there are no post in that site.

    Hugs IHM, to write every topic which is admired by all and even this plagarism you tackled excellently πŸ™‚

    Loved the title πŸ™‚

    Like

  25. Blogs are supposed to be the thoughts of the person who is writing them. Why do people plagarise? Dont they have anything better to do or an original thought to express? Loved your heading BTW

    Like

  26. anyways good 2 hear finally U caught the black sheep.Few years back a blog-plagiarism happened to a few mallu bloggers by a famous website.One lady protested(injipennu).But they threatened her.Finally around 150 bloggers joined together and fighted aganist them and in the end they removed all the articles(copied) and apologized.
    Check these links for details
    Link1
    Link2
    Link3

    Like

  27. Hey !!! Gud job by you and the fellow bloggers, that the site doesnt open now. BTW, the title is quite gud – truly apt.

    But it was shocking to me, when I read it yday.

    The blog pages, which we create with so much passion, research, effort, are so close to our heart. And this plagiarism just rips us to pieces !!!! But thank God, you’ve been strong and has set a true example for all the fellow bloggers to follow.

    Let us join hands towards the fight against plagiarism !!!! IHM, pl do put up a separate page, listing all the plagiarised sites, whatever info you have. Let us all contribute towards that, whenever we get to know of something.

    Like

  28. he he…nicely done IHM!

    Gandhigiri always rules πŸ™‚

    Jokes apart, its a horrible thing to do…all of us bloggers use this space with trust that our original words will not be misused and some people just spoil the fun by lifting entire blogs and pass off as their work.
    here’s hoping that person has some shame and sees the error of their ways…

    Cheers!

    Like

  29. i just went to that site….

    and i have to tell u what i felt –

    Hee Haw Haw Haw Haw Haw Haw *cough cough* Haw Haw Haw Haw Haw!!!!!!

    Its off IHM!!!! YAYIE!!! Hi-5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    *all bloggers dance and sing*

    Jo soche….jo chahe….woh karke dikhade…..
    Hum woh hai…jo plagiarists ko naani yaad dilaade!!!!

    πŸ˜† :mrgreen:

    am glad its gone IHM! hugsssssss

    Like

  30. IHM, It is wonderful that she has taken off all the plagiarized content off! This is great! I just hope that this serves as a warning to anybody else planning to do the same..

    Gandhigiri definitely works πŸ™‚

    Like

  31. Darn IHM, i think its been removed, I so wanted to read the copy 😦

    Me – Click on the Home above, I haven’t removed the screen shot… you can see the last post they published from Indian Homemaking 😦

    Like

  32. So sad that people steal not only other peoples’ property and wealth but also others’ ideas, thoughts and memories and publish them as their own. Are they earning any name , fame or money out of it. Shame on them. Incidently all thsoe links that you have mentioned are not opening and it seems they have wisely withdrawn.

    Me – Maybe someone immature, I am just glad it’s withdrawn. You know I was more shocked when I read posts like Paalak paranthas, from my everyday life – that is difficult to understand, they had shown it all written by someone called Indian Homemaking 😦

    Like

  33. Ha ha ! Seems like your Gandhigiri has worked very fast !

    Me – Yes I really glad… and click on Home page to take a look of what it looked like earlier – I had put up a screen shot yesterday…

    Like

  34. I checked it and it’s gone. Great going IHM for the action you took! That person got scared off!! Really, some people are so blatantly shameful. I wonder how they think they won’t be found out, on the world wide web!!!

    Like

  35. IHM you did a good thing by posting this. The posts are gone. SO that proves it wasnt a bot-blog but a person copying from yours! I was so amused that they also copied the JKG results post….I mean…..really?

    Like

  36. You should get a creative commons license and out it up. I have seen some of my posts copied and reposted on a couple of blogs but they all looked like bots and I didnt bother because they dont even turn up on google search. But thihs didnt seem like a bot(or it would have posted this post of yours as well!)

    Like

    • lol!!! I said 100th forgetting that u have comment moderation on!!!

      Anyways, this is not surprising but shocking!!! I mean how come ppl have the guts to do such things!!!!

      Good that u at least are aware now and am sure she will stop the foolishness!!!

      Like

  37. Guess I am late for the party. The site is gone and reading all the outrage, I don’t think they are trying it anytime soon. So congrats!

    I understand how you might feel. It’s YOUR work, YOUR baby. No one else has any rights on it. So my sympathies (though late)..

    On a lighter note: they say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. I just wished they haven’t used “ctri-c + ctrl-v” instead of imitating your writing form..

    Like

  38. its all removed now… and I am really happy that its tracked down and contents are removed completely… πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I don’t know how one take credits for others works 😦

    Like

  39. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

    Guess Shetal Shah couldn’t handle so many of us lined up at her doorstep with this expression. IHM one more reason to party. Congrats and kudos to Crafty Cuty…..

    Like

  40. Glad to know that everything is back to normal !!!

    Oh, Im late here because I had to speak to PM regarding your issue πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Me – What did the PM say?

    Like

  41. Just saw the website, the content has been removed, but using other way i checked the content, and yes its same one after another same.
    Flowers have already shown the effect.

    Like

  42. oh this is sick… i had discovered that some of mine was copied sometime back but when i wrote to that guy he removed it atleast

    it had happened to kiran also and that too on her post for her feeling abt her hubby’s now can that be same?????????

    Like

  43. Maybe it’s bcoz, I am still not a veteran blogger, but I find it really weird. We blog to express ourselves, and if someone needs to copy-paste to do that, what is the whole point of it? How cheap can ppl get!

    Like

  44. What shameless people we have around!
    But anyway it looks as if we have seen the last of Sheet-Al-Shah πŸ˜‰ RIP

    Me – It’s is a relief Scorpiogenius. I just never thought this could or would ever really happen. Thanks for commenting and supporting. Without this support this would have been impossible to handle.

    Like

  45. hi πŸ™‚
    so finally the copy cat became a scaredy cat n ran way!

    i really admired the way ur friends supported u!
    U r soo lucky to have such cool friends!

    Btw im rakesh,hopped frm vimmus blog.
    And i must say ur blog is simply awesome!

    Me – Welcome Rakesh πŸ™‚ I have read your comments, it’s great to meet you πŸ™‚ That copy cat had gone, but came back! Now she claims she has SOURCED the content from Indian Home Maker’s blog,

    Like

  46. Pingback: Seven things about your friendly neighbourhood blogger :) « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

