Babe In Total Control Of Herself – B.I.T.C.H.

This post is inspired by Gender Equality by Vimmuuu🙂

What’s wrong with using a common noun like Bitch?

The word “bitch” has long been in use to refer to a woman in contempt, as shown in an 1811 dictionary which describes bitch as “the most offensive appellation that can be given to an English woman, even more provoking than that of whore.

According to the Oxford English Dictionary , bitch acquired its taboo status in the 19 th century, during the Victorian era.

2. A term of abuse for a woman, from its standard meaning of female dog.

3. A prostitute.

4. Street slang for one’s habitual sexual partner.

Some more definitions from Urban Dictionary.com

Annoying and whining female.

A woman that doesn’t give a flying f*ck anymore and that can and will be cruel to men.

Can you call a man Bitch?

It seems so. Generally, this term is used to indicate that the person is acting outside the confines of their gender roles. (Read more here)

Meredith Brooks sings ‘I am a Bitch.

Sometimes the term is used defiantly,  as seen below😉

(click for ordering)

I DON'T HAVE PMS I AM ALWAYS A B.I.T.C.H.Bitch: Feminist Response to Pop Culture, a print magazine devoted to feminist analysis and media criticism.

Bitch

When it’s being used as an insult, “bitch” is an epithet hurled at women who speak their minds, who have opinions and don’t shy away from expressing them…

Bitch

…Gradually it’s coming to mean ‘Babe In Total Control of Herself’

When I stand up for those I love, they call me a bitch.

When I speak my mind, think my own thoughts, or do things my own way, they call me a bitch.

Being a bitch means I won’t compromise what’s in my heart.

It means I live my life my way.

It means I won’t allow anyone to step on me.

When I refuse to tolerate injustice and speak against it, I am defined as a bitch.

The same thing happens when I take time for myself instead of being everyone’s maid….

(click to read more)

Do dogs have an opinion on being considered metaphors for so much evil?

Find out from this 55 Words Fiction.

“You man!!”

“Me a man?! You’ve seen me bully a female? Ever? …You woman then!”

“I don’t shriek at the sight of a frightened little mouse!!!”

“Would I kill baby seals for skin…?”

“Would I ever wear that skin!?”

Both looking sheepish:

“We are fighting like humans!”

ROTFL

Wagging…

Grinning.

“Aww… they’re only human!”

Finally I found this video on You Tube… someone called Me singing, I am Bitch by Meredith Brooks.

60 thoughts on “Babe In Total Control Of Herself – B.I.T.C.H.

  1. WOW !! Does that mean I can now use it both as a compliment and a curse word ?😉 Thanks IHM, I already feel that my knowledge has soared several folds after reading this post.
    Nitwit Nastik this post is in response to this conversation,
    Tring Tring

    He: Hello?
    She : Hey DOG, where have you been? [Photo]
    He : Very much here, BITCH!

    She : Disgusting fellow. Is this how you refer a woman?
    He : Why ? Bitch is the female word for Dog! Refer me as a man, and I would reciprocate similarly. Gender Equality, ma’am!

    She : Call me DOGESS, then !
    He : Whaaaaaaaaa ?????

    Like

  2. Bitch , most often is an utterance out of frustration, jealousy, passion or any such extreme emotion. Mostly, the girl is branded a bitch when she achieves more as compared to others, or when she insists in being an independent individual, a kind of social blasphemy in our society.

    Or this is what I feel

    Absolutely rebel!! This is exactly what it is. Some of the defiant gestures aim to mock the labeling.

    Like

  3. Good post!!! Loved the hoodie… wonder if I can find it somewhere…

    Going the way it is, it’ll be cool to be called a bitch not too far into the future… Babe In Total Control of Herself indeed🙂

    DewdropDream click on the image for more colours, styles, sizes etc, and the price and how to order…

    In India Tantra has similar and many more messages on T shirts:)

    Like

  4. Funny! Living in the UK I am soo use to hearing the word, being called and (I shouldn’t admit to it) using it in all contents as you have mentioned above. Hence today, it make no difference to me. I admit it’s not a nice word but I’ve heard much worser language. I think studying construction and being around guys most the time, you get use abusive language.

    And with what vimmuuu had written, I personally (you may disagree), was fair for the guy to call the girl a bitch because I don’t think it was nice or fair for the girl to call him a dog.

    I agree, it was!! Can’t imagine why would anyone greet someone like that!! I guess dog should (under the circumstances) be responded to with an equally offensive dogess🙂

    I believe if you dish it out, you have to be able to take it in return. Although like myself and a lot of girls, I would prefer be called a dogess than a bitch because it sounds nicer.

    LOL ..it’s not right to insult poor loyal, loving dogs like this🙂 Do people actually use ‘dogess’?? I have never heard of it!! But seeing how bitch is used I think we do need a new word for a female dog!

    BUT what you have written was very educational. Thank you!😀

    Badz, I have just noticed how we are using the term even for inanimate objects and also or males!! Languages do evolve!!

    Like

  5. It is okay to be a Biatch sometimes.😀

    I agree Solilo! Quoting from Allytude’s link,Someday I hope we get beyond the name-calling, but until then take pride in some bitchiness. It may just mean you are acting like a human being instead of an invertebrate. It may just mean you are living your life.

    Like

  6. geeeeeee… never knew bitch was that serious a term, nor did we need to use it much…

    however I must say this… the dogs have all the right to be offended… we humans are the worst race…. so if they are given our names… geee… they have all the right to feel offended….

    they are lovely animals… !

    Absolutely, HW I find it incorrect of us to animals as metaphors for all evil! And good values are called ‘human values’

    Like

  7. somehow (and i do not know if this is common) the boys i’ve known always abuse each other in a rather affectionate way. yes, we call each other bitch, but the immediate implications seem to depend on the tone+context. i’ve heard it used when expressing admiration, disgust, joy, boredom or even as a verbal nod.

    Yeah I agree, I have noticed this too. It can mean from totally derogatory to admiring and awestruck!

    Like

    • Of course and not only them; women like Mallika Sarabhai too because she has the guts to oppose a patriarch politician.

      Like

  8. Nowadays, I think it mainly refers to strong, out-spoken women who are not afraid to speak their mind and are not apologetic for living life on their own terms. The person who hurls this ‘abuse’ is actually afraid/jealous/envious, maybe even in awe of said ‘bitch’ and doesn’t quite know how to behave with/around her. It actually shows up a lot of insecurity the person might be feeling.

    I agree mama mia me a mamma, when it is used as an insult in the user’s mind it is the worst possible thing hecould say for a woman, when women use it against women, they use it more as meaning – spiteful, mean, evil etc.
    Though I have seen it being used as a compliment also! And now it is being used for men also, all the time now, specially amongst the younger teenagers.

    Like

  9. IHM!!I left a comment here yesterday!😦
    within minutes of your post going up!😦😦
    I do NOT like WP! 😦

    I missed that comment, it’s my loss😦

    Randy calls someone Dawg on American Idol..and its considered good😀
    others say Biatch in just the tone of Solilo and thats considered part of vocab too🙂

    I would prefer not to be called dog or bitch or dogess😀 or even calling anyone that but yeah if it means that I know my mind and dont take s**** from anyone then by all means call me one !

    I agree I can’t imagine using or accepting the usage either. I also feel calling someone a Dog cannot be compared to to calling someone a bitch. The meaning is much more than gender change.

    Like

    • Abhi, Name calling in any form is hurtful but as IHM says ‘Bitch’ is much more than gender change. It is mainly associated with women who don’t listen, women who defy. Basically, women who form a clique.

      No one wants to be called a Bitch.

      But according to me it is okay to be a Biatch at times. It is necessary and I enjoy that. Men can be Biatches too and worst kind. Still the tag is associated only with women😦

      Like

      • I agree about being a biatch – this word is not used the way the regular term is. And it has none of the associations that bitch has.

        I was reading yesterday, the word ‘biatch’ evolved to avoid censorship🙂
        Also Bitch is an extremely versatile term, depending on the tone, mood, timing etc it can mean many different things.

        When it is used to offend, it is effective.

        Like

      • I agree Solilo …it sure is okay to be a biatch at times if it means that one refuses to bow down to stupid ‘rules’
        and yeah completely agree men can be worse…
        but like you say and IHM says too its always the women for whom all the derogatory terms are reserved😦

        Indyeah, although it is offensive, but just think why is it so offensive? it’s just words! Do we allow any Tom, Dick and Harry to humiliate us? What can be better than laughing at an angry MCP expecting you to cringe while he self righteously throws ‘dishonorable’ words at you? Reminds me of the woman in Chocolat…

        Like

  10. on a diff nore IHM I do hate it when people take an insult and turn it into an acronym as they have done with bitch…coz its still an insult no matter what we might try to call it…
    I agree Indyeah. The acronym is a defiance but it does not take away the intent of the insult. And you will most insults are women related, I have been meaning to write a post on how SOB, Bastard, common Hindi curse words are all basically insults to the honor of the women in the family, even the not taken to seriously, Sala. It’s like what can be more precious to a man or woman than ‘their’ women’s honor…. reinforces that belief, so acronyms are an attempt like PCC…. will post about it.

    I would rather stick with non gender specific words and insults which will not be turned into acronyms

    Absolutely Indyeah!!Me too.

    Like

    • Agree with Indy here – it is still an insult. Just framing an acronym to make it sound an accolade is innovative but still doesn’t make you feel good if you hear it.

      Absolutely agree Rakesh, what I was saying was that they kind of threw it back on the face of the insulter… like see how Imp’s Mom says she did🙂

      On a diff. note, Hindi language is a lot more unbiased – You see, we hear “Kutte” a lot more than we hear “Kutiya”…

      LOl but even in Hindi most insults aim at the ‘honor’ of the women in the man’s family!!

      Like

      • ‘Kutte’ was made popular by our own Dharmendra paaji in Hindi films but you go to a galli-mohalla and you can see that ‘kutiya’ isn’t uncommon.

        Just recently on Anderson Cooper 360°, Rubina Ali’s mother and step-mother were pulling each other’s hair and showering such swear words.

        Like

        • I dunno much but I always tell my wife to never trust a male… I always tell her all men are dogs…

          Even to my a couple of female cousins… !!!

          lol… I dont know where that puts me.. but its a fact… all men are dogs !

          Bout the women… ummm…. I like them better !!!!😉

          Like

        • yep! Kutiya and otehr such gender specific words are very much used in the gali mohallas..some that cant be written down…

          And it all boils down to a woman’s honor and how easy it is to destroy the fragile but very precious honor with mere words!

          Like

  11. the prob i have with the word bitch, it is used most often as an insult, to degrade… a woman… very few women come out of such an interaction unscathed.

    I agree, Imp’s Mom.

    In college whenever we were called bitch, we just turned around and said Babe In Control Of Herself… and loved the astonished look on the faces… totally worth it!

    Reminds me of that ad, “The look on their faces, Priceless!!” And no matter how annoyed we are I guess this is the best response to give…
    Read Chocolat Imp’s Mom – the book is different from the movie, it’s about a wonderful mom and her little, adorable Imp …(amongst many other things) I would love to hear what you think of it.

    loved ur 55er

    Thank you🙂

    lol

    Like

    • Will read the book, though I think when you compare the book v/s the movie, the book always rock!

      btw am too lazy to log out and change the name😛

      Like

  12. Nice homework.

    Personally speaking, I don’t think ‘bitch’ should be a synonym for ‘cool’ or anything synonymous to that because at the end of the day, it’s still an abuse for me.

    I agree D, it is still an abuse but now it is used otherwise also. Even for men, even affectionately, I think languages change and evolve like this, there was a time guys meant boys…
    And although it still has all the power to inflict an insult even today, but the sarcasm and confidence of the acronym can kind of dilutes the impact and the newer meanings makes it possible to give back, what can be better than being able to say, “You Bitch!” to every ‘Bitch’? ( As in “you shut up”. to every ‘shut up’)? …this otherwise was almost impossible.

    Like

  13. IHM I think its ok and needed to be a bitch at times, and i love the tittle of ur post one of my fav line to people

    Monika I feel if we stop feeling insulted, nobody can insult us! How can just a five letter word manage to make us feel humiliated? So I it’s one of my fav lines too- it’s the perfect answer to anybody attempting to use the word for any independent woman😉

    Like

  14. Some time back, in a book shop i came across a book , why men prefer to marry Bitch? it sounded odd…when i browsed and read few pages, it meant stronger women..

    Now i understand the term bitch..babe in total control of herself?

    Like

  15. u reminded me of a tee i had seen once that read “you call me a bitch like its a bad thing!”😀

    lovely post IHM! yeah, being called a Bitch for all the right reasons like standing one’s ground, and ensuring u don’t take nonsense just coz ur a woman – its all totally cool! maybe even flattering?!

    ur 55er!! sigh! ur r so added to my literary favs list. as i mentioned in earlier 55er, am making a book….

    u know what got me smiling really broad??
    the ROTFL u threw in….i don’t have words to express how subtly fitting that was to the subject / characters!!!

    u rock IHM!!!

    Like

  16. ((Gulp))…never knew that would inspire anyone for a post !! I really dont know if I should feel honored and privileged or if I should hide my face right now😀

    Anyway, very informative post (ahem ahem) and you have excellently done an in-depth analysis on that word😀

    Ok, on a serious note, my post wasnt meant to hurt anyone. I was just bringing out the lighter side of the whole thing. Hope it didn’t offend any souls anywhere🙂

    That’s my line Vimmuuu, you can’t say that!!
    “My post wasn’t meant to hurt anyone. I was just bringing out the lighter side of the whole thing. Hope it didn’t offend any souls anywhere :)”

    Like

  17. see a lot of stuff in that post was news to me.. mostly the history of the word and things like that… even though i know the word can be used in multiple ways with multiple connotations ,and i have enuf friends who use the word freely, it just doesnt roll easy on my tongue..

    PS: i just realised i didnt use The Word even once in my comment… boy !!am i miserable or wat! lol

    Like

  18. Yeah there seem to be a new interpretation of the word “Babe In Total Control of Herself”. Still that does change the fact that its a swear word.

    I do agree that in a way, it is interpreted about strong and independent women🙂

    Like

  19. nope can’t accept this , it insults all those poor homeless creatures who get crushed under vehicles , who get stones thrown at them and who make us all remember that blue cross.. see man tamed wolves to dogs and those females he calls a bitch..maybe ? ha well I am not the feminist around😛

    Like

  20. What I loved the best is the 55er…

    I wonder why “dog” n “bitches” are swear words!

    As far as i know.. its coz the bitch if very hungry.. or if the puppy is not quick enough eats them sometimes… So calling a woman “bitch” means she is someone who is not a perfect mother.. i.e not a perfect woman…

    Well but then.. dogs/bitches r so loving and so loyal.. One should feel proud of being a dog.. Cant say the same about a human no?

    I think the best response is to be proud of being a “bitch” then giving some rehashed acronym.. but then that’s just me🙂

    Like

  21. I have heard it being used on super achievers. Trust you to come up with an entire informative post on one word🙂 Reminds me of school days where when used to describe ourselves in slam books we used to write I am a pig— Pretty Indian Girl🙂

    Like

    • You’re one hardcord feminist! You picked out the weakness in street English and armtwisted it. So, there’s no word for female “dud”? Or is there no such thing as a female dud? May I suggest “dudtrix”?😉

      LOL@dudtrix… I think now we are using dude for females also🙂 Ketan, I am a hardcore humanist. I admit that injustice against anyone – including animals, children, women, dalits, minorities, ‘outsiders’, immigrants makes me mad. It makes me madder when religion, history, tradition or culture is used to excuse these….

      Like

      • That’s an admirable trait. Unfortunately, somewhere down the line I’ve become passive about all the kinds of injustices, though I try to be as fair as “practically” possible.

        You could say I’ve given up on humanity😦 Though am getting ideas about “dog-ity”🙂

        TC.

        🙂 Ketan please do take a look… Read this, this is why I liked your posts on Atheism.

        Like

        • Well, I’m an out and out atheist. Which is not to mean, I’ve never been a believer. I used to believe the way you believe in God till I was 15. Then I turned a panentheist, then a deist, then agnostic, and as of now a negative atheist (I’d strongly recommend you too looking up all these terms on Wikipedia if you don’t know their precise meanings).
          I am clueless about panentheist and deist.. sounds like deity+ believer.. Yes I will need to check up.

          But I truly admire your keen sense of observation and the conclusions you’ve been able to draw about life on your own motivation.

          Because it’s this ability to observe, think, conclude and apply that distinguishes us from the “lower” animals.

          I’d very strongly recommend the book, “The necessity of Atheism”, which you could download legally for free, and read on your PC (rtf format) as well as cell phone (jar format). I won’t say the book altered my views a lot about God and religion, but transformed me from agnostic to negative atheist. I’ll put up the link shortly on my blogpot blog.

          I will get the link from your blog🙂

          It’s very worrying the way your traffic analyzing friend said “If I didn’t know you better, I’d think you’re an atheist!!”. It indicates such a strong prejudice that atheists can’t be good human beings.

          Nastik is also used as an ..err expletive, you know?🙂 Yes many people think being an atheist might mean youa re not godfearing and are more likely to commit sin…🙂

          I’ve no idea of what all you’ve read in life, but had you got opportunity to understand science, psychology and philosophy better, you MIGHT have also turned agnostic or atheist. But which is not to mean that I don’t respect you for how you’ve turned out, just that there’s a whole range of arguments and philosophies that you might have not explored. By saying this I’m not implying that I’m wiser than you, but that I’ve been in your place (philosophically), so have wider panoramic view of the whole thing🙂 I’d recommend another blog to you: “Atheism: Proving the negative” (which is also in my recommendation list on blogspot).

          I will definitely take a look at that.

          Oh, did I tell you, I enjoy your blogs and have added you to my “I recommend” list on blogpot? So, I think I’ll eventually end up reading all your blogs.

          I am honored!!🙂

          TC.

          Like

        • Hi!

          I’ve posted the link to the book on the top in the side panel under the title ‘Influences’. It’d take you 6 to 10 h to go through it depending upon your speed and how interesting you find it🙂

          I look forward to reading it.

          Since any kind of atrocities committed get you really worked up, I’d only suggest ‘fasten your seatbelts!’

          LOL🙂

          In my previous comment ‘panentheism’ is to be read as ‘pantheism’. Both words are in existence and quite disparate in their meanings. Yes, Deism is VERY different from what you’ve guessed😉

          But you will not give the meaning here!!!
          TC.

          Like

        • Oh, I honestly didn’t realize you were curious about their meanings. The problem is I type through cell phone and that makes it very tedious, plus what I say might be diluted by my own interpretation.

          This is the Wikipedia article on Atheism, and it’ll give you an excellent overview of classification of religious nonbelief!

          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atheism

          It’s a featured article, and since I’ve an extensive experience of editing Wikipedia, I could tell you it’s bound to be of the highest possible quality.

          TC.

          PS:
          1. Deism–belief that God does not interfere in the workings of the Universe after drafting the fundamental rules (laws of physics and axioms of mathematics). So this belief makes idea of prayer helping people redundant as God WILL NOT INTERFERE! These are largely the believers who can’t accept that such a complex Universe could have come into existence ‘on its own’ and that it ‘couldn’t have a purpose’.
          2. Pantheism–Universe/Nature (its laws) itself is the God. Like when you exclaim, “nature has made the human body so complex!”
          3. Panentheism–God is an all-pervasive force and Universe is the tangible manifestation of this force. And that this force (God) is not ‘concentrated’ at one place and time (say, a temple) but present HOMOGENEOUSLY everywhere and all the time.

          All these definitions are petty crude, and oversimplifications, so I suggested that article to you.

          Ketan Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!! I am not sure which of these is my belief. Thanks for the link also!

          Like

        • May I suggest panentheism? You don’t believe in anthropomorphic (attributing human-like physical, emotional and moral qualities to) God, do you? Each type of belief has its subclassifications! I thought you’d be confused, hence the suggestion to read the article! I’m not sure if there are online surveys, which tell you about your belief on the basis of your answers to the questions. You may try finding out!

          TC.

          Like

  22. I think we are unnecessarily insulting dogs and dogesse’s (??).

    I agree!!! Absolutely. That is why the 55er in the end🙂

    Some words like Paradesi actually means foreigner but some how (maybe judging by the tone) people assume it is a swear word! I think most of the insults are assumed ones rather than intended ones!!

    Destination Infinity
    Not sure abut this DI, I would not like to be called any names where the intention is open to misinterpretation🙂

    Like

  23. Interesting take on the origin and evolution of the word, bitch. I myself don’t use the B word and I feel it’s very demeaning and derogatory to women.

    But personally I don’t feel bitch should be interpreted as a synonym for an independent woman either because it’s misleading. I mean, does an independent woman have to fit the usual parameters for being a ‘bitch?’ There are thousands of women who speak their mind and don’t toe the line when it comes to their choices, and they are highly regarded for those qualities – and no one calls them bitches either.

    And, I don’t like the word ‘babe’ either as a synonym for a cool, modern woman. I think it plays to the stereotypes and ends up branding women as commodities. My personal opinion though🙂

    I absolutely agree Mystic Margarita! The acronym is only a defiance, to take away the humiliation that a mere word can make us feel. It shouldn’t. All that it implies should also not be humiliating, because it’s none of their business anyway. I am sure, the mother in Chocolat would be considered one .. read the book?

    Like

  24. This is educational!

    Never knew that this word was also used for women who stood for their rights and refused to surrender their individuality..

    It is used by those who are jealous of them. Both, men and women use it.

    but then some girls can be “bitches” for all the wrong reasons too..

    Happy Kitten I am sure both some girls, and some boys can be ‘bitches’ for all the wrong reasons too…;)

    Like

  25. Misquoting Shakespeare: “What’s in a name? A bitch by any other name would just bite as bad!”

    Generally if she has to protect her babies or in self defence. Admire her for both.

    Like

    • Arrey, that was said in jest. Hope Shakespeare doesn’t mind, though.

      On a serious note, I’ve very rarely used the term. And when I have, it was in reference only to those I truly believed to be sinister. I hope nobody wants to entirely discount the existence of sinister females.

      Woof!

      Ketan I generally avoid attributing gender to characteristics… like courage, anger, violence, aggresstion are not really ‘manly’ qualities, we see enough women who have all these in abundance (often named tom boys, shrews, manly etc). A lot of this is social conditioning… take a look at this...

      Like

      • IHM,

        I think I didn’t make myself clear enough, and good you replied to give me an opportunity to clarify.

        First, I’ve not implied that there are no sinister males. Just that “he’s such a bitch” would sound funny,

        Ketan all I meant is that the word is used for men also. (Just stating a fact) Sometimes even affectionately.

        and not convey my frustration to those around, which I think is the purpose of swear-words. I might use the other B*-word for men who truly get me angry. But again, my getting that angry that I come down to explitives is exceedingly rare.

        Second, there’s a PHONETIC reason words like bitch are in vogue as explitives (this is my hypothesis). Such (which help one vent their frustration) words are short and begin and end with hard syllables. Think of: SHiT, F*CK, SuCK, “KuTTa”, aSS, DaMn, SHuT uP, PiG, heLL. Doesn’t BitCH seem to fit in phonetically (I’ve capitalized the stress-venting syllables that we utter)? And if they’re long, they usually also have hard syllables in the middle (of the word), like BaSTarD, and so many not so elitist “gali’s” one hears on the street. Even for a male, the way society sees it, ‘effeminate’ would be considered quite offensive, but still one doesn’t see it used as an explitive simply because it’d not serve the above phonetic function and sounds so technical! So you must have heard “CHHaKKaa” used a lot more even speaking in English. For the same reasons ‘STuPid’ is used a lot more than ‘unintelligent’, BuLL-SHiT more than ‘fairy tale’ or ‘lie’. The ‘o’ in ‘Dog’ tends to be overdrawn (like ‘Dooog’) and so one can’t really stress on the ‘g’ if one wants to speak prop-ah English. And if one stresses on the ‘g’, it’d come off as Gujarati or Marathi accent! And similarly, dog-ess will also not have the same effect. But yes, even otherwise dog is not taken as that offensive in English. So, if you’re trying to discourage the use of ‘bitch’ because of gender-specific connotation, then you’re banging your head against the wall from the wrong side (as I explained, gender is not the only reason the word is abusive).

        I was just explaining how the word is used, and all it’s meanings ….

        Third, I’ve seen some fundamental differences between the two genders. Gender equality (according to me) is not about overlooking totally the differences. It’s about acknowledging them and valuing the roles those differences enable either gender to play. Absolute generalization is foolish, but there are TENDENCIES. So there are exceptions also who must not be ridiculed and looked at as aberrations.

        Ketan, generalisations are all I object to. I think we all need to be given the opportunity to find happiness in the only lives we have, without being forced to fit-in somebody’s ideas of how we must behave.

        Hope I made sense! Won’t mind discussing the gender differences I’ve noted.
        🙂 I am not disagreeing about the gender differences Ketan, in fact I go a step ahead and say each individual is different… I say let’s live and let live, you can’t disagree with that?!!!🙂

        TC.

        Like

        • Oh ok, if you were only trying to enlist the various connotations associated. I thought you were also wondering why the term is used in the first place. If you decide to do a post on expletives, I hope my comments would be of help😉

          Yeah sure, I definitely plan to do a post on expletives in near future Ketan🙂

          No of course, I can’t disagree with the last thing at all. But one shouldn’t be so afraid of disagreements at all. If everyone agreed with each other, what would we talk about? And such a situation must definitely petrify an avid blogger like you.🙂

          Lol You know I am not afraid of disagreement… it’s just that sometimes one might need to agree to disagree also. I already know where I strongly agree with you!

          TC.

          Like

  26. Am very late in reaching this post, IHM – blame me weekend! Wonderful post .

    Despite the defiant take – which I really like, I still feel that calling/being called a bitch has strong gender tones – which I find absolutely disgusting.. I, personally would not call anybody that – nor would like to be called that…

    I agree with you that we cannot be insulted – if we do not consider something insulting.. Guess thats why the defiant take is so important!

    That is the only reason Smitha, we should be able to mock the insulter.

    Also because in the first place most of the definitions of the word should not even be considered insults. What a woman does in her free time, the kind of relationships she has with the how many men (or women) is her personal life ….

    Like

  27. Pingback: What the hell is difference between a homemaker and a porn star? | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  28. Pingback: Is it possible to insult someone who doesn’t value your opinion of them? | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

