What I don’t like about being a mother.

What I don’t like about being a mother.

Fussy eaters,

Messy rooms,

Too much TV, too much face book,

Too much junk food…

Walking bare foot …

Long hair,

A dislike for cleanliness

Muddy shoes on the carpet

Tears and tantrums

Stitches on the chin, cold, chicken pox and sprained ankles

All are a part of growing up?

Woolen jacket left at home on a cold day,

Forgetting lunch boxes at home.

Acne and dandruff.

Staying up till late,

Full dinner plates stuffed in the fridge with red gravy tricking into everything else…

Pizza for breakfast, Pepsi instead of milk,

Clothes on the floor, smelly socks in the study table drawers

All these don’t upset me.

But I don’t like being a mother when there are riots in the city.

Last minute waking up to school projects,

A ten year old prepared for Maths on the day of History exam.

New water bottles, endless thirst, and a wet kitchen floor.

New bicycles and scraped knees.

Skateboard practice in the living room,

Football in the kitchen

A yet uncut birthday cake all over a new dress.

Licking cake batter perched on the kitchen counter.

Books forgotten in the balcony during monsoons,

An ironed bed-sheet thrown on the dining table to create a doll’s house underneath

Finding a personal diary on the sofa, with complains about your disciplining.

Letters to Santa asking for a forbidden Puppy.

Egg in the wardrobe to make it hatch.

Old videos of two sulking faces, refusing to pose.

Cards proclaiming undying love to Papa, all incorrectly spelled.

Almost toppling you, with violent hugging.

Long, lanky, awkward arms

On stage singing out of tune.

Singing louder to the whole building from the bathroom.

Picnics in the society park and a favorite basket left behind;

A summer camp most hated and an old camera lost forever,

Trying to light a camp fire inside a quilt.

Dance classes, music classes, karate classes, drama classes – left half way because of boredom.

Fancy dress parties, and hating the outfit!

Refusing to get out of the swimming pool.

Wanting to drive today because ‘all friends do’.

Tasting turpentine at 15 months.

Crying because the home work is not done …

Crying because the biggest enemy has scored more…

Laughing hysterically because the sibling is clowning foolishly ..

I think I like everything about being a mother.

Except the helpless feeling you get when you feel this world does not deserve children. Meaningless violence, wars, rioting frighten me like they never did before.

I don’t like that about being a mother.


Monika and Goofy Mumma tagged me write this post about What I like best about being a mother. Thank You for tagging me!! I love all Mommy tags, but I changed this one slightly 🙂

I would like to pass this tag to

Imp’s Mom

Varunavi

Solilo

Happy Kitten

Shail

Usha Pisharody

Prerna

Abha

The Ruminator

Amrutha

Sandhya

Mampi

Ritu Harish

I would also like to pass this tag to some great dads in the blogosphere,

Rakesh

Masood

Hitchwriter

Charakan

Mavin

Mr Gopinath

Mr Balvinder Singh

Mr Joshi

84 thoughts on “What I don’t like about being a mother.

    • hehee 🙂 vo bhi hai!
      u know, i read on a blog recently that her dad calls her by full name when he is irritated by her and she calls him pitaji in such times :p
      but hey it was a great read, i loved noticing a mom like u out there…

      Like

  1. “A ten year old prepared for Maths on the day of History exam.” <<— This one is so funny..Lol..Did it really happen??Aww….

    Yeah he did really copy the time table wrong … I was annoyed then, but I think it is really just amusing now 🙂

    Infact all the points are so cute, I read it twice..You make me miss my childhood suddenly.:-(. I have been away from my parents since I was 15 ( remember I was thrown out my school and then had to go to a boarding school ), and I am 23 now and still have no clue when can I stay with my mom and dad.

    Hey IHM, where is your ‘blog roll’, like the one that was there in Blogspot? I have written a 55 word thingi as you once advised me to try it out. You will also be surprised to see the ‘strike throughs’ that I have invented in Blogspot.;-)!

    Chikki it’s taking so long to add all those to this blog… 😦
    But let me come and read your 55er now 🙂

    Like

  2. 🙂 LOL…..

    What lol?? That’s not considered a comment!
    🙂
    No sympathy? Consider yourself also tagged, let’s see if you cna write a post on what you don’t like about being a son!!

    Like

    • IHM,
      Hahahaha 🙂 no sympathy from me 😉 (just kidding) LOL…..

      I used to love seeing my mom struggle to bring up two brats!!!!…. she must have gone thru it all, and that is why I said LOL!!!! 🙂 brought back memories…. 🙂
      Tag will be difficult…. will try…. 😀

      Solilo, okay, I will stop copying Vichu!!! 🙂 LOL

      Like

  3. Oh God, my mom wouldve gone through most of the outside torture that you had written here in addition to the 9 months of inside torture 😀

    I should do a post opposite to this; what I dont like about being a son?. What say ??? LOL

    That would be really sweet Vimmuuu 🙂 Really do this … consider yourself tagged!!!
    (I hope you understood I meant that I love all these things, in fact everything about being a mother – I just dislike the worries that come along with being parents.)

    Like

  4. IHM, I had goosebumps reading this and also got emotional. I think this is one of the best Mom posts I have ever read. Simple words and you said everything that there was to be said. Thanks for tagging. I think if mine was a teenager then I would have just copy-pasted this one 😀

    I was almost laughing at
    “Cards proclaiming undying love to Papa, all incorrectly spelled.
    Almost toppling you, with violent hugging.”

    Peanut too jumps onto me to hug and most times I topple. 😆

    Like

  5. IHM, I love the fact that you tagged Dads too. Poor guys often miss out on such tags. 😀

    When Monica and GM tagged me for the same, I thought that I would tag the Dads too. Now see with double tagging they have to write a mushy (may be hilarious in Hitchy’s case) post too.

    Like

        • Well…. well well….

          First up this is a fantastic tag !!! Must say and wonderfully done… IHM, so many places it was so touching…. I loved the way you wrote… things like prepared for history exams on the day of Maths paper…. 😎 yea my Mom used to have a night mares… !! 😛

          I think I am going to go bonkers with this tag !! 😀

          I think I ll write this one first, by putting myself in my Mom’s position… I am at my Moms and I think I will get her to give me a few inputs….:) lets do that one first… than about being a son and than about doing a father…. 🙂

          Now I suddenly have a few to many things to blog about….

          As if anything can be too many things for you, you are blogging all the time Hitchwriter, we are waiting for you judge one more conest here, finish your tags and come back to be our judge fast!! You can demand biryani again!!

          Also some funny things about my FIL 😉 he he he…..

          🙂 Yeah, yeah go ahead! 😀

          Like

  6. That was such a long list, but I laughed when I read this: finding the personal dairy on the sofa with complaints about your disciplining! Back then, I used the PC with DOS operating systems to secretly store such a e-dairy inside nested folders (for secrecy purpose!). But my dad used to complain that whenever he used the DIR command to check for some files etc, this was the last one that would be visible on the screen as it was highly nested! Then I dropped the idea of maintaining any diary!

    LOL 🙂

    Destination Infinity
    PS: You were not supposed to open such personal diaries and read, weren’t you 🙂 ?
    Hey I did not know what it was.. and he left it on the living room sofa 🙂

    Like

  7. I agree with you 100%! I have become more scared and even vulnerable after becoming a mom. But this has led to some good, in a way. I don’t keep quiet when I feel there is some kind of injustice happening. I try to look for ways to make this world a better, safer and kinder place for our children to grow up in. After all, if we want the world to change, we start with the promise of the future that we are nurturing…today.

    Yes, mamma mia me a mamma, I noticed this change too. I am not just more concerned but also more involved and in fact way less scared. I changed completely in my attitude towards the world around us

    Like

  8. I loved this post not only as a mother but also as a daughter who had given so many difficult moments to her own mother. Thanks IHM.
    I will definitely do this tag.

    I look forward to reading your take on this one Prerna 🙂

    Like

  9. LOL!!!

    Awesome! 🙂

    My mom sometimes says the same thing! S he is glad we have grown up now!! 😀

    LOL 🙂 Kids are definitely easier to look after when they are older, but parents are never really free, once you have a child you are parents forever! 🙂

    Like

  10. thanx for tagging me IHM.
    Loved reading urs.
    An ironed bed-sheet thrown on the dining table to create a doll’s house underneath — my kids do the same thing,they make a tent by using the furniture and play under it:)

    Refusing to get out of the swimming pool— she is just opposite doesn’t want to get into the pool:(

    Like

  11. Fussy eating – does that improve with time? I hope it does! I relate to most of what you wrote and will surely experience the rest as the years go by…

    It will all be a lot of fun Sraboney, and once they are older they are an even better company 🙂

    Like

  12. P.S. My daughter is 4 1/2 and she already needs her space…Also, she’s such a party (birthday) animal that I shudder to think what she’ll be when she’s a teenager…

    She’ll be even more fun than she is now. Sraboney all those teenage hassles are not for parents who give them space, and some ( a lot of ) say in their own lives.

    Like

  13. hmmm…a brutally honest mother??! thats a first ;o)
    No long hair or cake batter? Aw…i love that. i still…have long hair and sit on the counter n lick cake batter 🙂

    The cake batter is licked still 🙂 But long hair on my son I feel it doesn’t suit him, but he does grow it …
    LOL@ you having long hair:)

    Like

    • oh long hair on boys is such a no no. my boyfriend once tried it n i refused to see him. other girls found him “sexy” then but i hated it.
      I love long hair :o) makes me look grown up n feminine!

      coffeeismypoison 🙂 Whatever makes them happy!

      Like

  14. Pingback: Topics about Indian » What I don’t like about being a mother.

  15. Oh Gosh IHM if there was ever a prize for the best tag on Motherhood, I’m sure yo would take it for this post. This is so beautiful, simple and scary, cause I know I will be going through most of them!
    hehehhe

    loved it and will love to do this tag!

    Imp’s mom I knew you would, I am looking forward to reading it!!

    Like

  16. i have realised u do the nicest twists to tags IHM. and i think some of the things that you mentioned on the list are also things that make being a mom such a beautiful experience.. i mean wat beats getting a hug that almost crushes your bones?the forbidden puppy and eggs in the cupboard are too cute!! dirty rooms,stinky socks n weird food preferences are not cool…for the point of the mommy… kids think its the coolest thing!he he he

    I enjoy all this, I am not the impatient kind, I have fun in most(not all!!) of these, if not immediately then at least later.

    totally agree to the sentiment in that last line you wrote “Except the helpless feeling you get when you feel this world does not deserve children. Meaningless violence, wars, rioting frighten me like they never did before”. i m not a mom but i totally get what you are saying.

    Smitha, that’s the biggest way motherhood changed me, this noticing of all that is not right with the world we brought them in…:(

    btw, u are tagged and awarded!:D
    Yeah, now they have no choice but to pick the tag 😉

    Like

  17. i have realised u do the nicest twists to tags IHM. and i think some of the things that you mentioned on the list are also things that make being a mom such a beautiful experience.. i mean wat beats getting a hug that almost crushes your bones?the forbidden puppy and eggs in the cupboard are too cute!! dirty rooms,stinky socks n weird food preferences are not cool…for the point of the mommy… kids think its the coolest thing!he he he.. i had a messy cupboard that drove my mom nuts for years!

    I love each one of these Mandira, some of these might annoy briefly but I totally cherish them all the same:)

    totally agree to the sentiment in that last line you wrote “Except the helpless feeling you get when you feel this world does not deserve children. Meaningless violence, wars, rioting frighten me like they never did before”. i m not a mom but i totally get what you are saying.

    I think we all, who have someone we care for feel the same Mandira …

    btw, u are tagged and awarded!:D

    Thank You…coming over right now 🙂

    Like

  18. Lol and sniff sniff material all at once!!!
    i so loved all the moments u shared…tasted turpentine???? that mustn’t have been fun at all 😐

    ur beautiful take on this tag reminded me of how my mom felt when the terrorist attack took place in Mumbai. the attack was happenin at south mumbai, but i work in the suburbs, so i had to report to work on the 2nd day of attacks…and my mom had the “lord please send her back safely tonite” look when she said bye.

    😦 i wish no mother ever had to fear if she was going to see her child safe in the evening…
    lovely lovely post IHM.

    Your description of the look on your mom’s face gave me goose bumps Crafty Shines!! That is exactly how I feel, I also say a little prayer at such times. I think that is one thing all mothers hate about being mothers …

    Like

  19. trust you to make this tag even more beautiful than it already is!! and its good to be back on your space!! 🙂

    i was gonna tag you and here you are tagging me already! leme get to the task! tho me not gonna attempt something maha creative like this! 🙂

    big hugs to you woman!

    cheers!

    abha

    Abha It’s so good to see here after such along time, WELCOME BACK 🙂

    Like

  20. hi IHM,
    nothing to contribute. all i can say is lovely post. i’m sure i have done all this to exasperate my mom except preparing maths for a history exam. LOL!!!!

    Moms don’t really mind all this , not even the Maths and History mix up 😉

    Like

  21. LOL!! so true IHM! once a mom, always a mom!!
    that’s what I love best about my mom too…

    now, I miss her.

    Pixie that’s what my dad said when I asked how old do these kids need to be before we start finding a little free time!

    Like

  22. Very nicely done !

    As a mum, I am still going through ‘using the sheet to make a doll house’ and ‘writing letters to dad with incorrect spellings’! I have posted quite a few of those misspelt dad-is-the-best notes on my blog and made sad faces for not recieving them myself 🙂

    I must find these on your blog, they sounds so cute 🙂

    The one that drives me mad as well is ‘ forgetting woollen jackets at home on a cold day ‘. First time it happened with Bubbles, I put my jacket on her before dropping her off to school so that she will learn a lesson. But, lo, happened again and I yelled and screamed and put my jacket on her again inspite of protests from that little pink figure saying that she will look so uncool!

    In fact she will not only look cool, she will look and feel absolutely COLD 🙂

    Hasn’t happened again yet. But the winters are just starting..

    Aww yes I understand, this one worries me even now 😦

    Like

  23. IHM, What a wonderful take on this tag!!!! Why do I feel that you have stolen my childhood memories : )

    Awww.. or we have similar memories 🙂

    ‘Egg in the wardrobe to make it hatch. ‘ – I used to do the exact same thing too!!!! and when I realised that Santa was not going to oblige by gifting me the ‘forbidden puppy’ – I would steal in puppies and hide them under my bed – until mom gave me the ultimatum – ‘Either you or the pup stays :(‘
    ROTFL!!! My kids have brought home homeless cats, baby squirrels fallen from tree/nest and hurt puppies…

    And as Solilo says – my daughter does the exact same thing of toppling me over while hugging me – and she’s just three!!
    I love that 🙂 I am all for PDA with kids!!!!
    Oh, this was such a wonderful post – reminded me simultaneously of what being a mother and a daughter is like!! Thank you so much for writing this!!! Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!
    Thank You Smitha, this made my day 🙂

    And can totally relate to – ‘Except the helpless feeling you get when you feel this world does not deserve children. Meaningless violence, wars, rioting frighten me like they never did before.’ It worries me too, bringing a baby into a world which so full of violence…
    Yes I really never realised all this until I had my own kids… we see the world differently once we know how helpless and innocent children are….
    And it looks like we have cross tagged a lot of people 🙂 along with Daddy bloggers 🙂
    Yeah, I noticed!! So now they will have to do the tag double fast 🙂

    Like

  24. IHM.. thanks once again for tagging me… promise to do it as soon I finish enjoying the reading part 🙂

    yea.. the Mummy bloggers r rekindling the childhood and motherhood memories…

    Happy Kittten I look forward to reading it, this is such a fun tag, all moms and dads love such tags!!

    Like

  25. “A ten year old prepared for Maths on the day of History exam” – This made me LOL.

    “Cards proclaiming undying love to Papa, all incorrectly spelled” – 🙂 And I always thought my spelling sucked!

    Fantastic tag, IHM. Really really cool. This gave me quite a teaser on what to expect 10 yrs down the line. And quite weird coz it made me think back to how I was 10-12 yrs ago and how my kid would be 10-12 yrs from now.

    Thanks for the tag. I’ll take it up very soon 🙂

    lol 🙂 So you did similar stuff? That makes me want to call my mom and get her list about what we did!!! Good idea Masood!!
    🙂 By the way I am waiting to read what you have to say in your tag!

    Like

  26. I felt like reading my own experience. Good writing, IHM.

    Egg in the wardrobe to make it hatch….beautiful. Violent hugging….hmmm. One day when they grow up and read this, they might feel so happy to be your children. And the fear of mothers about the bad bad world is so natural. I too am worried about it. I became a bit emotional while reading this.

    Just now, Varunavi has tagged me for ‘what I like being a mother’! Let me go to her blog now!

    And I am waiting to read your take on this tag Sandhya !!!

    Like

  27. Pingback: A Letter to Mom « My Life My Take

  28. Awesome IHM – had a silly ‘kappu’ smile on my face all the while scrolling thru ur list 🙂

    But what is Tasting turpentine at 15 months?

    This is such an Unfair tag – Only 5 things, so I loved your innovation 😀

    Will get to it soon…

    My daughter managed to climb on a stool (for the only time she has been adventurous in her life), and reach my oil painting stuff (otherwise well out of reach), a small bottle of turpentine mixed with linseed oil, she did not consume it, but did attempt tasting… I had left her on my bed, after a bath, and gone to check someone at the door. But I had no way to know if she had swallowed some turpentine or not… she was perfectly fine, but kept under observation for half an hour during which time she made all the doctors “Draw baby, Draw Mickkie” 🙂 But at that time it was a BAD fright.

    Like

    • IHM, You do oil painting? Post some, if you don’t mind. I paint too. Not an expert but still I like it.

      I haven’t for a while, and I am no expert Solilo, but like you, I like sketching and painting. 🙂

      Like

  29. IHM, very interesting. Thanks for tagging me, but you have stolen all the thunder. i will sure give it a try. and me a great dad, ask my two brats.

    Mr Balvinder Singh we’d like to hear about your two brats 🙂

    Like

    • for a glimpse, just read my post ‘Deja Vu’ under the lebel “Similar Yet Different” which may give you some idea what a dad i am.

      I wish you had left a link here, then others could have read it too!

      Like

  30. A very nice twist to the tag and ROTFL @ ‘Trying to light a camp fire inside a quilt’ 🙂

    That was dangerous, and shocked me! He had just discovered match boxes create fire, and since we were not going to encourage playing with match boxes, he sneaked one into his room… he was very young, I think …eight years.

    Like

  31. Hey.. i loved the list… and it really cracked me up! how u managed to get sooooo in detail! awesome! but looks like u love being ‘the mother’ therefore u noticed all that! 🙂

    Thank You Tanu 🙂 lol but how can we NOT notice eggs in their wardrobes? Or a hole in a quilt from trying to light a match stick!!!!!

    Like

  32. a heart warming post, IHM..
    absolutely loved the ‘licking cake batter from kitchen counter’, ‘egg kept in wardrobe to hatch’ bit..

    I know I found that egg very funny even when I pulled out a t shirt after a tired a dinner and saw a crashed smelly egg all over the floor, my only question was why not tell us, we could have done the experiment together!The cake batter is licked till today ..
    🙂

    Like

  33. Hey IHM, Will do the tag in a few days. Am out of town rt now, mourning a death in the family…

    Oh I am sorry…
    Do this tag only if you feel upto it…..Take your time Ritu.

    Like

  34. I bet these are the very things you like about being a mother…

    Read line number 19, and the last lines. …. yes these are the very things i love about being a mother 🙂

    Like

  35. Birthday parties! Where all the six to ten year olds stand around the table waiting for the cake to be cut. It was such a challenge to come up with a unique cake design every year to catch the imagination of the little ones.
    LOl yes and how much that cake meant to them!!! 🙂

    Your post made me relive those lovely days. The joys of motherhood!

    Thank You Shree Ventkatram 🙂

    Like

  36. I relate to more than half of all that you said… but most of all I agree with you I hate being a mother for the same reason you have said…

    Came here via Shailji’s post.

    Welcome mysoul 🙂 I taged Shail also 🙂
    I think all of us learn these fears only after we have children… before that our fears are focused on ourselves… motherhood makes us courageous, but it also gives us newer worries…

    Like

  37. you are just like my mom,same characteristics.while reading,felt as if my mom is writing this article.
    please visit my website on which i have posted three articles>on transparency of a human>on what is actually a prayer to god>& on the actual winners of life.please add your views..

    Like

  38. Pingback: Steel Magnolias « Soliloquies of an Opinionated mind…

  39. What a treat of a read,IHM!I particularly liked the way twisted the tag and made it about what you dont like about being a mom.

    “I think I like everything about being a mother.

    Except the helpless feeling you get when you feel this world does not deserve children. Meaningless violence, wars, rioting frighten me like they never did before.

    I don’t like that about being a mother.”…my daughter is just two and half years old but these are thoughts that disturb me as well.

    Have done my version of the tag too.Do drop by as and when time permits.Would love to hear from you:)

    Right away Deeps 🙂
    Thanks

    Like

  40. Pingback: Ma « My attempt to write

  41. loved it loved it loved it!and I have to thank Dhiren because read his post followed the link and came here…I would have gotten around to reading all your previous posts but sooner is better 😀

    (((hugs))for the way you have written this IHM ..I was laughing so much 😀

    and the diary with complaints thing? ask mom she has gone through it too…actually all of it that you have written about…
    ((((hugs))muahh!:))

    Oh yeah Indyeah …a little Leo, my sister was the same 😉 The naughtier they are the more remembered they are!! She and my son have ‘very personal’ diaries left around the house and dare anybody read them 😀

    Like

  42. Pingback: A tag by IHM « Random Ruminations

  43. yay, i m not forgotten,
    even if i saw this tag today…
    will do it

    and IHM, i liked the way you did this tag. Made me smile and smile even more widely.
    Lovely. Told u I like these kind of posts from u….

    Like

  44. Pingback: Random Rambles (so what is new, anyway?? :P) on Being a Mother… « Overdrive… :)

  45. Lordy! I thought I had commented here.. in fact I was sure I had…

    Because this, for me is one of the best done tags on motherhood… I dont think there is anything you have left out, or left for another to say 🙂 Except perhaps Shail who did an absolute beauty of a different perspective on the tag!

    As Smitha has said, loved it loved loved it! For it brings to me my childhood, and returns those cherished moments of growing up with my own as well:)

    Thank you 🙂

    Awww Usha Pisharody Thank You…. but nothing can beat taking your son for a ride, or defying a staid neighbourhood by wearing most unmotherly jeans!! 🙂

    Like

  46. Pingback: Seven things about your friendly neighbourhood blogger :) « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  47. Pingback: Life they say is a journey towards perfection` « That little something called 'life'

  48. Pingback: Introducing a new family member. | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  49. Pingback: Life they say is a journey towards perfection | Finding meaning...

  50. Pingback: Life they say is a journey towards perfection! | Finding meaning...

Leave a Reply

