She Waited To Be Alone…

What does your Header say about you??

When I moved to WordPress I had assumed the header picture I had got used to seeing on Blogger will follow. It didn’t. This was disappointing, because I had come to identify with that header.

I didn’t want to change it : (

Turns out a large number of us change our headers very frequently. Some bloggers create newer headers. Some put photographs and change them all the time. I read somewhere you can even have headers to go with individual posts.

Then there are some bloggers who write seriously and never bother much with headers and widgets.

I found my quest for a new header took up a whole free afternoon and nearly beheaded me!

Now that I am stuck with a blood dripping Header, here’s a 55 word fiction to go with it.

There is a special

55 WORDS FICTION AWARD

for whoever explains correctly exactly what is happening in this story. We have only one Judge, (open to bribing I suspect!)  Our judge is  HRE HITCHWRITER.

So guys please guess incorrectly, I would like to keep the award for myself 🙂

SHE WAITED TO BE ALONE

They were waiting in the loft.

They must be hungry. Their cries echoed in her ears. The eldest will keep the little one quiet she thought as she packed her precious son off to school.

How much she had given up to have him.

The three in the loft could have been here with them…

FOR THE CORRECT ANSWER AND WNNERS CLICK HERE 🙂

105 thoughts on “She Waited To Be Alone…

  1. I’m glad you’re on WP, but I thought the earlier header was better.

    Cheers,

    QI

    I agree with you Quirky Indian, I am also trying to get a similar picture to fit in this blog 🙂
    Did you like the 55 Word fiction?

    Like

  2. ermm… the header and the story are a tiny bit scary! 😛
    Seriously though, the previous one was better, if you ask me! 😀

    I will change the header as soon as possible 🙂
    Did you understand who were the ‘they’ in the story?

    Like

  3. i wont write anything about the 55’er… i wont write anything about the 55’er… i wont write anything about the 55’er… i wont write anything about the 55’er… i wont write anything about the 55’er… i wont write anything about the 55’er…

    coz if i do… i ll be caught that I didnt understand !!!! 😦

    *sheepish*
    *dumbo*

    the more i read, the more no clue I have…

    But the blood dripping header is first class !!! …. !!! as good as mine !!! he he he…

    Like

  4. i is so losttt!! 😦

    welcome to wordpress! finally!!!!! it was hell leaving comments on ur blogspot that i finally just gave up. me likey this move a lot 🙂

    You too Welcome to my blog jee 🙂 Hope to see you here sometimes now that we are in the same neighbourhood 🙂
    All comments will be published together, to avoid giving any clues to contestants! 🙂

    Like

    • but my comments get an exception…. he he he…. at all those who are getting the step motherly treatment… !! he he he….

      geee… this sunday freedom from missus to blog, it getting to me… sigh

      🙂 Just wait till she reads this 🙂

      Like

    • Roop if you say “Is she Sri Devi in Nagin?” it will taken as “She is Sri Devi in Nagin.”

      So is that your final answer- lock kiya jaye?
      All your life lines are still unused 🙂

      Like

  5. Good u didnt change picture of ur header.The 1st thing i like on ur blog is the header:)But i feel u should change the font:(

    I think it is ur servant who is sending her son to school and making the girls sit at home and elder taking care of the younger girl.

    “The three in the loft could have been here with them”–Did she gave her girls to somebody??

    Will check with dhiren if he will leak the paper??

    If my guess is correct that the award is to meeeeeeeeee

    Like

  6. Hey IHM, your post feeds weren’t updating on my blog so I never knew you moved to wordpress. I thought you were just not posting. I’ve to change the feed now.

    What’s with all of you? Leaving me alone to ‘Rule’ blogspot? 😀

    I was demoralised thinking you finally had enough of my moralising 😦

    Like

  7. And regarding the 55, is this you concerned about the sparrows in the loft who are hungry?

    Rakesh, there’s an award to be won, so guess seriously otherwise this answer will be considered final!! Lock kiya Jaye??

    Like

    • 😦 I was seriously guessing… But guessing by your reply, seems it isn’t the right answer…

      Dunno, have no clue. Seems like a mother leaving her 3 babies – are these girl children who stay at home while the boy child goes to school? Dunno… Can’t guess. Take this as my final answer then.

      Like

    • Your final answer is locked now … will be published only when the contest is closed and results announced!

      Authorised Communicators and PR guys for the Guess Contests.

      Like

  8. Did u add the contest later? I read this yesterday but there was no contest then. I didnt comment anything as I thought I didnt understand the story cuz I was sleepy!! Sadly , I still dont get it. I think “they” are some sort of pets maybe!

    Reema added the Contest this morning, when Hitchwriter refused to make a guess, and when I tempted him with an award for correct guessing, he said, he’d be the Judge! I had no choice, I know he is known for accepting bribe but now it’s done Reema, please participate despite our judge. I am hoping to persuade Solilo to do the same.

    Like

  9. Why is DhiruBHAI judging it? Me not playing. 😦

    Solilo, please, please where will we get another judge from .. just this once please… 😀

    Like

  10. Charakan, Solilo, Bones, Varunavi, Rakesh, Simply J, Reema, Kayfitness mantra – you have time to change your answers till this evening 🙂

    All answers right or wrong will be published only at the end of the contest.

    -By Order

    Like

  11. yeh kya… I am only naam ka judge… I have none of the answers of the contestants…

    IHM is cheating blog samaj vasiyo !!!!

    she made me judge but i have no answers !!!!

    i’ve been rendered worth less !!!!

    Now Solilo will kill me !!! !…. oh no….

    Like

    • PC Champ Dhiren says : Go to gravatar.com and load your pic there in your avtaar… and your pic shall be updated everywhere !!! it will take some time to upload though !!

      the pc champ is thrilled to help some people on the blogosphere… !!! he he he

      psst… powered by Chirag !

      Like

  12. ok time to gang up with solilo again.. if dhiren is judging me not playing 😉

    ok seriously have no clue have been thinking for 5 mins but no clue

    LOL Dhiren is under oath to be fair, whoever bribes the best wins the award :))) Monika, no harm in making random , mad, insane guesses, I am just wondering what does it seem to be?!!

    Like

  13. Hmm I would think them as birds in the loft? if its correct, i badly need the award 😛

    LOL 🙂 Lock kiya jaye? Does everything else fit with that answer Sahaja …… your life lines are still there!!!?

    Like

  14. Well, I will take a shot as well . It seems as if they are some kind of a pet . But then “The eldest will keep the little one quiet ” , does not make sense . So I will go with this . The three waiting in the loft are the woman’s daughters . Apparently , the family appears as one crazy about having a male progeny . So may be the mother had three daughters before she had her “precious son” . And the family could be a patriarchal one, where daughters/women are openly discriminated against . That is why they wait in the loft, hungry , while the mother packs off her son to school. This is my final answer , please “lock” it . 🙂 And please don’t make fun of me, if it sounds a bit over the top . 🙂

    Like

  15. 🙂
    Great idea to post an award with the 55 F.

    Here goes my take. But first… Promise not to laugh *giggling* 🙂

    Kitten in the loft, three of them… but then the elder taking care of the rest does not figure 🙂
    So second take… fight to keep them? Not puppies… but sparrows…? Lol.

    (You promised not to laugh… :)]

    You know it reads like a mowgli story, where I am now confused as to who the she in the story is 🙂 🙂

    Final take, to be locked…

    Pets, or adopted as pets, in the loft… pups, kitten or sparrows… 🙂 🙂

    Lol. All you have to tell me is how far fetched it was. Loved trying to figure it out, but not failing miserably to satisfy myself… :D!

    Like

  16. Err… oh no! i can’t guess 😦
    I am thinking between – kittens to actual people! :d
    that would be scary stuff!!! if it’s people up in the loft, I mean… 😀

    Or maybe, puppies?

    Arrgh!

    *looking out for people to bribe to get the correct answer!!*

    Pixie pssst the Judge, the Judge … 😛

    Like

    • Yay … do try again, it should fit with what is given in the 55 words 🙂

      When it’s right it will be100% correct, there will be no doubts!
      😉

      Like

  17. Lol.. blood dripping? Werewolves, vampires… dracula’s family? Loft?

    Ok… turning the flipside now, from cute pets to not so cute ones.. she had to come over to the human side for the kid, but she wishes she could have those from the other side too, as family.. :D!

    Done.. no more guesses.. :D! Done!

    Like

  18. This was tough! My guess is – they are some sort of pets (puppies/kittens?) who cannot come down because the son is allergic to pets perhaps?

    When are you giving out the answer?

    Like

  19. tough guess but most likely considering the pet lover you are i guess its a tie between kittens and sparrows but how the elder one will keep the younger one quiet beta me honestly. now i’m really waiting for the contest to be over. btw is bribing dhiren still on. i thought i would try it.LOL!!!!!

    Think Gunmeen think!!! The Contest is over tomorrow, by the Judges order 🙂
    :))
    And when nothing else works, our dear Judge is always there waiting for mutton biryani 🙂
    -IHM

    Like

  20. Indyeah cries FOUL!!!

    Dhiren is the judge? 😀
    Why?Why why why? 😀

    Do you have any idea how much Mutton biryani he is demanding from the contestants? 😆
    Solilo whatdya think?Dhiren ko kitno mutton biryani deni padegi? 😀
    One day I am off the blogosphere and a contest is open! No fair! 😦

    now lemme read this mysterious 55er 😀
    I need to concentrate 😀

    PS:-is the contest open till tmrw or till today.. midnight?

    Tomorrow – Dhiren says it needs two days! IHM

    Like

  21. Okay they could be the daughters of a sadistic mother but then that scenario is wayyy too gloomy…they could also be kittnes or sparrows or pups? 😀
    totally clueless about this 55er 😀

    OR does she want to be alone with her laptop? 😀
    LOL!please ignore my moronic guesses 😀

    Okay they could be the daughters of a sadistic mother but then that scenario is wayyy too gloomy…they could also be kittnes or sparrows or pups? 😀
    totally clueless about this 55er 😀
    Okay they could be the daughters of a sadistic mother but then that scenario is wayyy too gloomy…they could also be kittnes or sparrows or pups? 😀
    totally clueless about this 55er 😀

    Umm daughters of a sadistic mother is my final answer
    A mom who wanted a son perhaps?

    Err…ignore this if this is too dumb 😀

    Like

  22. Header seems fine to me! Although I must mention on thing. If you take a photo and a theme which has the name of the blog on it or around it or well, anywhere, then it comes in the search engine. The name I mean. If you actually write it then it won’t come in the search engine.

    Like

  23. cannot understand it IHM…. it is like a bouncer for me, this 55-er…
    but my final answer is “IHM”……….
    and it can be locked….

    and lol abou the header talk going around!!!!

    Like

  24. hey IHM… i didnt kno even you had shifted to wordpress… whats goin on here?? is everyone shifting en masse????

    as for the 55’er.. if the contest is still open… my guess would be.. her three daughters… who aren’t entirely welcome in the male dominated family she is a part of.. she’s given up her humanity and love for her daughters for teh sake of teh son..
    as sick as that sounds.. it actually could happen in India..)

    Like

  25. Aneesha WELCOME to my new home 🙂

    Your comment is in moderation until the results are declared : )

    I think there’s some problem with the subscription that is why the updates are not reaching us. I did write a post announcing the move to the new blog, I guess I should leave this information in comments.

    Surbhi your commnt is also in moderation for the same reason.

    Like

  26. Errr… I might either sound plain dumb or must be getting obsessed with this, but are those three her daughters who are ‘figuratively’ in the loft, and who she pines for since she was forced to abort/abandon/kill them?

    Also seems like I missed that header everyon’es talking about.

    You know, IHM, this is kind of a culture shock for me. I was that used to your old blog. It was almost like being on mine. Nevertheless, congratulations on this new one and my very best for it.

    (((hugs)))

    PS: I’m the only one here who hugged you. Wink, wink!

    Like

  27. So you too moved on to wordpress!! I’m wondering if I should too 🙂 Sorry, I was not able to visit you for a week or more..

    Here’s my answer: She waited to be alone so that she could sneak up and go to the loft where there are 3 “pets”. These “pets” are not considered friendly by humans (Maybe even pet rats). Before marriage they could live with her but after marriage and a “precious” child things have changed.

    Like

  28. Okay!!! This may sound a bit weird, but I dont want to guess the same as others already have. ( pets, kittens etc) Coz if their comments are published means that they were incorrect. So my guess is maybe they are her kids from other marriage or something, and she gave up living with them to live with her current husband and son. Sounds weird but then the 55 er is a really bouncer so what the heck 🙂

    Like

  29. here is my guess: The 3 maybe dogs being brought up when she didnt have a child… now she wants to give full time of hers to her son… header – i have changed quite frequently when I started to blog… but my interest in that has gone like smoke in the air.. your header is nice IHM… you may have put the name in the header in a more stylish way instead of red 🙂

    Like

  30. here is my guess: The 3 maybe dogs being brought up when she didnt have a child… now she wants to give full time of hers to her son… header – i have changed quite frequently when I started to blog… but my interest in that has gone like smoke in the air.. your header is nice IHM… you may have put the name in the header in a more stylish way instead of red 🙂

    Like

  31. still go with my same ans as yest, simply cant think of anything else!

    It could be pets – puppies, kittens or maybe even squirrels (really far stretched here I know :P) and even after thinking about it the whole day, that seems to be the only logical answer…

    Like

  32. spooky IHM!!! Submitted a comment and a new template opens up 😛 totally living up to the blood curling font 😛

    btw the header shows up twice 😉

    LOL I am trying another theme Imps’s Mom what perfect blood curdling timing ) -IHM

    Like

    • like this template better, neater and more organised…. totally works for you….

      quick suggestion, I know ur working ur template right now…so bear with me pls 🙂

      move the top posts above the stats…
      categories is showing up on both the sides… keep either the categories as listed in order or as a cloud..right now there are 3 boxes on categories 🙂

      Yes ma’am did as you suggested, thank You 🙂 Only Top Post moving left… just doing that now… More suggestions welcome please!

      and pls pls give the answer already!!

      Like

  33. What does your Header say about you??
    Well mine says’ i get bored very quickly 🙂 and I have a licenced version of Photoshop, meri mehenat ki kamie.

    You earlier header was really great 🙂 and this one is nice you know in a vampirely way 🙂 Don’t kill me.

    55 WORDS FICTION AWARD Explained 🙂

    They were waiting in the loft.
    They must be hungry. Their cries echoed in her ears. The eldest will keep the little one quiet she thought as she packed her precious son off to school.
    How much she had given up to have him.
    The three in the loft could have been here with them…

    Its a story about a mumma Shark, who’s kids are wating outside the sunken pirate boat, and obviously since the water is warm there is no food for so many days, they can’t join a school yet as their hunger betrays’ them of any kind of sense. She still remember’s who the papa shark had given him self to the hunters and saved the baby shark, she may never see him again but the love is never dies….now these kid to keep her busy and share the love

    Like

  34. My God, i am awfully late here. Well your fifty five words have set my fancy run wild. The guess is

    The lady is a social worker to which her family including her kids don’t take kindly. She has adopted three small kids for teaching them at home. They generally come during day time when she is alone and can devote all the time to them. But today they turned up early in the morning when every one else was asleep. She hurriedly put them up in the wide loft of one of their rooms. Now she is waiting to be alone to get them down after every one has left.

    Wild is’nt it ??? After all it is my “Kalpana kee Udaan”

    Go ahead and lock it if the house is open till now.

    Like

  35. hellozzz IHM, I am sure u know by nw, i fall in the category of bloggers who change headers frequently.. but sadly i use pics i have…cant use any program to develop cool headers , u see…

    im guessing its a dog family..or a cat family… n im praying i have it wrong… wud want u to keep the award u see…thats how nice i am!;)

    Like

  36. hey am so sad that u moved to wordpress…had got just so used to ur blog on blogger. 😦

    as for the story….my guess: the son has some sort of allergy so the mom keeps the pets away till he is around.

    She is waiting for him to leave for school so that she may free the pets and feed them as well.

    Like

  37. This reminds me of the Virginia Andrews novel ‘Flowers In The Attic’, which had a mother lock up her four children in the attic!
    I found the book pretty morbid!
    And, am hoping, this story is not along those lines…:)

    I was inclined to think that the three in the loft were pets, but then, the eldest wouldn’t keep the youngest quiet. They would all scream together!

    Are the three in the loft, thoughts/ideas pertaining to things she wants to do – like posts for a blog, photography, etc? I mean the kind of things which give us deep, personal satisfaction. The biggest, would, I guess, be the most important one in the scheme of things.
    I know this sounds vague but, can’t think of anything else!!!

    55er!
    SHE WAITED TO BE ALONE

    They were waiting in the loft.

    They must be hungry. Their cries echoed in her ears. The eldest will keep the little one quiet she thought as she packed her precious son off to school.

    How much she had given up to have him.

    The three in the loft could have been here with them…

    Like

  38. Header distress…i get it. U tell me what my header says about me!!
    I like urs too.a lot.

    55 words : crazy mad son-philic hubby, helpless mother, 1 precious son [sarcastic]. hidden the daughters up in the attic.

    close hitchwriter?
    Do visit my blog 🙂

    Like

  39. oh my gawd IHM, u have a hundred comments on this post! ok, a hundred and one now… isnt this a record of sorts???
    waiting to hear who got the award..its not me, i know…

    Mandira I think this is the first ever for me 🙂 Yay!!

    Next post …. Surbhi and Solilo declared by Hitchwriter, after he finished the biryani 🙂

    Like

  40. Pingback: Headless No More! « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  41. Pingback: And the winner is …. « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  42. Pingback: Guess and win. « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

