Moving from Blogger to WordPress?

When I started blogging last January, I had created two blogs, one in Blogger, one in Word Press. Both with the same name.  Somehow the blogger blog was where the first few posts were published, and then it went on to become an online home🙂

Life changed. The world became blog tinted. The Word Press Blog was abandoned. Blogger had me blogaddicted🙂

I guess this was because Blogger is easier to use.

Recently when Solilo and Chirag convinced Indyeah, and Indyeah convinced Hitchwriter and Hitchwriter convinced Ordinary Guy and OG convinced Smitha – maybe not in that exact sequence ;)  I did not need any convincing  :)  Roop, Nimmy, Nita, Charakan, Reflections and many others had complained that they were finding it difficult to comment, specially from their cell phones. And then I read this  helpful post by Destination Infinity where he mentions how he has two blogs one on Blogger and another one on Word Press and he updates both with the same content.

Everybody said Word Press is better than Blogger but I didn’t like the idea of  leaving behind older content, specially all the discussions and comments.  When I read  that the content from the first blog, with all the comments, could be imported with one click of a button, to a new blog, the decision was made.

It turned out to be the easiest thing to do. After consulting Hitchwiter, Ajit, Chirag, Destination Infinity and Solilo (THANK YOU!) a copy of all the Blogspot blog content- all posts and all comments were easily imported to the Word Press Blog.

One difficulty was the header from the first blog could not be used for the new blog (size difference).  Creating a new one sounds like a lot of fun, so no problem there either.

Copying the blogroll is easy if we follow Chirag’s tips in this post. (I am yet to do this.)

I am yet to sort all the categories, and try all the exciting options available in Word Press, this is my first post on WP, (Started writing it on Blogspot, imported to WP – yes 142 drafts were imported too!)

How does Word Press compare with Blogspot?

1. Word Press is great for comments threading , comments editing, moderating, replying to comments.

2. Writing posts is easier too, with an extra interesting option of strike through :)  I always wanted this. There are many  other features too.  Still enjoying the surprises :)  It’s as good as using Microsoft Word.

3. Then there are BLOG STATS .

Blog stats look like this. (This means we do not need widgets like Feedjit, Live Traffic Feed in WP, but I read somewhere  that these widgets can be added to Word Press too)

Blog Stats Summary Tables

Total views: 49

Busiest day: 24 — Monday, April 6, 2009

Views today: 24

Totals

Posts: 216 (imported from Blogger)

Comments: 9,750 (imported from Blogger)

Categories: 255

Tags: 0

4. You can also see Referrers and Search Engine Terms the same way.

5. Categories are another feature that make it easier for blog readers to look for what interest them. Like I found some readers were interested in reading only Family posts or only Gender related posts, Blog Spot does not have Categories – and I missed that.

6. Word press also lets you choose who can see your blog, in case you wish to have a blog for just your family, or a group of like minded people you have that option!

7. I think what might be easier in Blog Spot is it is easier to use and decorate :)  You can add a wider range of fun widgets.

8.  The ease of importing, the the excitement of redecorating a new home are tempting, but the biggest charm that Word Press has is the ease of replying to comments. Blogging is interactive, and being able to respond to comments  was important for me.

Do you think this move will be good idea?

56 thoughts on “Moving from Blogger to WordPress?

  1. The move is a GREAT idea.

    Hello! mic testing. This is WordPress’s unofficial spokeswoman speaking.

    WordPress has more pros compared to Blogger. The only ones you can pick out would be:

    1. The blog updates which you can easily do it with Chirag’s one click😀

    2. Downloading layouts feature unavailable. In wordpress you can only use standard themes. For downloading themes, you need to buy your own domain.

    Other than that WordPress is the BEST for everything.

    So IHM now blog away. BTW I think this theme doesn’t support banners but me loves it anyways.

    Here is your blogwarming gift. http://i43.tinypic.com/ip7eio.jpg

    Like

  2. IHM, Great Move! Had been waiting for this annoncement since this morning! This is looking like a mass exodus to WP. I am sure a lot more bloggers will move – inspired by you🙂 Welcome! Looking forward to your next post!

    Like

  3. WordPress is my personal favorite too… I love the features and stats of my wordpress blog. But that said, I should also say that some of the best blogs (Read: Quality Content) I have seen with blogger sites than wordpress ones, though they may not be very popular. One more point: People tend to use WordPress more like a Social Networking platform, while in blogger, the comments and posts seem more practical and down to the earth (Of course, I can’t generalize it to that extent, there are a lot of exceptions!). I think this theme is great!

    Destination Infinity

    DI I guess you are right … and thanks I am glad you like the theme
    🙂

    Like

  4. yay yay yay🙂 we wish you a very nice stay at our blog host madame 🙂 ….. We are very glad you are here😀
    IHM IHM, I am more than happy to see you here😀 love it love it🙂

    Sahaja thank you so, so so,so much for this warm welcome🙂 I love it too :
    )

    Like

  5. Oh poor blogger. They lost you too? Now I have to change too if I get the time and energy. Is it as easy as you said? Anyway expect instant comments now.

    Yes it is as easy as I say🙂 Please change and come to WP! Will help you if you are stuck, having friends who just moved is a blessing, they know what problems we are likely to face. The biggest thing is you can keep two blogs until you settle down. Or just keep them🙂

    Like

  6. well well well….

    WP is gonna rock even more… the super star is here !!!

    great IHM !! great !!! this is a really good move !😀

    Dhiren Thanks🙂 And also thanks for all your guidance.

    Like

      • he he … wordpress has you a lil jumbled rite now i guess… you finalise your theme… and then we take it from there… !!!

        psst : vigilance is simple and beautiful !

        lol Ajit errr Hitchwriter I am not jumbled rite now😉
        I like Vigilance too, but it has eaten Homemaker from my blog name😦

        Like

        • geee… i didnt notice…

          hey whats with this new title… your now not a home maker and just an Indian ?? lol… !!!

          and do you need this snap thing that comes when we press on reply ??

          I removed that snap thing… lol @me just I not IHM🙂

          Like

      • 🙂 LOL

        You laughing at my new forced, blog name?🙂 I was in a hurry, had to leave it like this …. but now I guess I will have to add the correct name above or below it …

        Like

  7. Your last post is still ”justified under certain circumstances” on my update😦 its not showing this one😦

    ((((Hugs)))Scold me for coming late😀
    And then gimme an extra hug😀
    Yayy!!the gang’s shifting to WP!😀
    muah!muah!

    (((((bear hugs)))))

    and as Dhiren says The Superstar is here😀
    and a friend most dear:) )))

    You are cherished , but you know that already🙂
    so muah muah!🙂

    Aww Indyeah :))) No I am too pleased to see you here to even dream of scolding you🙂 All you get here are ((hugs))) -IHM

    Like

  8. Solilo has given you your fav gift….a little cute kitten🙂.and here are some from me as well:)
    Dont know if the pics will open or not but here are the flowers
    Lily of the valley, Baby’s breath, Chrysanthemum, Iris and Roses..these most of all the roses…. for, they say so much🙂

    Coz you know why :)each one of them says a little something🙂
    ((((hugs)))

    and roses🙂

    …all of them say something….Words that you will understand and I needed to give you here🙂
    ((((hugs)))

    Indyeah awww I am dumbstruck …………. thank you🙂 It so good to see all those (((hugs))) in at my new place🙂
    Welcome:) What will you like to have ma’am ? (((hugs))))

    Like

  9. Welcome here IHM…🙂 hope you will enjoy here more than blogger🙂

    Kanagu Thank You🙂 I am sure it will be more funn here, I find every other friend is from wordpress!
    And I Welcome you to this new address : )

    Like

  10. Hey there. Welcome to WP.
    Will wait for you to give it your own personal touch.
    Loved the header picture in the other one- said so much about you.
    Now you have to put something similar- a snippet of ur life and times🙂

    I wanted to use the same header… it just won’t fit, I will have to look for the original picture, or take some more pics!🙂

    Like

  11. IHM, This was my previoue look. I LOVE it.

    Yeah I also like it …but I am still only trying various looks Solilo🙂
    I like the way your comments show… how does one get that?

    Like

  12. Hey, this was a surprise. You too! Welcome to WP.

    Cheers,

    Quirky Indian

    Just because it is so much easier to respond to comments here🙂 And thank you🙂

    Like

  13. everyone is moving to Worpress may be this is the time to do what I have been planning for long… buy my domain

    Monika do we really need to do that? How about just trying WordPress for a while first?

    Like

  14. It was a great move IHM and take it from a totally unbiased, geeta-pe-haath-rakh-ke-blah-blah-blah totally truthful wp blogger – WP rocks.🙂

    So rest assured you made the right choice

    I am really liking WP …see the convenience of answering like this, though do you think this may not show in email subscriptiopn, I generally receive comments replies by email….

    Like

    • IHM, This way of commenting won’t show up in e-mails but still I prefer it too because when we click the ‘reply’ button our comments also counts as one and it unnecessarily gives a false impression of too many comments per post which in reality is number of individual comments/2.

      So I use ‘reply’ button on my blog only when the reply is too long else I prefer editing and adding comments.

      Yeah, that is something I found very annoying on Blogger. Real number of comments was not easily available. I prefer this also, because there is a lesser
      chance of missing a comment while replying.

      Also, now that you have recent comments put up in side bar, people can click on it and read and anyways everyone comes back to read replies if the blogger follows ‘you comment-I reply’ policy.😀

      🙂 Yes, I know, I always go back too : )

      This theme is good too but homemaker comes down. The other one keeps title in the center and also loved those yellow flowers in the banner. Reminded me of Vishu (our New Year) which is next week.

      Oh yes Vishu, I know … 🙂
      I love the flowers but felt they don’t say anything about the blog : ( I just took some fresh pictures for the new header, will be uploading a better header soon🙂

      Like

  15. hey IHM! am i glad or am i glad! i used to have trouble posting comments coz somehow at blogger it does not process at first attempt!

    Welcome to wordpress🙂
    *gleefully posts her comment at one go!!*

    Yes Craftyshine, amny people told me that😦 Also I faced similar problems while replying, so it’s WP is great for both🙂
    Awww @ *gleefull posts her commnets at one go!*

    Like

  16. oooohhhhh! and my comment will now have my profile pic too! double hee!!!!😀

    I also love that I can immediately see who it is … WELCOME here hope to see you here many, many times!🙂

    Like

  17. Welcome to WP. Looking forward to many more busy days of heated discussions and lazy readings🙂

    Awww that is a lovely, lovely thought sscribbles🙂 Thank You🙂 And welcome to my new blog🙂

    Like

  18. Love this new look more😀 (((hugs)) muahh!and the header too …you will be uploading a new one too?😀
    Cool!more of chai cuppa and lappie:D
    I had gotten so used to the chai on the last one😀

    LOL Indyeah, me too used to chai and lappie combo🙂 … spend the little free time I has trying to take some pictures, this was also taken today afternoon,,, sacrificed all my blog time on this header😦 And they have made me an Indian from a Home Maker🙂

    Like

  19. Welcome to the Mac OS of the Blogging Platform🙂
    You are obviously blog rolled and subscribed.

    Chirag Thank You … that made me feel on top of the world🙂
    And I really do love WordPress already!

    Like

  20. Also, great theme🙂 you have chosen.

    Chirag but see what it has done to the blog name😦 I might have to change it.

    Like

    • Arrre : you changed from vigilance, hmmm digg theme is also nice specially, when you really take advantage of the sidebars.

      Isn’t this better? I like it!

      Like

  21. …. and you started changing themes😀 my disease !!

    There seems to something wrong with every theme Dinu, now, I loved Vigilance but it doesn’t show the full blog name!!!😦

    Like

  22. Yay! another Vigilante I mean Vigilance user😀

    Love your banner, lady! Love the look. Even though when Vigilance was launched wordpress maintained that it will allow longish titles still it doesn’t.

    Don’t worry about missing ‘home maker’ part as this one suits just right. You can always add your home maker identity in your ‘About’ page. This title goes apt with the type of posts you make. Even my title now makes no sense as more than ‘Soliloquies’ all I do these days is spamming errrrr..chatting up😀

    LOL🙂 Oh so this is not just some error in my comp, it is an acknowledged problem!!! I do like Vigilance the best till now- I copied it from your blog😉
    So now I guess I will follow Ajit and Usha’s advise and incorporate the name in the picture….let me do that right away!

    Like

  23. Right again🙂 About the comments part.. was trying to figure out how to make a reply in the comment… and I guess it would be the edit button to press instead of reply at the comments page🙂 Or on the home page under the comments, edit?

    Yeah, I use a button called ‘quick edit’, and reply in italics. The best part is you can check to see if comment is not replied to … and I see your new Word Press url let me come over to your blog too!!!

    Let me try that🙂 Thanks that is a lot of info. here too…🙂

    Usha Pisharody, I hope its of some use!

    I still feel awful about getting here so darned late…😦😦


    Please don’t! I know you are busy. I am just happy you came, and let me Welcome you …
    It’s really great to see you here :)))
    I am also extremely busy, just look at the way I had to leave the header like this, showing the wrong blog name!!

    Still now I know.. and can get here quicker🙂

    Yay!!🙂

    Like

  24. wish you good luck on a new platform wp. as you change the wp just thought a instant poem
    sun comes sun goes down
    light comes darkness goes
    friends can change places,
    friends can change homes,
    but friendship remains
    you may join wp
    will find blogspot friends
    with you always

    sm Thank You!!! What lovely words… I don’t know what to say to express how much I appreciate…. let me just say, once again, Thank You -IHM.

    Like

  25. I definitely agree that it is much, much easier to comment on a WordPress blog than on a Blogger blog.

    Welcome to WordPress!

    I look forward to reading many more of your posts.

    Thank You MinnesotaMeetsKarnataka🙂 Welcome to my new home in the blogosphere🙂 See I am proving you right … even responding to comments is easier here🙂

    Like

  26. 🙂 Good Morning🙂

    A very good morning to you too Usha Pisharody : )
    … it’s a lovely, noisy morning here, the Cuckoo outside is announcing the mango season, and countless sparrows, warblers, mynas have joined her too! Love the mornings at this time of the year🙂
    And then I find a Good Morning from you Yay🙂

    Like

    • Good morning lovely ladies!😀

      It is evening here.

      Good Morning … I can never get over this!! Evening there, morning here thing :)) But isn’t that what keeps this WWW alive day and night everywhere!!

      Like

  27. BTW IHM, I miss your camera and hair avi😀

    I have added the blog name on the picture it says it is loaded, and the I should visit the site to see the header but no header is showing!!😦

    Like

  28. something’s not right, while updating my blogroll, its giving an error…. not accepting your site….

    Imp’s mom could it be a temporary problem? I was not able to change my header, so the header was a blank for a long while! Maybe there was something wrong.. and I hope it is working now …
    but before I forget, WELCOME to my new blog : )

    Like

  29. thanks to your advise even i have moved here.

    was practical for me since company has blocked blogger and the IT demons have not discovered wordpress so far.

    Welcome to the neighbourhood🙂 Really delighted to see you here, hey but your url is not seen here .. how can I visit you? Please do drop a link to your new home … I would love to drop in for a cup of tea : )

    Like

  30. Hey IHM, the font of your header looks like the title of a Ramsey horror movie..you know the blood dripping type…. Was it meant to be this way?

    lol NOOOOO rotfl
    I will change it as soon as I get a moment to breathe. hehe he🙂

    Like

  31. I found the tea at the blogger site very inviting. The colour was just right. I could almost smell the aroma. But here…. I think you need to add some more milk, to get it to the earlier chai ka rang.

    But you do think I should have a similar looking header SV? A cup of tea and a laptop too … Thank You :
    )

    Like

  32. Did I say milk? No it needs more chai ki pati to make it that rich brew colour

    Hey SV that tea was much darker than I actually drink!! You think it should be still darker?!!!🙂

    Like

  33. aww this was a good decision you took! WordPress is definitely a gr8 blogging platform… and here i was wondering why I was not seeing any posts from u in my reader! It stuck me only today to go to your blogspot blog and find that you have moved. You can not download any themes on wordpress.com but if you have a hosted domain, you can use wordpress.org and you will love it even more! I have tried this and I don’t want to move back from WordPress.org. Keep fiddling with WordPress.com and posting more and more!

    Aww ….Rohini Thank You🙂 I am going to keep this in mind🙂

    Like

  34. I came here because you mentioned this post in a reply to a commentator and realised that I had not seen this post of yours! it is very relevant to me now as I have started a blog on blogger on a custom domain and I want to tell you that now on blogger they have the strikethrough option and they have categories too, what they call labels. So it is possible to categorize posts. However I do not find blogger easy to use because I am so used to wp! Also I am getting more hits on my blogger blog than I got on wp initially! Overall though I still love wp more, although I moved to blogger because I know there will be more customisation possible there and I have some plans for my other blog, which is actually on an entirely new topic.

    Me – Nita what’s your new blog called? Link please! You must write about this experience! Blogger seemed great for adding stuff to the sidebar and I still love the Followers and the auto-updating Blogroll option, but over all I prefer WP. Comments editing is impossible on blogger, comments threading also, so responding becomes very difficult! And no information (like email address) of the commenter…

    Like

  35. Pingback: Navigating the Classic WordPress.COM interface | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

