My Sins Against Gender Stereotypes.


If you are a woman,

Have you ever wanted something that is considered ‘manly’ ? Like a basketball, a cell phone, a dog, a camera or a new laptop? A new car or motor bike? Ever wanted to be a pilot? A doctor or not a nurse? And the manliest want of them all – The remote! ;)

As a kid did you enjoy playing with a bat and a ball?

There was a time when books were considered ‘manly’, women authors had to pretend to be men – would you say books are still rather manly – women should want to embroider and crochet?

If you are a man,

Have you ever wanted something that only women are supposed to want – like bags, shoes, clothes, creams, perfumes, babies, flowers? A peaceful home and a happy family? Have you ever been afraid of the dark or of insects?

As a kid did you ever want to play ‘teacher-teacher’, cooking or did you like playing with a doll? Have you ever enjoyed cooking? Bought something in pink? Loved chocolates?

Are magazines and books, TV News and blogs for men or for women?

Religion and God? Pets? Politics? Air planes and cars? Technology? – Who should want them, men or women?

So here’s a tag – Please list at least ten things you have ever wanted or done which your gender is not supposed to.

The tag is called ‘My Sins against Gender-Stereotypes’. And you must tag twelve blogging friends :twisted: or else you will be cursed to wear blue clothes pants if you are a woman and pink shirts if you are a man – for next twelve years :twisted:

Since I asked, here’s my list of ‘manly’ things I have done or wanted :)

1. Played football in school and now watch the world cup.

2. Have always exercised, loved strength training.

3. Invested in the stock market.

4. I find jewelery cumbersome in everyday life.

5. Dislike shopping (for past many years)

6. Love dogs. And cats and all animals. Even snakes.

7. Love technology – camera, cell phones and laptops (‘men’s toys’).

8. Love books, driving (including an SUV) and new gadgets.

9. I don’t like chocolates.

10. I like red and turquoise (a blue :shock: ) more than pink :shock:

And yet, I love clothes, lipsticks, healthy food, dancing, kittens and puppies, birds, perfumes, flowers, window shopping for kitchen and home, decor, soft rock and I cry easily.

I tag Monika, Ritu, Sandhya, Sindhu, Deethi, Shail, Desi Girl, Deeps, Starry, HDWK, TBG, Philip, Nandini, Winnie the Poohi, Indian Pandit, UmmOn, Neo, Vishesh, Gopinath,  Sunder, Nimmy, Hitchwriter, Shilpa, Scorpria, Sraboney, Blabberblah, Vimmuuu, Kanagu, Prerna, Imp’s Mom and Uma. (Can’t tag anybody else, because  then  there would be nobody left for others to tag and they will end up wearing the ‘wrong’ colours ! ) :shock: :)

UPDATE:

All Sinners are welcome to join Sinners Against Gender Stereotypes (SAGS) on Face Book.

Small Print: You know what happens to those who don’t? Pink footwear for men and Blue beer mugs for women for twelve years :twisted:

220 thoughts on “My Sins Against Gender Stereotypes.

  1. Loved this tag,IHM. LOL!! I’ll do it for sure. Oh yes,I’ve wanted/done by share of ‘manly’ things too. I’m sinner!!

    BTW, I look my best in blue and I love that colour. So I’d rather have you curse me for as many years as you want, even if I do the tag ;)

    “9. I don’t like chocolates.” Thats considered manly?? Really,IHM?? Then I must tell my husband this….he just loves chocolates :D

  2. I must be the most clueless person here! Nothing comes to my mind that I would want to do that I would consider girlish… For example you talked about wanting a bag. I assume you mean something other than a handbag right? I think a guy carrying a small pink handbag on his arm would make me look at him twice (But then I’ve never seen a man carry that and maybe when I do, it won’t make me look twice…can’t say).

    Just remembered this – I like to dance and walk around in a funny way sometimes when I’m full of energy :) . My wife says it’s very “girly”…but I told her to shove it!

    • If you like clothes, shopping, shoes, nice luggage, if you cry easily, like chocolates… and whatever is considered reserved for women, please pick the tag!! Do you like soft, sentimental music? Cooking?

  3. He he he, very interesting. Though I have to admit many of the men I know are sentimental and love chocolates and soft romantic music :-)

    Me – That’s the point Pallavi, we can’t generalise about what is manly or womanly, because each one of us is unique and we have our individual likes and dislike… I would love it if you pick this tag and list your sins ;)

  4. Nice post…When I like something, I never think of gender… feel like doing it..will do it..but like men talk better than girlish chat..hate talking abt maids, children, kitty party, like to talk biz, money, investments..BTW are chocolates gender related? :))

    Me – From what I heard last, Chocolates – women, Beer- Men; Cleanliness – women, mess- men… :) I’d love it if you picked the tag… you sound like a sinner :)

  5. Love your blog – so much food for thought. I have to admit that despite every attempt to combat gender stereotype in my children I have a daughter who dreams in pink and a son who would turn anything you gave him into a racing car – go figure – i blame the media!

    Me – Why not pick the tag? You might find you see the world with gender tinted glasses or maybe you don’t…

  6. Loved this tag. Will flick it from you if you don’t mind :)

    Me – Please do Prashanti!! I’d love it if you do!!! Don’t forget to tag twelve others! (remember the curse :twisted:)

  7. You are interested in stock market? That is still considered manly!

    Dislike shopping? Interesting!

    Will do my list of favourites soon, IHM, thank you! By the way, I see two Sandhyas here too, like Shilpa! But let me do it, it is interesting!

    Me – Please do Sandhya!! And I hope both the Sandhyas and both the Shilpas do it :)

  8. aiyaaaa.. thats an interesting one.. I want to see a man’s blog here :P :P I would love to do this one.. but wondering should wait for other to tag?? :(

    Me – Please pick the tag Vineeta !!! And tag twelve others too :)

  9. Good gracious! What a lovely consequence for not taking up the tag…I have enough blue jeans…so am almost tempted to ignore the tag!! But…..it’s such a yummy one, that I have to do this :-D

    • Well Starry the curse will have to be specially altered to fit your kind of *&^%$ women – you also end up being offered beer and The Remote and a The Couch whenever you yearn for chocolates. That’s not all -no new shoes for two weeks :shock: Yes. This curse is serious business. :mrgreen:

  10. eh?! How come I’m not tagged?! :( :(
    no one is tagging me these days! sob!

    Is it because I’m doing too many of them?! :P

    Why am I not taaaaggggggeddd?!!!!

    so many similar answers! I will do this even though you haven’t tagged me IHM! Hmmph! :P :P ;)

    • LOL :) I thought I should not jeopardize the tagged bloggers’ future (only PInk and only Blue for twelve years :shock: ) what if there were no bloggers left for them to tag?
      But now you have committed to do this tag!! For those who do not take this tag seriously – women will be be condemned to watch the World Cup sitting on the couch, with a mug of beer in one had and the TV remote in the other :twisted: And male bloggers?? They will be gifted only foot wear and chocolates for their coming three birthdays :twisted:

  11. i like
    pink
    play basketball and throwball
    watch tennis and football
    don’t exactly like or hate cooking
    definitely am not the embroidery type or the stay at home type
    am a medical student
    like shopping
    for the record the remote has always been in my hand!
    love new cars esp 4 wheel drives
    the theme parks ( not one sit at the side when everyone is enjoying)
    love kids
    love reading, writing stuff.
    and i don’t think there is a particular stereotype in this day. what you like you do, i don’t give a damn about what society thinks,,, just what my friends and close family think
    nice blog will be following!

    • Alujna your kind of people create confusions! You need to either stop liking pink or give up the remote and basketball ;)
      It would be great if you pick the tag :) …but do remember the curse of blue pants :mrgreen:

  12. Pingback: Tweets that mention My Sins Against Gender Stereotypes. « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker -- Topsy.com

  13. Aye Aye Captain! This sure is a fun Tag! Will do for sure! :-) I’m a sinner too!

    Me – Lol yes! you even blog about your sins TBG :) And don’t forget to tag 12 others, or else you lose all control over The Remote!! :mrgreen:

  14. IHM I am glad you stopped at the above names. I really have to look hard for people to take up this tag. Hmm… As for the manly or girly things I like, I will reveal all in my post! ;)

    Me – May I guess? You think!! And you are rational? You like to drive and you love your dog? :shock:

  15. Umm I am the buddy type, not the girlie type. So this is my sort of tag, doing it asap

    Me –
    Ritu, you mean you can bear to wear hues of blues :shock:
    Some weekends you buy no new shoes? :oops:
    You can survive on just two bags :mrgreen:
    And you love creatures with a tail that wags :)

    • I liked that rhyme.. haa haa :D :D
      You can remain without shopping for months… unless one fine day I find myself having absolutely nothing to wear, I run out and grab some clothes, shoes and bags and rest for the rest of the months until the above occurs again :D :P

  16. Hahaha..what a coincidence, I have a draft about male and female blogger (kinda introspective though), I guess that’s what I am gonna write today.

    BTW, loved your list. I also don’t like chocolate, and know more about cameras than average Joe around me (guys in my office come to me for advice about their cameras. I am kinda camera nerd..)

  17. Pingback: My sins against gender stereotypes! « Things do not change…until we change!

  18. What a wonderful tag! I’m considering myself tagged too :D

    He he :) Meira now you are responsible for being offered beer whenever you request for chocolate, for the next twelve years – the only way out is keeping your word!!!

  19. Pingback: Gender Stereotypes : IHM’s tag « Weaving a Web

  20. haha.. fun post… and thought provoking at the same time.
    Lol @ ‘the manliest want of them all – The remote!’

    Me – Would you like to pick it Priya? Please do!! It would be fun to learn about blasphemies you have committed :) And remember the curse :mrgreen:

  21. He he very interesting IHM. Y dint u come up with this one when I ws dng the NaBloPoMo ;) Wud hv been awesome fodder for a day ;)

    U dint tag me boohooo :( :(

    Me – Pick the tag Swaram!!! I was petrified of the wrath of the tagged bloggers – they would have been cursed for twelve years all because of me :shock: but now I have an excuse – you asked me to tag you, not my fault :lol: I am dying to know what sins you committed, did you like sports or driving or photography or technology… is that why Vimmuuu broke you camera?

    Please pick the tag, now that you have been officially tagged, you are also at the risk of wearing blue pants for twelve years and being offered beer whenever you yearn for chocolate, if you do not pick this tag asap :mrgreen:

  22. OH !! God !! Thank you for tagging me… This is a tag that I would love to do…am getting ready to do it !!

    WOW, what a different take on the topic, IHM !!! Like it !!! :)

    Loved your “manly” things list !!! :)

    Me – Ha ha glad you liked it – now you better do it asap, you know I don’t have to repeat the threat err risks of being cursed for twelve years without chocolate and pink dresses!! :mrgreen:

  23. I never know what is manly…
    I follow and understand financial matters and like to be in charge of how the money is invested and managed in a household.

    I wear a lot of blue and for years it was my favourite colour.

    I like to be the active partner in a relationship, or during sex.

    I loved dinosaurs as a kid and prehistory in general.

    I will only wear flat, comfortable shoes.

    I have hairy legs.

    I also follow politics.

    I am anti-authoritarian, and don’t worry about not tagging people :)

    • I too have a lot of manly choices…blue, (so the curse is ok with me, coz don’t have 12 more people to tag )am antishopping and love reading…the rest on the blog!
      Loved ur unmanly choices too.

      Me – Sindhu the curse is modified specially for you!! (special discount, only for you) :) Please tag only as many people as you like but please do pick the tag!!

    • @mabdreams – We cannot slot the entire human population into two sets of people, those who wear pink and those who wear blue. Those who wear pink also love high heels and chocolate, those who love blue, also love The Remote and the couch ;)
      But are you really not afraid of that curse?!! Naheeeeeeen :shock: I will have to modify it a little I guess!

  24. Pingback: My Sins against Gender-Stereotypes « UmaS Reflections

  25. I’m confused. I would love to wear blue pants as they are my favourite colour but Ritu tagged me, so I will be the doing the tag as well! Ah well… :D

  26. Loved the tag! But reading books and liking dogs have become more womanly these days! Really…

    Me – Nivedita I feel these things have no real gender, there was a time even music was considered feminine, and guns, horses, violence, hunting were manly :( The entire population being divided into two sets of people would be …inaccurate? :)

  27. Hey! that’s the most interesting post, I have ever come across. Just loved it!!

    Hmm, manly things that I do, yes have a lot of them:-

    first, I love to tell this to colleagues and friends ” I am a man when I am working and driving!!” And they look at me in amusement, as I am very feminine and delicate in looks ( nothing like self admiration!)

    so here goes the list:

    1. love to drive really fast.
    2. don’t like chocolates
    3. never read mill and boons
    4. work like a man, without using my feminity
    5. love all new gadgets phones, ipod, psp etc
    6. always curious to understand technology
    7. hate saas bahu serials, rather watch nat geo and discovery!
    8. can’t stand girly talk, bitching and small talk
    9. pretty rational, clearheaded and have risk taking behaviour!!
    10. haaate gold jewellery.

    yes, but love to watch rom-com movies on HBO, love flowers and surprises, and clothes and shoes and bags and makeup. so u got the reply.

    enjoyed it!

    PS: Now dear tell me how do i send it to my friends, as u said (am new to it)

    • Tanu, you copy this list on your blog and then invite twelve of your blogging friends to make their own lists. That is called ‘tagging’ them. Those who are tagged must invite twelve more friends and so the tag continues :)

  28. he he, brilliant idea of a tag IHM.

    Btw, just to spike you, here’s some fodder for your next post :devil:

    Do you know that of the 400 odd chess grandmasters in the world, only 10 to 12 are women! I know I’ll be crucified after this comment but still… :P I dunno why this is the case coz. Chess is not a game which involves physical strength :P :P

    • So you’re openly agreeing that women are physically stronger than you guys, is it, Rakesh??? Which means you do agree that we can punch you and crush you down on the floor for making that comment…grrrrr :twisted:

    • Rakesh I have to remind you that since you have seen this post now you have to pick the tag. Ofcourse there is no compulsion, just that if you don’t you will receive a gift wrapped pink shirt and a pair of new shoes for your birthday every year starting this one… for next twelve years. :mrgreen:

      • I love pink shirts!

        And btw, with regards to conditioning, this shouldn’t be the case at least in more developed and liberal countries but even they haven’t produced female grand masters.

        @Deeps: Yeah that’s why I made this jurrat of posting this comment online. I wouldn’t say it in a room full of IHM and her blog readers :P

        • Rakesh even in the more developed countries, there is a subtle (often blatant) reservation for men in most fields – politics, businesses, sports, research, space exploration etc are dominated by men. I am generally amazed that women actually manage to make their presence felt anywhere at all. I think it would take some for women to be given equal opportunities.

  29. Oooohhh lovely tag, and quite a filler as well as enjoyable.
    My hubs loves chocolates and icecreams :P
    I thinks it’s all about being metrosexual these days.

    I’m so happy to be commenting here after a loooooooooong time. Missed you :)

    • Lively you were missed too!! :lol:

      And now you too are left with no choice but to either pick the tag or be condemned to a life without chocolate and a life filled with foot ball commentary ringing in your ears for next twelve years! And no pinks too… not even pink high heels and pink hand bags! Choose! :mrgreen:

  30. This is really interesting tag IHM… :) :) But I don’t think I will do this soon…

    Me – Kanagu you don’t want to do it, you don’t do it, but remember I warned you!! You will be gifted chocolates and pink shirts for the next twelve years if you see this tag and refuse to pick it :mrgreen: !!!

  31. Wonderful tag!! :D

    Me – Pick it Shilpa!!!!!! :) Remember the curse! :mrgreen: if you see it, and do not pick it you will be condemned to never wear pink again for next whole week! :shock: And no new high heeled shoes for next two weeks :twisted:

  32. This is such a fun tag, IHM! Can’t wait to do it!

    But chocolates? Most men I know seem to love chocolates :) As for blue, I love blues, not so much pink – daughter kind of makes up for me not liking it :) Will do this tag :)

  33. Pingback: My Sins against Gender-Stereotypes « Any Excuse to Write…

  34. Pingback: My Sins Against Gender Stereotypes « Perceptions

  35. Pingback: Is My Dormant Y leading me Astray :P « Pins N Ashes

  36. Hmmmm…..I guess for me.

    I don’t like “chick lit.”
    I looove video games which are considered “manly.”
    I don’t like romance novels or movies.
    I hate the color pink with a passion.
    I have no desire to have children or get married. It is assumed that it’s something all women should want. :P

    That’s also been an experience with me, the men I know love chocolate. Especially dark chocolate. :D And blue is one of my favorite colors.

  37. Sinners can actually also be winners !!! :) :) :) :) :)

    Now I am sure about one thing in your personal life… your husband must be loving you way tooooooooo much … !!!!!!!!!!!! You just said you dislike jewellery !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :evil: :twisted:

  38. Pingback: Oh no… girly hitchy ! « My attempt to write

  39. I stumbled upon this article

    http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/180064/Parenting-Are-girls-brains-wired-differently-from-boys-

    Me – These kind of things and new research keeps coming up Sunder. I feel when a little boy is brought up to believe he must not even show fear or tears – what else does one expect? The responsibility has to be taken – or else why have children? Can’t have children and then expect the other parent to do all the parenting… that is unfair. What if she also refuses? And do you think all mothers are great moms? They are humans too.

  40. Pingback: I am a Sinful Wo’Man’ | The Song of Life

  41. Pingback: My sins against gender stereotypes « Logical Obscurity

  42. Pingback: My sins against gender stereotyping - Where the mind is without fear…

  43. Pingback: Me a sinner!! | SoftyPink n GloriousRed

  44. Pingback: My Sins Against Gender Stereotypes – tagged by IHM « Just Speaking My Mind

  45. Pingback: Sinfully me | Sands of time..

  46. Pingback: Be a man! | Priceless, Timeless

  47. Pingback: My Sinful Man !!! « UmaS Reflections

  48. Pingback: The “man”ly me… | Catawampus me!!

    • It is not – nothing is manly or womanly – everybody should do what they prefer, not what stereotypes dictate. But women are supposed to shriek and jump at the site of any animals or insects. Men take them for walks, play with them.

  49. I did it!! Starry tagged me. But then, you know it already :D Nice idea for a tag! Loved doing it. And am remembering new things that I could have mentioned even now :P

  50. Pingback: Badges for My Sins Against Gender Stereotypes :) « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  51. Pingback: ‘Y’ me! « Arbitrary Thoughts :)

  52. Pingback: My sins against gender stereotypes « uniquely priya

  53. Pingback: I confess | susurrus of my soul

  54. Pingback: My Sins Against Gender Stereotypes: Ritu’s Tag « Spinning a Yarn Of Life

  55. Pingback: Forgive me Lord, for I knew not I had sinned! « Naradtales

  56. Lovely tag IHM! Commenting here for the first time, really like your blog! Picking up the awesome badge, I’m done doing the tag :D

    Me – Welcome on the blog and thanks for doing the tag :)

  57. Pingback: Paapi « Colors And Lights

  58. Pingback: Sinner Sinner | Writer-z-block

  59. Pingback: My sins against gender stereotypes « Chinkurli

  60. Pingback: Un-stereotypically Yours! « I.M.A.O.

  61. Pingback: How I defied Gender Stereotypes And Got Myself A Nobel Prize For Math « When Vijesh met Abirami

  62. Pingback: Breaking News – Bhartiya Grihanee* Ke Paap Ka Khulasa « Cracked Chronicles

  63. Awesome post
    Awesome notion

    Wonderful work too. Finally caught up w SAGS on FB as well. Am going thru ever so many posts on the same topic. And loving it so much!

    Thanks. My list wl be in soon :D!

  64. Pingback: Invitation to Sinners, to join group on Facebook « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  65. Pingback: for the man in me.. « The Ride I Enjoy ..

  66. Pingback: The ‘feminine’ side? « SNAFU

  67. Pingback: Am I man enough? | My own little world

  68. Pingback: She is the (wo)man! « The Cyber Nag

  69. only u cud come up with a meme like this IHM! :) masood tagged me so now im going to be doing this too!
    u love dogs? i do too! cats?not so much. snakes not AT ALL!!! (eeeew!!!)
    u dont like chocolate? are u SURE?? very sure?
    i used to hate shopping.. but of late, i’ve changed!

  70. Pingback: A virtuous sinner | Shail's Nest

  71. I love babies :-) They’re always so cute! And, I love to receive and give flowers too ;-) :D :-) ?

    I feel uncomfortable when in dark. And, I am a little afraid of insects too :cry: (no no… not those ants and black-ants but of lizards etc).

    I like cooking :D I don’t happen to cook much though. And, I, at times, do wear pink shirts :D

    And just a few weeks back, I applied nail-polish on all my fingers. Black colour :twisted:

    I find this absolutely ‘normal’ :-)

  72. Pingback: Woman enough? « I had plans. Never to grow up. Then life intervened.

  73. Great post! I’m a girl and when I was little I liked to play with tiny race cars and built all sorts of constructions out of lego pieces. Well, to be honest I still enjoy doing that.

  74. Pingback: Sinner and proud to be one! « Imprints on the sands of time

  75. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: Last Warning! « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  76. First comment here (I think). ..in via neoindian.

    I’m not sure many of these things even work.
    “…a cell phone, a dog, a camera or a new laptop…” are manly? huh? I never knew.

    Agree on pilot and nurse but disagree on doctor. The first mental image that comes to mind is a woman not a man. Engineer brings up a male image. Lawyer used to be male before I got married but now is definitely female :-)

    Also I dont think blue is associated with masculinity, at least in the Indian context. There is a stronger connotation of pink with feminine that maps to all brighter colors including blue. Grey, brown and black come across as “male” colors to me. White is neutral.

    I’m a guy and definitely care for ” babies, A peaceful home and a happy family”
    I know many other manly men who care for clothes as well.

    OTOH bags, shoes, creams, perfumes,flowers ARE kind of femme. Some guys are into grooming themselves well but even they dont really talk about creams and stuff – they wont spend more than a couple of minutes talking about or comparing them for eg.

    regards,
    Jai

  77. Pingback: My sins…. « A drop in the ocean

  78. Pingback: A Sinner Confesseth! « Overdrive… :)

  79. Pingback: Femina Dentata « IndieQuill

  80. Nice tag !! Been a dormant reader of many blogs , yours included and this was interesting.
    I felt it would be nice to give my man a chance to list “his sins” too and here I am, on his behalf ;-)

    1. He can “bela”fy and make rotis much better and faster than me.
    2. He is very clean and organized and I would say on par or better than many women I know.
    3. Was the one who bathed and diapered the kid for the first few days.
    4. Is a very involved and caring parent.
    5. Is the one who silently fills the empty provision bottles.
    6. Great shopper who can shop essentials that I forget to mention in the list.

    Just the things that top my head…

    But other than that he is the regular guy who loves the TV more than his wife,
    has a totally volatile memory in important things, dedicated single-tasker ;-)

  81. Pingback: Stereotyped? Who me? « Churningthewordmill

  82. I found this on Indiequill – here, http://indiequill.wordpress.com/2010/07/07/femina-dentata/

    //”I Am Woman” is a song cowritten by Helen Reddy and singer/songwriter/guitarist Ray Burton and performed by Reddy. Released in its most well-known version in 1970, the song became an enduring anthem for the women’s liberation movement.//

    Here are the lyrics,

    (Helen Reddy and Ray Burton)
    I am woman, hear me roar
    In numbers too big to ignore
    And I know too much to go back an’ pretend
    ‘Cause I’ve heard it all before
    And I’ve been down there on the floor
    No one’s ever gonna keep me down again

    Oh yes, I am wise
    But it’s wisdom born of pain
    Yes, I’ve paid the price
    But look how much I gained
    If I have to
    I can do anything
    I am strong (strong)
    I am invincible (invincible)
    I am woman

    You can bend but never break me
    ‘Cause it only serves to make me
    More determined to achieve my final goal
    And I come back even stronger
    Not a novice any longer
    ‘Cause you’ve deepened the conviction in my soul

    Oh, yes, I am wise
    But it’s wisdom born of pain
    Yes, I’ve paid the price
    But look how much I gained
    If I have to
    I can face anything
    I am strong (strong)
    I am invincible (invincible)
    I am woman

    I am woman watch me grow
    See me standing toe to toe
    As I spread my lovin’ arms across the land
    But I’m still an embryo
    With a long, long way to go
    Until I make my brother understand

    Oh, yes, I am wise
    But it’s wisdom born of pain
    Yes, I’ve paid the price
    But look how much I gained
    If I have to
    I can face anything
    I am strong (strong)
    I am invincible (invincible)
    I am woman

    Oh, I am woman
    I am invincible
    I am strong

    I am woman
    I am invincible
    I am strong
    I am woman

  83. I dont screech when I see a cockroach
    I can change a light bulb
    I dont go “Cho chweet” when I see a random blonde baby picture
    I lose money like crazy in the stock market, and keep going back
    I ALWAYS carry a swiss army knife and know how what each blade is for.
    I can walk for miles.

    But, I also like pink though it doesnt suit me,go weak kneed when I see John Abraham shirtless and love personal gossip ( not bollywood).

    Me – Don’t like pink, don’t go cho chweet?!!! :shock: You are a SAGS :) You are invited to join other SAGS on facebook! :)

  84. Pingback: The sinner! « life under the sky

  85. Pingback: Cannot Demand Equality And Insist On A Special Status At The Same Time « I love life… so I explore.

  86. Pingback: My sin against gender stereotypes « My world..

  87. Pingback: My Sins against Gender-Stereotypes « Between me and my little

  88. Pingback: My Sins against Gender Stereotypes- Guest Post I « Of mundane matters

  89. Pingback: Five “Western”, “Liberal” and “Sophisticated” things I do | Expressions - Bhagwad Jal Park

  90. Pingback: My Sins Against the Gender Stereotypes « Such Is Life…

  91. Pingback: Not so wo(man)ly… « Life's Many Whispers

    • Sowmya stereotypes were never valid, because never were all the women fond of cooking and all the men fond of hunting. The tag was about being oneself and not caring about the stereotypes :) So many of us have been doing it and our grand parents too broke some steotypes in those rigid times :) My great grand mom was known for being ‘different’ – she did not fast for her husbands’ long life, she was most interested in finances although she was also a great cook and a not at all an indulgence, spoiling grand mom to my dad :)

  92. Pingback: I continue to sin… : Naari – The Woman

  93. Pingback: Yes I did that! | Scribbling Away…..

  94. So this is the source of the tag! It resulted in a great deal of soul-searching in my grey cells and I have decided that anything I do is what an ideal Indian woman must do! And since I already have sole possession of the remote, the couch, my two laptops (and another one that may come soon) and every other gadget at home, I am not scared of the consequences of not tagging twelve other people. Thanks for starting an interesting blog-wide discussion.

  95. Pingback: There’s a place in ‘Stereotype-hell’ reserved for me. « The Objective Onlooker

  96. Pingback: Girls have all the fun!! | Buzzzstop

  97. Pingback: Gender stereotypes – where do I stand?! ;) « That little something called 'life'

  98. Pingback: She is the (wo)man! | Cyber Nag

  99. Pingback: Of ‘boring’ women and our interests | Women's Web: Online Community For Indian Women

  100. Pingback: But when a woman sees a hot man, nothing happens in her brain? | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

  101. Pingback: Gender stereotypes (where do I stand?) | Finding meaning...

  102. Pingback: Hasee toh Phasee : When a Bollywood hero is an Emotional Dhakkan. | The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

